We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande Old Dame”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Checking into the Balmoral is stepping back into time with all the modern amenities one could wish for. An original railroad hotel, it's location on top of the train station is ideal for rail passengers. The staff starting with the doormen were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Our corner room was spacious with a lovely quirkiness in angles and windows only found in a 100plus year old structure. Do go for a room rate that includes breakfast...it is well worth it. The concierge staff was extremely helpful especially when it came to tracking down my husband's lost wallet! We will happily return to this beautiful hotel due to its staff and lovely amenities and ideal location in historic Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,069 - 2,075 of 3,917 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our Afternoon Tea in the Palm Court. Great atmosphere, beautiful background music and a delicious afternoon tea. Thanks to Francesca for looking after us so well. The "torrone" was divine!
Looking forward to the next time!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Scotlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we saw this hotel we could'nt believe it it stands in a majestic position overlooking the wonderful city, when we arrived it was dark and the hotel was lit up it looked magnificent, as we entered the hotel we were greeted by the staff so friendly and helpful, our bags were taken to our room while we checked in. We were then shown around making us aware of all facilities available, we then were taken to our room light airy and spacious, everything was available safe tv fridge ect and if anything was required it was brought immediately you can have tea and coffee facilities in your room no charge also a complimentary daily news paper. The restaurant was clean and fresh the food was of the highest standard. But best of all was the staff they were so helpful and friendly the concierge went beyond their remit helping us with everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a fantastic stay in the wonderful city of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We stayed in 422 recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ok the room was a bit small but the brief overnight stay here was excellent. The basic room is old school, with a top quality bathroom on suite. Great bed, super linen, good TV. Staff are friendly and attentive. I ate dinner in the restaurant on the last visit and it was excellent, as was breakfast this time. Black pudding was superb, sausages and bacon good etc.. Centrally located hotel which oozes heritage and benefits from a recent renovation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great location,absolute luxury,harp playing in the background! Four courses covering a mouthwatering variety of flavours and culinary delights.the staff were superb especially Ricardo,we were pampered to the extreme and nothing was overlooked in their quest to provide customer satisfaction.would highly recommend........roger.r,Norfolk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a great stay at the Balmoral. You can't beat the location. It's so close to walk to everything. The concierge group is EXCELLENT and helped us with finding a lost baggage to dining suggestions. They were always willing to help and greeted us by name. We had the Balmoral Suite which was huge and VERY nice. But the kids had roll away beds which were put in the dining room- a little weird... I think they should change that room into another bedroom and remove the table. Because we were on the corner of the hotel, it was pretty noisy and I could hear the street noise (police cars, drunk people). All in all, I liked the hotel. But it was the most expensive hotel stay I have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boymomdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was treated to afternoon tea with friends. The tea itself was delicious and plentiful in lovely surroundings and entertained by an accomplished harpist. Our waiter Ricardo made the afternoon extra special with his helpful, attentive, courteous and professional manner. He made us all feel very special. Thank you for a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank janros2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £179 - £677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing