We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courteous, friendly, totally professional service”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Courteous, friendly, totally professional service”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We were made welcome from the moment the door was opened for us! Sandy was exceptional on reception and the bar staff were knowledgeable and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel but the Tea room and the restaurants looked good. Our room was great, clean and they came to refresh the water bottles, turn the quilt down, tidy up which was a pleasant surprise. The spa was fabulous, pool was superb; they provide teas, coffees, water plus news papers, magazines which adds to the lovely experience you get on your visit there.
Another excellent point to the hotel is it's location, right by the train station, the Airlink bus stop, the shops and the Old Town; near to the Castle and art gallery; great restaurants and bars; the theatre (we went to see West Side Story which was amazing), cinemas etc.
The Balmoral is a superb hotel and even though they had a beautiful wedding going on, they still gave their time & the best customer service to us! Brilliant hotel that I would recommend for any couple wanting a thoroughly enjoyable break as that's what we had!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hyacinth03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,659
    702
    195
    79
    39
See reviews for
730
1,745
166
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Balmoral for a weekend that was part work, part pleasure and it didn't disappoint! From the moment we arrived the service was outstanding with all staff friendly and courteous at all times. The Concierge service was outstanding with the team on hand to answer any question or make arrangements for dinner or taxis 24 hours a day.
The facilities are outstanding with comfortable well designed rooms, boasting every amenity you could wish for, (except an Iron and ironing board, but this is probably because the typical customer would use their paid laundry service!). The mix of contempory design and original features strikes a perfect balance with old world charm and service belnded with modern facilities. The only slight downside to our room on the 1st floor was the noise from revellers on the street below, however as we would normally be out with the crowds making noise, I can't complain too much!
My wife visited the spa for a massage and found the experience relaxing and enjoyable.
The food was good although we only ate breakfast at the hotel; colleagues who used the restaurant said it was excellent.
Overall the Balmoral is exactly what you would expect from a 5* hotel in a modern European capital city - Excellent!

Room Tip: The higher floors would prove quieter on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwrb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
386 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was there on few occasins and I always received the best service from Andy, David or Kevin. Always the best recommendations for restaurants and shows. i have had the chance to stay in the J.K. Rowling suite. the layout of the suite is just amazing, the view could be better but it is a city center hotel.
the Palm Court is THE place for an afternoon tea, nothing else to say: Everything you are looking for a proper Scottish afternoon tea is there, including the pianist. Enjoyable amd memorable experience

Room Tip: The rooms on the high floor with a Castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Checking into the Balmoral is stepping back into time with all the modern amenities one could wish for. An original railroad hotel, it's location on top of the train station is ideal for rail passengers. The staff starting with the doormen were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Our corner room was spacious with a lovely quirkiness in angles and windows only found in a 100plus year old structure. Do go for a room rate that includes breakfast...it is well worth it. The concierge staff was extremely helpful especially when it came to tracking down my husband's lost wallet! We will happily return to this beautiful hotel due to its staff and lovely amenities and ideal location in historic Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merano, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our Afternoon Tea in the Palm Court. Great atmosphere, beautiful background music and a delicious afternoon tea. Thanks to Francesca for looking after us so well. The "torrone" was divine!
Looking forward to the next time!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scotlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we saw this hotel we could'nt believe it it stands in a majestic position overlooking the wonderful city, when we arrived it was dark and the hotel was lit up it looked magnificent, as we entered the hotel we were greeted by the staff so friendly and helpful, our bags were taken to our room while we checked in. We were then shown around making us aware of all facilities available, we then were taken to our room light airy and spacious, everything was available safe tv fridge ect and if anything was required it was brought immediately you can have tea and coffee facilities in your room no charge also a complimentary daily news paper. The restaurant was clean and fresh the food was of the highest standard. But best of all was the staff they were so helpful and friendly the concierge went beyond their remit helping us with everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a fantastic stay in the wonderful city of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We stayed in 422 recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ok the room was a bit small but the brief overnight stay here was excellent. The basic room is old school, with a top quality bathroom on suite. Great bed, super linen, good TV. Staff are friendly and attentive. I ate dinner in the restaurant on the last visit and it was excellent, as was breakfast this time. Black pudding was superb, sausages and bacon good etc.. Centrally located hotel which oozes heritage and benefits from a recent renovation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#92 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing