We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmospheric hotel”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent atmospheric hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Excellent hotel. Impeccable service, including when dealing with less than typical requests. Nothing was impossible: neither asking for a specific item on the meniu outside service hours nor getting a good internet connection. The concierge staff especially was a wealth of information combined with personalised service: they understood the kind of clients and thus made appropriate recommendations. Had one of the best seafood dinners in one of the restaurants they recommended: Fishers in Leith. The doormen in kilts helped us decide the Scots are really nice guys! Great breakfast – everything top quality and wonderfully fresh. The only fault I could find with this hotel was the size of the double bed – a bit on the small side. We’ll definitely return as we felt it an intrinsic part of the very nice Edinburgh experience we had.

  • Liked — the building itself and the quality of service
  • Disliked — the size of the bed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KeenGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,729
    718
    200
    81
    41
See reviews for
759
1,790
169
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Very central, old but with confort. but try to get a room with a view.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I stayed one night at The Balmoral, as soon as I arrived, I knew it was going to be outstanding. I was met at the door, my car was whisked away to the parking garage and I was directed to reception where a very pleasant agent dealt with my registration and then personally took escorted my partner and I to our room. Fantastic service. All the "right" questions, to find out what we needed as a guest of the Balmoral.

The room was delightful, elegantly decorated with a huge bathroom, lovely freebies, some fresh fruit and a hand written welcome letter.

The public areas are spotless and very well maintained. For an old building, you can simply tell each and every member of staff cares about it and their guests.

We used the gym and pool in the morning, all very good, again the young guy on reception looked after us very well.

The hotel is very well located and yes, it is expensive but it is tremendous value.

If you are visiting Edinburgh, you should seriously consider The Balmoral. From the top down, this hotel is superbly run.

  • Liked — The Staff, Superb service - Stunning Room
  • Disliked — My stay was only one night, I wanted to move in!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsItalianGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed there with our little one (8 months) for a long w-e. Everything was done to make us feel as confortable as possible, including the baby, and even without asking anything. High pro-activity. We really felt welcome.
The architecture is impressive and the service is even better. The room was perfect: good space, nice view, adapted equipment. We loved also the breakfast. Can help you through the day ! Even as spoiled Belgians in terms of food, we say: delicious.
We will go back.

  • Liked — Service and food
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Excellent location, excellent hotel. We stayed in the Balmoral for 3 nts, 3 children and 3 adults. While researching on tripadvisor we were debating staying here or at the Scotsman but the balmoral seemed to be more child friendly from the reviews and we were delighted with our choice. The Scotsman is just next door but the Balmoral stands out by far. The staff were the friendliest we have ever come across. We asked for interconnectiong rooms and got a great deal on the family affair rate which offered 1 room free for kids. We checked all the websites for deals and got the best rate by phoning directly. The weather wasn't the best but the location ment we could come and go as often as we liked and unload our shopping! We ate in Hadrians the first night as it was handy for the kids and we didn't have to leave the hotel, the food was excellent for young and old. The swimming pool was a real treat heading down in our dressing gowns (kids gowns too) every morning to the self service Juice bar. The changing rooms even had hair straightners, a great idea. We are already saving up and planning our next trip to the Balmoral.

  • Liked — Location, interconnecting rooms, very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Paying for the internet, parking $25 a day
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thaisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2008

While this hotel is very good it does not prove good value for money and we felt a little ripped off.

The location is perfect situated on Princes street and inbetween the Old and new Town.

We had asked for quiet rooms and were very pleased with our top floor classic doubles as they were well above street noise level. However for the cost (approx £300 a night) they were rather small, but cosy and the bathrooms were huge with baths.

However, a friend of ours also staying at the hotel had an executive double (over £60 more a night) and we were shocked by the comparison. The room was draughty with a very dreary green design theme. The bathroom was much smaller as was the bath. The lack of really good light (which made the smaller rooms look cosy) made this room look dark and dingey.

On top of the expensive room costs, breakfast (a buffet) cost a minimum of £16 - a slight problem if you just wanted a bowl of porridge or cereal.

The internet cost £3 for 15 mins. There is a nearby easyeverything cafe where you get 2 hours for the same amount.

We just felt the hotel was trying to squeeze as much money out of you as possible without offering the absolute top service one would expect with such a price - some of the floor tiles in the bathroom were wobbly, the ceiling of the bathroom in the executive double was made out of hardboard and looked ill-fitting, some of the bedrooms needed re-decorating (the executive double in particular) and the lift system was rather inefficient as the two lifts ran on independent systems. The doormen were very dour and unfriendly (but the front desk were very helpful and polite).

None of these problems are enough to seriously criticise the hotel but when combined with the price it leads to a disappointing stay.

We don't mind spending a lot of money on a good hotel, but the price of this place was just too much for what you get. We would stay here again if there was some deal on. Friends of our stayed here in February for £120 a night and I would recommend anyone to snap at that chance. Don't go here paying the full whack.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Guestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2008
Dear Guest

I was sorry to read of your disappointment with some of the aspects of your accommodation.
We have an ongoing refurbishment programme and this autumn will be commencing a bathroom refurbishment of our guest rooms.
I am sorry not to have had the opportunity to have met with you during your stay to discuss your concerns further. I do hope that you may allow us the opportunity to welcome you back the Balmoral in the future.

Kind regards
Ivan Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We stayed in Balmoral Hotel for a long week-end.
The architechure and the interior design of the hotel is absolutely stunning.
The rooms are very comfortable and provide all the necessities.
The cuisine was at highest standard. All the staff of the hotel are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh.
We would definately reccomend it to everyone and we'll definately visit this hotel again.
Iva & Karen

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
932 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing