We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, old style, charming service”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Small rooms, old style, charming service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is a glorious old building which has been renovated with great sympathy to its origins. The rooms are small with tall ceilings and expensive, even by UK standards.

The hallways and rooms were reasonably clean, although lots of scuff marks in the paint and worn carpet in the walkways would suggest the hotel is in need of further updating.

Staff were helpful and enthusiastic - very knowledgeable about the city and how to get around.

We stayed in a king room facing the Castle. The unusual sunshine streamed through the narrow windows and we did not notice the noise of the roads or railway station outside, despite the low rise nature of the hotel.

The bed was hard and the pillows incredibly soft - an unfortunately common combination.

So don't expect luxury - the hotel is too old for that - this is a great place to stay if you like history.

The whisky bar on the ground floor is a must-visit. The central location of the Balmoral make it an excellent choice for tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Castle, as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    713
    197
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,769
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had booked a Superior room and to my surprise was upgraded to a Suite which was bright and gave us a gorgeous view of the Castle and the Hill! The staff was extremely cheerful, nice and helpful. Concierge couldn't have been more helpful with dinner reservations and directions. One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in around the world.

Room Tip: Be sure to book the hotel's Number One restaurant well in advance as it is extremely popular. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The character of Edinburgh and its history shines through at this wonderful hotel! So comfortable and so convenient for touring..
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and heartily recommend the hotel both for its service and its facilities. A gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the moment the Doorman took our bags from the boot of the car, to him putting them back in two days later, we were treated to the kind of service that you only wish other hotels could emulate but miss by a wide mile. The whole team were fantastic, friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble, but better than that, they seemed genuinly pleased to help and take a moment to chat. On booking, I requested a castle view and this was duly provided, what better way to start the day than looking towards the castle and along Princes Street with sky that was an amazing blue, just far enough away from the pipers at Princes Street gardens and high enough above the traffic to be not bothered. I contacted the spa asking for a treatment for my wife and I, but wanted us both to receive it at the same time, turned out to be no problem, they juggled some timings and posted a note through the door to confirm the arrangements, excellent service and thank you to the spa staff. So thats it pretty much..... a really nice experience all round!

Room Tip: We had room 608 for an excellent view of the castle and Princes street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plancky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Staying here for two nights with friends and loving every minute. Had a great breakfast this morning in Hadrian's, which is part of the hotel. The common parts are lovely and the Palm Court in particular is a spectacular room. The bedrooms on the sixth floor have a bit of a feeling of being in the loft, but are very comfortable and of reasonable size. Some have enormous beds and all have very good and practical bathrooms. Views from this top floor are the best. But what really makes this place is the staff. Without exception they are friendly and really helpful - a truly delightful crowd.

Room Tip: Don't ever dream of paying the published rate. If you did you'd go somewhere else and you re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrookieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
186 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my daugters 20th birthday, at first we had a problem with the room, it was not what we expected for the price, but as soon as I spoke to the assistant manger it was sorted with ease. They were very helpful and moved us to a much nicer room. The breakfast was fab, everything you expect from a five star hotel and more the dining room staff were really good. We also dined there which again was brilliant. The only problem was the door man on the bar enterance, he was very rude and would not let us in from the outside he said we had to go through the hotel which was not on at all. The main door man was lovely, very helpful as was all the staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view not internal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECMATTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I spent a couple of nights over Easter. From check in to check out everything worked out perfect. Staff coudn't be any more friendly. I went for a Superior Deluxe Room (512) which was very big and offered nice castle views. Housekeeping, turn down service etc. work faultless.
I received a huuuge basket of fruit and a nice card from the GM upon arrival.
The location of the hotel is best in town (only real competitor locationwise is the brand new 3* "Motel One Princes" ;-) that is just across the street, otherwise noone beats the Balmoral's location).
Front desk, doorman etc. are extremely fast, helpful and attentive.
Also, the staff at the Whisky bar were extremely nice and they seemed to have fun explaining the different Whiskys and how you should drink them etc.
What I didn't like was Hadrian's Brasserie. When you travel a lot, you know that Rocco Forte is not really known for the widest variety of breakfast choices in the hotel industry. But if this comes in combination with a jam packed, loud and hectic brasserie than rather chose the rate that does not include breakfast and go somewhere else to start the day. In my opinion they should not except external guests for breakfast. That would already help a lot and make residents feel better. Paying 338 EUR/night and serving Tea from cheapy tea bags is simply not acceptable.
Spa, pool etc. are nice but in the basement. This part of the hotel could really need some investment and updating. They put in some chairs that you can only reach from the water because it's so narrow around the pool and you would either have to jump over other guests chairs or swim to your seat. Gym okay but not more, locked away in a room that was there.
Otherwise a very fine hotel and my first choice, when I will return to beautiful, beautiful Edinburg!

Room Tip: 512 if you go for Superior Deluxe. Very good views and a lot of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ICSAESJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing