We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a great place to stay”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still a great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have stayed here a number of times before and it is still a great hotel. Our room appeared to have been recently re-furbished and was really nice. No coffee or tea facilities in the room but the coffee from room service was excellent.

Our only gripe was the time to taken to check in. Despite the fact that the hotel already had our details and there was no-one else checking in at the same time, the whole process seemed extremely slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,659
    702
    195
    79
    39
See reviews for
730
1,745
166
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We recently had a wonderful two-day stay at the Balmoral Hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of downtown Edinburgh, central to all the major attractions. The Balmoral has managed to maintain its historical authenticity, while providing guests with all the modern amenities. Our room was spacious and well-appointed, with an elegant, but still very functional all-marble bathroom.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Each staff member, from the concierge, to the doorman, to the crew at the front desk, always took the time at each interaction to ask whether we were enjoying our stay, and if there was anything they could do to improve our experience. One member of the front desk staff, Sandy, even took the time to research and send us the genealogy of our surname in one particular area of Scotland, which we greatly appreciated.

All in all a terrific stay! I would definitely recommend the Balmoral to any friends or family traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have traveled quite a bit around the world and stayed at five star hotels. nothing compares to the service at the Balmoral. First of all, you are greated by your name. i have stayed at the hotel three times. They remember what i like for breakfast, when my son had a massage they remembered that he is allergic to nuts. Andy and Dave of concierge services remembers where you ate last time you stayed and never recommends a restaurant just because it is touristy and he has a connection there. if you want great food, he finds you the right place in your price range. The pool is wonderful, the gym is large. there are even trainers there for your disposal. The entire staff is extremelyl gracious. They obviously have been extremely well trained. I just stayed at the El Palace in Barcelona and had the opposite experience. no comforters or blankets in the room. The bathroom floor is ordinary and cold. the showers impossible to figure out. I cant recommend the Balmoral Hotel enough. Philippe the manager is really smart and interesting. And moreover the beds at the Balmoral are really really comfortable. The comforters are plush, the rooms large, the bathrooms decked in marble.

Room Tip: I like rooms with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarengT8807SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Family had booked an executive room for my birthday. It was worse than a classic room which was cheaper. Took 2 hours and a lot of hassle to change. My 14 year old daughter was allowed in the bar on the 1st night but the 2nd night the bouncers claimed only 18's only, he was very rude.
Lots of little things were wrong such as no milk in the rooms, empty bottle ps in the mini bar, not what you expect from a five star hotel.Spa was excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is a glorious old building which has been renovated with great sympathy to its origins. The rooms are small with tall ceilings and expensive, even by UK standards.

The hallways and rooms were reasonably clean, although lots of scuff marks in the paint and worn carpet in the walkways would suggest the hotel is in need of further updating.

Staff were helpful and enthusiastic - very knowledgeable about the city and how to get around.

We stayed in a king room facing the Castle. The unusual sunshine streamed through the narrow windows and we did not notice the noise of the roads or railway station outside, despite the low rise nature of the hotel.

The bed was hard and the pillows incredibly soft - an unfortunately common combination.

So don't expect luxury - the hotel is too old for that - this is a great place to stay if you like history.

The whisky bar on the ground floor is a must-visit. The central location of the Balmoral make it an excellent choice for tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Castle, as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had booked a Superior room and to my surprise was upgraded to a Suite which was bright and gave us a gorgeous view of the Castle and the Hill! The staff was extremely cheerful, nice and helpful. Concierge couldn't have been more helpful with dinner reservations and directions. One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in around the world.

Room Tip: Be sure to book the hotel's Number One restaurant well in advance as it is extremely popular. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The character of Edinburgh and its history shines through at this wonderful hotel! So comfortable and so convenient for touring..
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and heartily recommend the hotel both for its service and its facilities. A gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#92 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing