We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old dame indeed!”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I loved it. I've wanted to stay over at the balmoral for some time now and it didn't disappoint. We treated my mum on her 60th birthday. The staff are brilliant, they were so attentive and lovely. Our room was on the third floor it was large and modern. The bathroom and bedroom was lush. Mum was in a suite much larger than our room with a living area fabulous. We ate lunch and afternoon tea in the bar area which was excellent if you have a bit do a sweet tooth it's divine. We wanted to eat in the bar as it's busy and buzzy atmosphere is more to our liking but for more formal vibes palm court is beautiful. I just wish we'd stayed more than one night but I will be back ;))

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel have views of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmii0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,036 - 2,042 of 3,918 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend booked a room at The Balmoral for me as a birthday treat. I was not disappointed.

The location is great. We arrived by train and the hotel is right next to Waverley station. But there was absolutely no noise so don't let that put you off.

The staff were very welcoming when we arrived.

We enjoyed a drink in the Balmoral bar (the cocktails are fab!) before we went out for dinner and the service was excellent - friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

And the room was great. Well decorated. Spacious. Lovely bathroom. A massive and extremely comfortable bed. And, as you might expect, everything was spotless.

I have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent celebratory stay at The Balmoral. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am glad that from the location and accommodation to the service and cocktails, you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
Thank you also for your recommendation and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Every staff member contributed to a great stay. We are experienced travellers, and this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in.The restaurants were superb, and the food choices astounding. And don't miss the tea.

Room Tip: Ask for castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwallacesullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Wonderful location,central to everything we wanted to see in Edinburgh. When we arrived by train from London we exited the train station and were happy to find the hotel right next door! Very easy,especially when toting luggage. It's a large and grand old hotel but with all the modern amenities. Our bedroom was large and the bathroom was huge. Linens were nice,especially the large,thick bath towels. The only negative I can think of is the lack of coffee/tea in the rooms. Other than that,it was a great experience. Service was good,staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sappel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed there 2 nights and we enjoyed our stay. We had big suite and our son had a lot territory to play. Our windows were to the Princes street and it was noisly sometime. But positive moment is very convinient place where The Balmoral was built. Most interesting historical sights you can reach just walk. Also the railway station is next after The Balmoral, we just went out, turned to the left and we got a station. You can get all interesting things just near the hotel: restaurants, bars, shopping mall, shops etc. Also The Balmoral has their own Michelin-stared restaurant The number one.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with windows not on to the Princes street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The balmoral met all our expectations. The staff were excellent, location is spot on, and the whole ambience of the establishment is truly first class..stop reading reviews and book a room, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhs2mpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Was taken here for my birthday again this year. Requested a high floor room with a view and they didn't disappoint. We had four windows each with a unique view. The staff were excellent and exceptionally discrete and nothing was too much bother. The concierge made a couple of suggestions for dinner and organised everything round that. Instantly feel relaxed whenever I walk through the door into the reception and despite being a busy, iconic, city centre hotel the feeling of tranquility is maintained throughout, even down to the spa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,032 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £179 - £675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing