We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to disappoint”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is an absolutely lovely hotel. Beautiful to stay in, immensely helpful staff (best concierge service I have ever encountered), delicious meals in the restaurants, very nice location on the edge of Old Town and "new" town. My only very slight unpleasant surprise was the room faced Princes Street and on the third floor with windows closed, we were able to hear (enough to keep us awake albeit jet lagged) at 3:30 am "street rowdiness." I suspect the bars must have closed at 3:00. If I stayed here again, I would ask for a room away from Princes St., especially if it included a Saturday night. Noise was not a problem Friday night, for us.

I am completely sold on the values offered by American Express platinum card. We were upgraded to a spacious room with lovely views, a bathroom that had space, great water pressure, tub and shower, make up area, heated towels. There was a large walk-in closet and a comfortable sitting area. The TV worked and the changer easy enough to figure out. The £85 Food and Beverage credit is easy to use - we had amazing high tea, two delicious breakfasts (included with room), and a spectacular dinner in Number One restaurant (separate review coming).

Finally however, the staff was friendly, helpful, humorous, kind. We had help from the concierge on shopping, dining, directions, ordering a car for us (after a last minute call before we departed the US) on how to get 4 passengers with luggage including golf clubs, considering our ease and expense to us. Kevin was invaluable in this. But frankly, all of the concierge staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: Try the high tea, be sure to have a scone! Breakfast has lots of choice, all delicious. Maybe avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,007 - 2,013 of 3,890 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in December 2013 for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were warmly welcomed by the Doormen each time we arrived at the hotel during our stay and they could not have been more helpful here or at the Concierge desk in helping us whenever we wanted to go anywhere. Reception was really efficient and again, we were warmly welcomed and taken care of with each request throughout our stay.

On the first day, we opted to have afternoon tea and I've got to say it was one of the nicest afternoon teas I've had (and there have been many). A lovely selection of teas and coffees along with a large selection on the food menu meant that there were many delectable delights which we tried (and okay I'll admit it, some we would have squeezed in if it would not be viewed as sheer gluttony). After we relaxed here for a couple of hours, we departed with a little gift of a mini-tin each of Balmoral-blend loose leaf tea which we thought was a lovely touch.

That evening, still full from the delights of afternoon tea, we opted for a light meal in the hotel restaurant and the fish mains we both had were really lovely and flavoursome.

There are two bars in this hotel and on this first night we opted for the whisky bar where we chilled out in the quiet and old-world atmosphere of this lovely, small bar after our meal.

On the following night, we ate out with friends and later returned to the hotel for drinks in the other, larger bar. Our experience of both was that the staff we met could not have been more knowledgeable or helpful and we enjoyed both of the bars and the fact that having both offered some diversity.

The room was small (but this is to be expected in a city centre hotel) but very comfortable and well-appointed and we also enjoyed the leisure and spa area of the hotel where we spent a couple of hours having a swim and some treatments.

The only blip in our entire stay came with breakfast. We had room service breakfast on one morning and were missing some items. I thought the person who dealt with this was quite rude in their response which was unfortunate and obviously a one-off as we didn't experience it anywhere else in the hotel. Restaurant breakfast offers a lovely selection and again you get the positive interaction of more lovely people who are happy to chat to you while they work.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's really accessible in terms of transport as well as being conveniently located for all local amenities in the city of Edinburgh. We felt lucky to visit at Christmas time as this was enhanced by the lovely Christmas markets which really added to the festive atmosphere.

I can't wait to return to this hotel and I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthSideSpinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As a frequent traveler who loves luxury when and if I can, this hotel certainly has it all. Sure, there are numerous lavish trendy luxury hotels these days but often they feel like 'formulas'. This is authentic hotel and hospitality DNA, you can feel that staff have been trained here for decades. From booking to welcome to reception to stay and departure, simply superb. And independent of the level of restaurant you choose, the staff are all 5 star. The Number One restaurant is an excellent experiece for foodies - calm, stylish, nothing is rushed, but on time. Superb food and wine list, friendly non intrusive staff. I will be back again!

Room Tip: A room with a view - gets you a room looking on to the castle, slightly more expensive, but worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syrah63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review following your recent stay. I am delighted to learn that your experience with us compared so favourably and your comments regarding the quality of service received from my colleagues are especially pleasing.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I loved it. I've wanted to stay over at the balmoral for some time now and it didn't disappoint. We treated my mum on her 60th birthday. The staff are brilliant, they were so attentive and lovely. Our room was on the third floor it was large and modern. The bathroom and bedroom was lush. Mum was in a suite much larger than our room with a living area fabulous. We ate lunch and afternoon tea in the bar area which was excellent if you have a bit do a sweet tooth it's divine. We wanted to eat in the bar as it's busy and buzzy atmosphere is more to our liking but for more formal vibes palm court is beautiful. I just wish we'd stayed more than one night but I will be back ;))

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel have views of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmii0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend booked a room at The Balmoral for me as a birthday treat. I was not disappointed.

The location is great. We arrived by train and the hotel is right next to Waverley station. But there was absolutely no noise so don't let that put you off.

The staff were very welcoming when we arrived.

We enjoyed a drink in the Balmoral bar (the cocktails are fab!) before we went out for dinner and the service was excellent - friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

And the room was great. Well decorated. Spacious. Lovely bathroom. A massive and extremely comfortable bed. And, as you might expect, everything was spotless.

I have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent celebratory stay at The Balmoral. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am glad that from the location and accommodation to the service and cocktails, you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
Thank you also for your recommendation and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Every staff member contributed to a great stay. We are experienced travellers, and this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in.The restaurants were superb, and the food choices astounding. And don't miss the tea.

Room Tip: Ask for castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwallacesullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Wonderful location,central to everything we wanted to see in Edinburgh. When we arrived by train from London we exited the train station and were happy to find the hotel right next door! Very easy,especially when toting luggage. It's a large and grand old hotel but with all the modern amenities. Our bedroom was large and the bathroom was huge. Linens were nice,especially the large,thick bath towels. The only negative I can think of is the lack of coffee/tea in the rooms. Other than that,it was a great experience. Service was good,staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sappel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £180 - £650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing