We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, refined and elegant - can't beat the location either!”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Florida Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful, refined and elegant - can't beat the location either!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Balmoral Hotel sits on the corner of a busy intersection and perhaps you would pass by it if you did not know it was there. It is quietly elegant. The Scotsman in his kilt sweeps you in through the revolving door into the peaceful lobby, and the hustle and bustle is left behind - perfect after a long overnight flight. The lobby is not massive, but refined and tasteful as are the rooms. Our room was not small, even though we had the standard room. The bathrooms are gorgeous - but warning that the spacious tub is very high off the floor (yet you will want to use it after a long day of sightseeing)! If you do want a view - you will need to upgrade. We faced the interior atrium below and the other interior rooms - I will just say we kept the blinds partly drawn. Housekeeping was exceptional (the turndown service was actually a treat with the slippers placed just so!) Room service was quick and attentive. I only wish there might have been a coffee maker in the room - but that is what room service was for - We were spoiled for sure! Recommend this historic hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: upgrade for a view ... otherwise standard room face the interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camer-always-aready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,701
    714
    197
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,775
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My hisband booked The Balmoral for two nights for our first wedding anniversary. I could not have asked for anything better. From the celebratory strawberries on arrival, to the rose petal turn down and the presentation of a homemade anniversary cake, the staff went out of their way to look after us at every step.

Our room had a stunning view and the bed was so comfortable that we actually slept until 11am one morning which surprised us both! The included breakfast was faultless as were our spa treatments. I had the ESPA intense back treatment with hot stones and I was so relaxed afterwards it felt like I had spent a week away from the toils of daily life. My husband was actually snoring in the relaxation room after his deep tissue massage.

We visited the Balmoral Bar for a post dinner cocktail and it was exquisite as always. We also tried the new whisky bar and the barmen were both pleasant and knowledgeable with a engaging personalities.

Everyone should visit here at least once. We are already planning the next trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxmiandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for once again sharing your impressions following your most recent stay at The Balmoral. I am delighted that we were able to live up to your expectations, creating a memorable experience for your celebratory stay that left you feeling refreshed and pampered.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After being greeted by Peter in his kilt we knew we were in for a treat! Hotel staff are wonderfully attentive without being pushy. The pool and spa area was fabulous. Swam every morning before breakfast. Rooms were spacious with large bathrooms. Beyond being a great hotel, the next important feature was its location! Right next to the train station and the beginning of the Hop on and Hop off bus that will take a tourist everywhere. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Very quiet hotel which was surprising given it is in the middle of town. Our room was towards the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my Wife last weekend as was impressed with all aspects of our stay. We received a warm welcome upon arrival and felt welcomed during the whole of the weekend. Staff were friendly informative and very friendly. Our bedroom was spacious with a very comfortable bed and large en suite. The hotel spa facilities were clean and not over crowded. All areas of the hotel were clean and the decor very fresh. The breakfast was very good and lots to choose from. We would recommend this hotel to couples and also our friends. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davyreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The best way to describe the Balmoral is that you will not have to sacrifice good location for good quality - here you simply get both.

LOCATION:

I was impressed with the Balmoral from the moment we arrived. After stepping off the train, we were thrilled to find the hotel is located directly beside the train station (no hauling heavy luggage bags through downtown). The hotel is just a 3-minute walk to a local mall. More importantly, it is a 5-minute walk to the Royal Mile where you will likely do the majority of your dining, drinking, and tourist sightseeing.

ROOMS:

The hotel upgraded us to a beautiful corner suite (room 620, I think) with a famous view of Edinburgh Castle from one window and the Royal Mile from another. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet (even on the night of the World Cup semi-finals we heard no noise from the celebrating football fans on the street below). The room was very spacious with a modern and clean bathroom. They had an absolutely fabulous James Bond behind-the-scenes photo of Sean Connery on the wall - fitting, I later found out, because Mr. Connery officially reopened the hotel.

DINING & FACILITIES:

While at the hotel, we visited the Whisky Bar (which features over 400 different scotch whiskies, much to the thrill of my husband) as well as Number One, which is a Michelin Star restaurant. Lawrence, our sommelier, was fantastic and brought us a wonderful selection of wines we had never heard of before (and as wine enthusiasts that was a real treat).

The spa and work out facilities at the hotel are fabulous. Gym equipment is in good condition and the swimming pool is absolutely fabulous.

STAFF:

The staff were extremely professional and helpful during our stay. We needed to ship some luggage back home to Canada and the young man at the front desk arranged everything immediately. The young woman who checked us in at reception remembered us the day we checked out and even referenced conversation we had during that first meeting.

If location and quality are what you find most important, I can't think of a more perfect hotel for you in Edinburgh than the Balmoral.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read such a thorough and wonderful review of your recent stay with us! I am delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay and took the opportunity to experience all that we have to offer here at The Balmoral. I am also pleased that you found the hotel ideally situated to experience the many attractions that sit on our doorstep within this beautiful city.
It will be a pleasure to share your review with my colleagues who looked after you throughout the hotel and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvas, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It is very very nice hotel. lovely so great having fun. Food is great. You will feel pampered all around. I highly recommend. It is clean all around. They make you feel at home. Great value for money and Very helpful staff...like everyone.

Room Tip: that's was nice and very neat & clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauly_khera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great Location Rooms Clean and updated. Got a chuckle from the pictures of 007 in the bathroom. Also but not the least the staff was the best. I highly recommend this hotel. Be sure to make dinner reservations when you check in as restaurants tend to fill up quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaptain597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing