We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Balmoral for two nights for my brothers wedding and thought it was an amazing place to stay. Right in the centre of Edinburgh the room was beautiful and the staff were first class. It is the first time we had been away to a hotel with our twin girls, we got to the room and the cots were set up beautifully with a teddy bear in each. The breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachaelc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,935 - 1,941 of 3,918 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just back from a stay at Edinburgh's Balmoral Hotel. On approach, the building is certainly impressive and also really handy for the railway station. Check-in was very good, with the Receptionist being very friendly and helpful. We arrived at 2:30 and were told the room was not yet ready, but to be fair, the hotel was busy so we didn't mind waiting.

First impression of the room was it was clean and fresh enough but the décor seemed really quite dated looking. The bathroom was marble and nice but the room just seemed a bit dull. We did have an excellent view of the castle from our room however and this helped make up for the décor.

We had booked dinner in Hadrian's rather than go out but again. I felt the meal missed the mark, it was only just average. We went into the Whisky Lounge and this was very well stocked so we spent a pleasant hour in there.

Breakfast was fine with a really brilliant haddock for me, most enjoyable. The dining room isn't big and it was busy but the staff are all efficient and handled it very well.

I have stayed at other 5 star hotels and although this is without doubt a fine hotel, I just can't seem to think of it as a great hotel. It is expensive and I think the rooms are distinctly average, I have stayed in better decorated hotels which haven't cost as much.

Overall, all members of staff were very friendly, we couldn't fault them. The entrance and main areas are nice but I think the rooms need a re-think as I just don't believe they have any sort of wow factor for what they cost per night. Probably best place to stay as far as location goes but for me, it just missed the mark.

Would I go back, probably but only if I got a special deal on the room rate.

Room Tip: High up and facing the castle is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pollycameroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wonderful, i am a meagre man who was made to feel like a king, service, room, luxuries, and bed 10/10.....very expensive BUT you get what you pay for. Smack bang in the middle of edingurgh, car ballet service (not free) and a whisky bar to die for.....whats not to like

Room Tip: spend more and upgrade, its well worth it....not for budgeteers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PopsyPops15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is an impressive building, bang in the middle of the city. Booked three nights stay via Expedia and agreed to upgrade to a suite for an additional £300 per night. Expectations of great room, service and a treat. The suite was roomy...separate living and bedroom space, high ceilings and generous bathroom. But some key areas for improvement...first, the amenities in the room need an uplift. To have instant coffee, no milk, limited electric sockets, curtains that don't tie back and shower trays falling off - don't really add to a special stay. Downgraded self back to executive room (here there is no coffee/kettle). Laundry pressing not returned on night promised.
Cheap arrangements in breakfast buffet - they cram everyone into one section, which is too hot, noisy and customers and staff are bumping into each other. An empty side of the restaurant was closed off - god knows why.

Beautiful tea rooms. Calm oasis in the building.

I blame a lot of this on the management of the property - the poor staff have to live with the decisions as they offer a below standard product relative to cost. August is peak season, the staff are very friendly on the whole but this place misses the mark when compared to other 5 star places (suite or no suite).

Two nights remain as I type this. It will be interesting to see if the place replies to these comments in the future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank DuncJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From the moment of our arrival, exhausted after a 7 hour flight from Philadelphia, we were greeted by the receptionist with a broad smile and a cheery hello. Because our suite would not be ready for almost 6 hours (3pm check-in is pretty standard in Europe), she offered us the option to stay in a "day room" for only £50 which we immediately grabbed. We napped and at about 1:30pm the phone rang to let us know our suite was ready. We stayed in the Braemor grand suite on the second floor which was a complimentary upgrade from our booked junior suite. The suite was wonderfully furnished with 20' ceilings and windows (including a bay window) overlooking the Waverly Rail Station and adjacent bridge. The large sitting room was delightful and bright with a comfortable couch, desk/chair, credenza & large TV, dining table for 4 and several side chairs. The separate bedroom contained a king size bed, TV, dresser and closet armoire. The spacious bathroom with marble furnishings was bright and convenient. We also were very pleased with our breakfasts both mornings in their brassiere restaurant, Hadrians, which offered a full hot and cold buffet as well as full choice of special order entrees like French Toast or Eggs Benedict (both of which I tried to complete satisfaction).

The service level at this hotel is amongst the top of the line for any hotel I have been in throughout my worldwide travels. Everywhere we went, staff would smile and greet us with a hello, how are you, have a wonderful day, etc.

We returned to The Balmoral for our last night in Scotland and stayed in a deluxe double room (#346), while not quite the joy of our previous suite, for a quick overnight, it was more than adequate and quite comfortable.

I cannot recommend any higher a grande dame of hotels than The Balmoral and it remains a must stay in this beautiful city of Edinburgh!

Room Tip: Corner suites have wonderful views and very spacious...worth the extra cost. Rooms facing Princes S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place is clean and well managed. The decor was being updated when we visited and will be much more appealing when complete. The bar was open and modern with good food. The spa is tiny and not a significant feature of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I took friends from SA, who were on a one day trip to Edinburgh, for afternoon tea at the Balmoral, as it is always a great experience. But yesterday's visit was particularly enjoyable, and the service we received from Ricardo was exceptional. From the moment we sat down he took the time and trouble to explain everything about the afternoon tea to my guests, mother, father and two children aged 9 and 11. He made everyone feel comfortable and welcome, and took time to explain and advise on the various types of tea, as well as offering the children soft drinks.
The food was excellent, and indeed too much, so at the end we were offered lovely boxes to take away the little cakes that we couldn't manage to eat. Thank you, Ricardo, for making their short visit such a memorable and enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Some rooms have wonderful views of Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 417Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £179 - £675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing