We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only hotel for me”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Only hotel for me”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great trip and stayed at the balmoral for two nights.
It is a wonderful location and a classic feel.
We had a small double and it was small but in saying that we had everything we needed and a lovely little bathroom.
We had a turndown service in the first night but not on the second night. Not sure why that was.
This was our second stay at this hotel and we again enjoyed the pool, the balmoral bar and the whiskey bar. We were unable to have pre dinner drinks at Palm Court unfortunately as we did previously because it was closing at 7pm. They must have changed it to being for lunch/high tea only.
Breakfast was lovely. Lots of servers and a great selection. The only thing was that there was a huge shortage of fried eggs on both mornings. Had to wait about 20 minutes on the second morning for them, which kind of ruined my breakfast. Please sort out the eggs!
This is a great hotel however and I can't wait to return. I always recommend it.
I only have one major gripe and it was pretty bad.
The downstairs lavatories were, how can I put it, disgusting.
I visited after my meal at number one around 10pm and the next evening around 11pm. I'm not going to go into details but yuck!!!!!!
Really not on. They obviously hadn't been attended to in quite some time. Not what you want to see after a lovely meal.
Please review cleaning times of these.
Overall a really great stay! Just a few little points to improve on.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ccjo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,654
    702
    195
    79
    39
See reviews for
729
1,743
166
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at the The Balmoral on a number of occasions, but always on business. This afternoon my wife, daughter and future son and law dropped in for High Tea in the Palm Court ( which we had booked earlier in the week ). I expected a good experience, after all it is a 5 star hotel in the centre of the Scottish capital but what we got was way better than that. From start to finish the attention to detail and professionalism exhibited was of a truly exemplary standard. One of the Palm Court staff ( Victoria ) overheard us discussing the fact that it was indeed my daughters birthday. Note I said overheard. When the sandwiches etc started to arrive it was apparent that she had prepared the plates with "happy Birthday" on them which was a lovely thought. The overall experience was indeed very enjoyable and was topped off when the guest relations manager ( Sandy Fraser ) came over personally to wish my daughter a happy birthday and then give us a short historical overview of the hotel and it's history. He was clearly a very busy man but he also recognised that I had stayed at the hotel before and that it was indeed a special day for my daughter. Thank you sincerely to Sandy, Victoria and the team at the Balmoral. You are most definitely a five star set up

Steve Dunlop

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel on this occasion but have always found the rooms to be excellent with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Balmoral lived up to its reputation with respect to luxury, location, convenience (next to train station), cleanliness and service. This is our third visit and all three have been great. The cost is reasonable for what you get so we view it as as special stay of a few days during a two week trip. The service is truly superior. The beds were great, it was quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: call the hotel and discuss what you want. They make every effort to meet you desires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

what a wonderful Hotel, you cannot fault this property, as I work partly in the global travel industry I was looking for at least one fault, there were none! Service here is excellent, first class that would be hard to beat and I have stayed in 5 star Hotels all over the world, this ranks as one of the best in its class! From the porters to the concierge to the bar staff, every member of staff truly know the meaning of customer service, the housekeeping team are also phenomenal! I will be back !!

Room Tip: any room is good but ask for one overlooking the Castle just spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at The Balmoral. I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with every aspect of your stay and in particular, that the attentive and warm hospitality displayed by my colleagues left such a positive impression. It will be a pleasure to share your kind words with the team and I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
0131 556 2414
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Balmoral is just about as good as it gets for hotels in the UK. From the moment you arrive and you are greeted by the doorman you are swept into a world of comfort and luxury. Despite living in Edinburgh every now and again the Balmoral is our escape from the city for a weekend and it never fails to impress.

Whichever room you are in there are great views across the city, the beds are super comfy and I think I need to steal one of their bath tubs - I've never found a deeper tub anywhere on my travels.

Entire afternoons of my life have disappeared in the serene happiness that is just sitting by the pool and enjoying the spa. Breakfast in our room is always a real treat and served to perfection.

Even if Edinburgh had nothing else to offer it would be worth coming to stay here, but for anyone coming to the city to explore, you couldn't be more in the centre of everything at the Balmoral whilst also being totally detached from it should you want to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I had birthday afternoon tea at the Balmoral in August. The service was great and the food really nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was more than enough food - we left feeling stuffed. As it was my birthday I did get a special piece of cake then a round of applause from the other guests!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review following your recent visit for afternoon tea with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday celebration in Palm Court including your special slice of birthday cake and the service you encountered from my colleagues.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Jenny Laseen
Palm Court Manager
0131 556 2414
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family just stayed at the Balmoral Hotel for a few days when visiting Edinburgh.
We had a great experience from the minute we checked in until our departure at the train station.
The rooms are attractive and comfortable. Excellent room service and dining options,
Afternoon tea was excellent! The Scotch bar was fun to have a drink after walking around the castle and Old Town (a few minutes walk from the hotel). The Concierge got excellent tickets for our large party to attend the Military Tattoo festival. We appreciated the bellman helping us with our luggage to the train station right next to the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucimari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#91 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing