We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our children loved the Balmoral,and so did we!”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Argyll
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our children loved the Balmoral,and so did we!”
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, so we could spend time visiting relatives and enjoying all that Edinburgh has to offer.
My husband I had our own room and our two children were next door to us,they loved having their own space.The hotel looks after it's young guests by giving them balmoral teddies,slippers,tolitries and robes for them to use during their stay.
Breakfast was delicious my husband enjoyed the eggs benedict and my little girl loved the pancakes and maple syrup!Sandra must get a special mention,she is the breakfast host and is a charming lady.
We enjoyed lunch at Hadrians,food was really good,playstaion and toys available for the young vip's!
The pool is nice and we spent many happy hours relaxing in there.
Having the car taken away as you arrive is wonderful as we didn't need it while we were in the city as the hotel is so central to everything.
We used to stay at the Sheraton when we came to Edinburgh on business or pleasure,but now the Balmoral will always be our first choice.

  • Liked — Beautiful landmark building with lovely staff and nice rooms
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,656
    702
    195
    79
    39
See reviews for
729
1,743
166
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

My husband and I along with our 5-year old daughter stayed for 5 nights over Christmas at the Balmoral and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We switched our booking to Balmoral after reading tripadvisor reviews, especially regarding their child-friendly service. Starting from our initial phone conversation with the front-desk (Mr. Tejas Patel), the hotel was extremely responsive. We received a speedy email confimation on our booking followed by an email from the manager welcoming us in advance. We had made certain requests like an early check-in, street-facing room and a king-size bed all of which were met and confirmed on phone when we called from Heathrow, while on the way to Edinburgh. The Scottish hospitality was superb, right from the cabbie to the Balmoral doorman when we reached. Our room was ready in 5 minutes of checking in and a DVD player was instantly connected (for our daughter's benefit). The room was well-lit, airy and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spacious with all facilities. Room service was speedy and the quality of food in the hotel was very good. On request, an electric kettle and an abundance of tea and coffee supplies were provided in the room. Evening turndown service and daily cleaning was of good quality. Staff at all levels and throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. No snobbery here. Santa's visit was a highlight for our daughter and Christmas decor at the lobby was beautiful. The fireplace at the lobby is really nice and gives a wonderful homey touch.

The crowning glory of the hotel is the concierge desk. They helped us with managing our time over the 5 days with personal interest. All bookings for day-trips, cabs etc were done promptly. We visited the zoo on Christmas when buses were off-road and the concierge desk even sent a cab to the zoo for pick up to save us the trouble of giving directions etc. They helped us with restaurant bookings and advice and generally hand-held us on the smallest of issues. Kudos to the team. We loved them.

There were 2 issues of discomfort which I am mentioning as constructive criticism! One, the bathroom shower did not have a hand-held option, so its impossible to take a shower without wetting your hair unless you wear a shower cap. Secondly, the room got quite warm at night and its not possible to regulate this from the room. On turning up the fan, warm air blows in, making the room more hot! In winters this is definitely an issue. Am sure in summers, with cooling on, this may not be the case.

Overall, the Balmoral is a great place to stay for visitors looking for a very comfortable and peaceful stay. Its a great bonus that the hotel building is a landmark in the city and every attraction was within walking distance. Have already recommended the hotel to many of our friends.

  • Liked — Location, ambience, concierge desk
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveliteNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We have just returned from a two nights stay over the new year.
We had a lovely stay at the hotel, we were impressed by all of the staff who were all very helpful and friendly.
I enjoyed the spa whilst there and definitely recommend the full body massage, fantastic! so relaxing and the spa staff were great, very well looked after.
We had room service breakfast one morning, full english, cost about £18.00 and was very nice!
There is complimentary tea and coffee available in the room, which you just have to ring down for it.
We also enjoyed a drink in the hotel bar, it was lovely and we were very looked after. I only wish we had booked the hotel for another night!
The only down fall, was that I wish the room we stayed in would of had an outside view, it was an inside view we had, which was fine but it would have been wonderful to look at the castle!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank parkyy2k2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

I mentioned at check in that my 50th birthday was the next day and how pleased I was to celebrate it at the Balmoral spa and restaurant. The staff went out of their way to make my birthday wonderful. I was upgraded to a beautiful room with 30' ceilings and view of the castle and christmas fair. The bathroom was all marble with a shower with excellent water pressure and hot water. The spa had a private elevator and the treatments were well done - I recommend the hot rock massage. Dinner was superb and while I believe the restaurant has one Michelein star, it rivaled two star Parisien restaurants I have dined at. The restaurant staff prepared a lovely birthday dessert. I have stayed in other Rocco hotels and always find the service and the property itself six stars. The Rocco people know what they are doing and do it well.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — it was perfect.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goodnamesaretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in December. The hotel is really lovely, and although it is a 5 star, it is not at all stuffy. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We had a lovely room overlooking the city, with a huge bathroom. We ate dinner in Hadrians restaurant which was excellent, and we had a delicious breakfast in here in the morning. My husband used the pool and spa, while I relaxed on the comfy sofas round the pool, flicking through the glossy magazines. They do a lovely afternoon tea in the Palm Court in the afternoon, just the thing to break up a busy afternoon Christmas shopping. Although it is quite expensive it is definitely worth it, and I look forward to revisiting the Balmoral in the future.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank galaxygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2008

It's taken me a while to write this but what a fantastic place to stay. We escaped from small children for a birthday treat in early January - fantastic time to go as the hotel was quiet (main restaurant closed between Hogmanay and Burns Night) and so we got a great deal. Lack of restaurant didn't matter a bit as you are so central. Room very comfortable and facilities great but what really made it for us was the personal touch - eg the receptionist telling us which shops had good sales and which theatre productions were the best. The next day I received a birthday card and special chocolates - although a birthday had been mentioned only in passing to the telephone operator months ago when booking. Will definitely have to save up but we can't wait to go back again.

  • Liked — Personal touches
  • Disliked — Downstairs bar
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaStruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Stayed for a wee shopping trip last year and absolutely loved it. They really do treat you so well here. Nothing is too much trouble.
They take your car away for you and bring it back when you need it within a few mins. The food was lovely, the breakfast inparticular was lovely.
The room had a lovely view and was spotless.

I wouldnt hesitate to go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilypods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#93 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing