We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon tea”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Popped in here for a cream tea after shopping! Wow - it may be expensive but it is well worth it. Quiet, clean, and gorgeous food!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,850)
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,171 - 3,177 of 3,851 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

I stayed at the Balmoral during a quick visit to Edinburgh over Christmas and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality hotel in a great location. I booked last-minute online as one of the managers specials. When I arrived I requested a room on one of the top floors over looking the castle and princes street. The service as was excellent and they promptly upgraded me to a larger room with fantastic views of both. The service remained excellent throughout the entire trip. Great hotel - will be staying again the next time I visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asti_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

The Balmoral offers a hotel experience the likes of which is increasingly hard to find in the UK. From the moment you enter the hotel you have the most attentive and helpful staff on hand; quality rooms and facilties; and a genuine sense of being in a 'grand' hotel. Expensive, but if you can afford it, worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Without a doubt the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything was perfect anf I have never slept so well!

Beautiful hotel. I want to live there. And I have high standards!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel123456068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

What a pleasant surprise we had in enjoying our evening at the Balmoral Hotel so much we wanted to stay longer. Though we are only from Fife, it was such a pleasant stay we plan to return as soon as possible. From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were superb . Very pleasant room, the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom lovely. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The Balmoral Hotel is a landmark building in Edinburgh, centrally located and fabulous for "stepping out" for shopping, theatre, socialising etc.

Unfortunately I found it soulless though!! Hotel has hundreds of rooms that vary in size and decor. I looked at 3 rooms before i decided on the room I felt was satisfactory for the money paid. I would reccommend an internal room as the ouyside rooms are noisy with street traffic.

I felt the SPA was an afterthought with small "cold" pool and a bit claustrophobic as it is in the basement - I could not get a Spa treatment so cannot comment on that facility.

Overall it is a lovely hotel, I would stay again for convenience but I do think there are lots of other hotels in Edinburgh which have far more warmth and fun!





Roomesa

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missattention2detail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We would just like to thank you very much for the excellent service you and your staff provided on our recent visit to your hotel last weekend. It was a surprise birthday trip arranged by my partner Mr White for me and I could not have wished for anything better. I would like to give a special mention to Gregor Forbes the Hadrians Restaurant Manager because his own personal attention to detail was impeccable and his staff very conscientious. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauljaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £171 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing