We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel with staff who go above and beyond”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Grand hotel with staff who go above and beyond”
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We had reservations at The Balmoral for 2 nights and were to arrive by train from London at 6:30 PM. Due to a landslide on the rails we arrived 3 AM, cold and exhausted after finally being bussed for 3 hours. Upon arrival we were offered a pot of .coffee or tea but opted for sleep. The room was spacious and lovely, especially the bath. The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel. This was a bit expensive but we were starved from not having dinner the night before. The concierge was very helpful referring us for a bus tour and we actually could purchase the tickets at the hotel. Later, the manager found us, concerned that the trains would not be running the next morning. He had figured an alternate route for us to reach London. He supplied us with instructions, train schedules and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdcrupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    713
    197
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,769
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Travelling Scot
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Didn't stay at the hotel (which i definitely will be next time!) but decided on passing that we would go in for a quick drink in the bar. It was quite dark but had a chilled atmosphere which i would imagine is hard to replicate in Edin city centre and we were so looked after that we ended up ordering champagne cocktails with nibbles!! In the end, we liked it so much that we stayed for dinner in their restaurant called Hadrians and am so glad we did! Really surprised at the comfortable luxury and gorgeous art deco feel of the restaurant. The friendly staff really made us feel welcome and couldn't have been better looked after. In particular we were lucky enough to have the Manager, (i did ask his name but have forgotten!) looking after us that evening who was especially helpful with the menu. He also told us all about the wines and chose 2 beautiful wines white for our starters and red for the mains. It suited our tastes to the tee! which made us feel extra special that he had taken the time. The food was fantastic (the steak was to die for!) and beautifully presented. The menu was varied enough to give plenty choice without being OTT which was great as we were treating ourselves since we were on holiday. I couldn't fault them, however, If i was to make one criticism it would be how on earth hadn't i heard of it before! But will be definitely telling my friends!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldlywise2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Booked the Balmoral hotel for a long weekend in Edinburgh during November 2009
Location was excellent for all the shops, bus stops for open top excursions, and walking distance to the castle etc. Our room overlooked the main street and views of the castle. Couldn't fault it, although decor could be updated a little we weren't disappointed at all. Tea/coffee making facilities and a mini bar, hairdryer and trouser press also included. The swimming pool was great to relax after a day walking and well worth a dip!
Service from staff was brilliant, the best we have had so far, including London hotels. Breakfast was wonderful, a never ending array of wonderful foods to suit everyone. Waiting staff seated you and asked if tea/cofffee were required, the rest is up to you as its a buffet style. Concierge were absolutely brilliant, they were more than helpful when we asked them to help book a restaurant. They had the table booked and a taxi for our requested time before we could blink, so very obliging, a rareity in this country these days. Nothing was too much trouble for them at all. We enjoyed the cultural city of Edinburgh and would definately return, staying again at the Balmoral would be a must!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed on business for second time. Hotel is reasonably grand and impressive, though has a contemporary look. Welcoming staff. Room was fine and well decorated. Had dreadful view on to an internal courtyard and if was on holiday would have asked to swap. Concierge efficient - quickly brought me a Blackberry charger.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We have stayed in The Balmoral a few times and loved it. However, the last time we stayed we were made to feel unwelcome from the minute we checked in. What a lovely reception we got at the front door only to be directed towards all I can assume was someone who
1. doesn't like her job.
2. has severe PMT.
3. thinks she's a cut above.
Our crime? To ask if it was possible to have a room with a view! Her reply "at the money you've paid you can not expect that." We were so shocked as have always found this hotel to be extremly friendly. Anyway the room we got was very small infact a total let down. No skin of our nose though as we still love coming to Edinburgh 3 or 4 times a year for the rugby and short breaks. We now give the Balmoral a wide bearth and either book into the Roxbourgh or the George, both very friendly. Although we are going to try the Missoni this weekend.
Such a shame the Balmoral let us down as it holds special memories for my Husband and I as it was the 1st place we stayed for a weekend away together. Not so special now.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ronap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Dear Guest

I am pleased to read that you have previously experienced excellent service whilst staying at the Balmoral hotel, but regret that you did not find this to be the case on your stay last year.

Our Castle view rooms are extremely popular and I am sorry that your request for a complimentary upgrade was unavailable during your stay.

As a regular guest of the Balmoral, I sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the future. If you should wish to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel either by phone or e-mail.

Your sincerely
Ivan Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Popped in here for a cream tea after shopping! Wow - it may be expensive but it is well worth it. Quiet, clean, and gorgeous food!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I stayed at the Balmoral during a quick visit to Edinburgh over Christmas and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality hotel in a great location. I booked last-minute online as one of the managers specials. When I arrived I requested a room on one of the top floors over looking the castle and princes street. The service as was excellent and they promptly upgraded me to a larger room with fantastic views of both. The service remained excellent throughout the entire trip. Great hotel - will be staying again the next time I visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asti_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing