We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We’ve just returned from our UK trip and our stay at the Balmoral Hotel at Edinburgh made our trip all the more memorable. My husband and I were travelling with two kids, a toddler and an infant, and all facilities were provided to make our stay comfortable. Little niceties like teddy bears for the kids, a small robe for our 3 year old, a kiddie bath tub with a rubber duckie thrilled our kids. The hotel staff were very helpful and I must make a special mention of the staff at the concierge who were extremely warm and extended all their help to assist us in our daily outings. A ‘thank you for staying with us’ email from the hotel after our return home was also a touching gesture.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGetAway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,694
    713
    196
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,768
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I had passed this externally very impressive-looking property many times on earlier visits to Edinburgh, going as far back (I am giving away my age here) as when it was still known as the North British. Took family here for a couple of days' indulgence recently, while in the UK.

Booking was made on the web, and I needed to mail a special request separately from the web booking, to address a requirement that the website does not provide an option for. The hotel's e-mail response was generally prompt and responsive - which is rare enough that I appreciate it!

We arrived in Edinburgh by train, and this hotel could not be more convenient for Waverley Station - which is why it has such strong old associations with the railways! (We chose to climb the stairs to street level; for those with heavy luggage I understand there is an elevator, but we never saw it.)

The property can give a somewhat glacial first impression, with tall uniformed commissionaires, but turns warm and friendly once we'd established ourselves as guests. Check-in was quick, easy and cheerful and my special requests had been taken care of in full measure and beyond. In addition, the hotel upgraded us and our teenager to two connecting rooms (at no extra charge), rather than providing an additional bed. Very nice, thank you. Our teenager's room had some additional snacks, thoughtful chosen for a teenager, and other amenities; and also a gaming console :).

The rooms are old-fashioned looking (though they now have central heating - I give away my tropical origins by my deep gratitude for this mod con!), classical, particularly spacious, and marvellously open to natural light. This trip was in summer, so we had the full benefit of the special quality of Edinburgh's summertime light. Some rooms have a spectacular view of Edinburgh Castle. General impression is that everything is on a generous scale - rooms, furniture, even the bathtub!

The hotel has a showpiece fine-dining restaurant (which sadly we didn't have the time to try out), a very attractive 15-metre indoor swimming pool (which I did manage to try - nice aromas from the adjacent spa float over the pool), and does a characteristic Scottish afternoon tea.

Altogether a most enjoyable place at which to indulge ourselves, if only briefly! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Non-Red-Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Yes this is an expensive hotel. No point saying otherwise but you do get a sense that they know what they are doing. The staff are genuinely professional without being cold or aloof. The food is excellent and the decor is perfect.
Location is as good as it gets - especially if you are travelling by train but airport is only 25 mins away and about £18 by taxi.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imeacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I've visited hundreds hotel around the world. Usually in western countries, if you are an Asian or you come from those zone or you speak less English, you will slight difference treatment from hotel check in staffs, during the breakfast, or when you call for help. What I felt at Balmoral is very different. All hotel staffs from all department serve its guest without seeing where they come from or from what races they are. I can rate this is the best hotel in Europe that I've ever stayed.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hersyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton Bay
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This was a great hotel in the middle of downtown Edinburgh. We had a great room overlooking the castle. We loved the restaurants. A fine staff who looks after all ones needs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltonBayBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden, Herts.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed at the Balmoral for three nights. The reception was brilliant, the breakfast really set us up for the day and afternoon tea in the Palm Court was excellent. Our 5th floor room with bathroom was very comfortable so it's a shame that the window security chain was hanging off, the wardrobe light wouldn't go off and the very nice television didn't have a built in programme guide. None of these was particularly important just a bit of a niggle considering the price. Would I go back - you bet!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I haven't stayed here for a couple of years but was glad to be back. After the last visit I always thought this was an excellent city centre hotel in the UK bar Claridges. The service here is alway nop notch and consistent across departments which is very tricky very excellent hotels find that hard but here it is done with ease.

Its the best hotel for edinburgh city centre, for shopping etc. It's also has the best beds and food. Overall the ambience of the place wins hands down, you always feel at home.

Hope I can get back sooner next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,025 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing