We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Festival stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great base for Festival stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Our family stayed at the Halcyon for three nights during the Edinburgh Festival and it was a great choice. Considering that as well as two kids, the family also includes a cocker spaniel, our options were a little limited for a city stay but we got lucky with this hotel. The location is excellent, walking distance to the city centre and close to a number of decent cafes and restaurants (including the legendary Valvona and Crolla). Better still, the gardens opposite are ideal for a quick walk with the dog (even when the weather is inclement as, apparently, it sometimes is in Edinburgh!) and Calton Hill is right behind the hotel for a longer walk.

The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts were generous and delicious. The owners and staff were all very welcoming - sausages each morning ensured our dog will never forget the visit - and nor will we!

One last note about prices - for the location, the room rates are very good indeed and the special rates for children are an excellent bonus. Parking was also easy and convenient. All in all, hard to find anything to complain about here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    78
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
28
65
48
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 874 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Halcyon Hotel was a great place to stay in Edinburgh. The location was perfect, with Calton Hill out the window and just a 10 minute walk to the centre of town. The only down side was the bit of a hill to walk up with luggage to get there!
I opted for a room with an ensuite. The room was very small but comfortable and very clean. Basic amenities are covered in the room, while a lounge on the 2nd floor provided a more comfortable place to relax. The ensuite was very clean and excellent value for money - I would go for this option every time. Those who struggle with stairs should ask for a room on a lower floor - mine was on the 4th and was quite a slog! The room was nice and quiet and sleep quality was great.
Halcyon Hotel was a friendly, comfortable accomodation that was good value for money. Certainly not luxury, it was more comfortable and simple.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We can't think of anything but good things to say about this hotel. My girlfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights at the beginning of Sept 2011. The proprietor was very helpful and attended to our dietary requirements - gluten free bread, soya milk and soya butter (which we hadn't even heard of!) The rooms were clean, comfortable and the entire hotel is beautifully decorated. The location is very good, just a few minutes walk into the city centre. We have already begun to recommend to friends and family and hope to go back one day! (do watch out for the "you're not booked in" joke on arrival though! ;) )

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Booked directly on Hotel's own website. Paid deposit via PayPal. Excellent price for location. Arrived at midnight this was no problem for the proprieter. Great breakfast and service from Dominka and co.
Room was not en-suite but the bathroom was next to the room and I was the only person using it so no problem. There is free wifi throughout as a bonus point
Room small but very comfortable. No TV in room but there's a large comfortable lounge that nobody seemed to use despite the hotel being full. When I checked out I still had a couple of hours to kill before my flight left, so they let me use the lounge to do some work on my laptop for a couple of hours utilising the free wifi. I was also offered a bacon butty before I left!

Great place for the price and location

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJHDarmstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

First of all,my fault really, didn't realise it wasn't en-suite - sharing bathroom not great fun. Everywhere was very clean and tidy and it's a beautiful old building. Proprietor has slightly strange sense of humour - greeted us with sorry you're not booked in, no vacancies, which he meant as a joke but after 6 hours travelling wasn't all that amusing. Price we thought was steep for a slip of a room with 2 singles placed end to end, one blocking the window. breakfast average - husband enjoyed it I didn't. All in all, wouldn't chose it again, wouldn't recommend it to anyone unless they were stuck.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellesmere311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Halcyon for one night and we'd definitely go back. B&Bs are often functional and heavy on rules. This has great character, a very warm welcome and a clear sense that guests are valued. Arriving early Saturday morning on the sleeper train from London (fun but arguably not the way to arrive refreshed, ready for a full day of sightseeing!) we turned up at the hotel at 8am, hoping to be able to drop off our bags and then head off to a cafe for breakfast. Instead we were told our room was ready, despite official check-in being after midday. You can't beat that. Doubtless it depended on availability, but it was offered immediately rather than after wrangling. It is a very positive impression. Rooms were spacious and spotless, beds extremely comfortable and towels and linen soft and well-laundered. And the team was first class, especially at breakfast. Few places are confident enough to let you see the kitchen, but this is such a smooth operation that there was nothing to hide. No individual cereal packets in sight, a creative fruit salad and cooked food to order (accompanied by the owner's little jokes!) at decent intervals to ensure maximum time to savour rather than being compelled to bolt it all down to get out of the dining room inside 15 minutes. Even better, the location was spot on: a few minutes' walk to Princes Street and on the direct bus route to Leith for the galleries and the Royal Yacht Britannia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiaoxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Halcyon Hotel is in a great location next to Calton Hill in Edinburgh. So it is good for early morning views over the city before walking into the centre.

The hotel is in a beautiful listed building, but as such it doesn't have a lift, central heating or double glazing. As we are relatively young and it was June this wasn't a massive problem, but I can imagine if you were older or it was winter, it could be an issue.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. We had to leave early on a trip one morning and they prepared something to take with us.

Final tip: We got a good deal booking directly through their website, as they run a number of promotional room offers.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a lower floor, and make sure you ask for an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BensHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hotel

Property: Halcyon Hotel
Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Halcyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing