We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #135 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Decor and furnishings were nice but a bit worn and tired. Lots of 'bits and pieces' need doing. Room was fine, quite a few hairs on bedding, and in bathroom but overall was clean, but could have done with a thorough dusting. No tv in room but there was a communal lounge that could be used. Owners were friendly, which was great. Breakfast was nice but just as a personal issue I would not have the cooked breakfast again as I'm not keen on a kilo of mushrooms, uncooked tomato and one tiny chipolata sausage. You are also allocated an orange juice as opposed to being able to help yourself as with most b&bs. Overall, its a well placed B&B with nice owners, but not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed last night in the Halcyon in Royal Terrace Edinburgh. We were going to see Dara O'Brian at the playhouse and we were literally three minutes walk from the theatre. The room was excellent, clean and with all mod cons. The staff are some of the friendliest we have ever stayed with. I highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness,friendliness and location. If you're going to Edinburgh you'll struggle to find a better choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewartc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Me and my Partner have just returned from a lovely stay in Edinburgh at The Halcyon Hotel. This is a lovely place to stay and ideally situated for Calton Hill and only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Edinburgh. Our Room was very nicely decorated and very clean and very quiet.No TV in room but there is so much to do why would you want to be watching TV? However if you can't do without there is a very nice lounge where you can watch TV. Rooms have coffee and tea making facilities and are very comfortable. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent, choice of cereals, porridge or fruit, toast and jam and coffee or tea and orange juice followed by a full breakfast which is freshly cooked to order and is delicious and very filling, my Partner a big eater struggled with this big breakfast. We would highly recommend this Hotel. In fact this is one of the lovliest hotels we have stayed in and will definately stay there again when we return to Edinburgh

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loli0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

A great hotel with a very tasty breakfast! Very reasonably priced for a hotel so close to the city centre, Princes street and the royal mile are obly about 15/20 mins walk, with a selection of bars and restaurants nearby, plus the playhouse and omni cinema. No TV in the rooms but this suited me and my husband fine as we were there to explore the city not lounge about in the room. Friendly staff, very large clean room and as I said, a hearty breakfast evry morning! Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The rooms are comfortable and carefully maintained, tea and coffee facilities and even a chocolate with a kind note. While not slick and polished like traditional hotels the large Georgian townhouse is graceful and inviting. I enjoyed sipping a cup of tea in the large lounge room available to all guests and the friendly banter as I was served breakfast. Certainly you could find little faults about the place if you looked hard enough but I doubt you could find much better value for money. Perfect for solo travelers, couples and families on a budget but wanting a bit of homely charm.

Room Tip: The little bit extra for the en-suite was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Good location right next to Calton Hill, and lovely breakfast with lots of choice. Unusual not to have a tv in the room, but as I was the only guest for 2 of the 3 evenings I had the tv lounge to myself. Also unusual to have no central heating in the rooms, the electric heater was ok for the room, but the heat didn't extend as far as the bathroom which was very cold.
A few hiccups with room allocation and dietary requirements but they were soon sorted by the helpful and friendly owners and staff.

Room Tip: Road surface noisy, so choose a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambridge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Our family stayed at the Halcyon for three nights during the Edinburgh Festival and it was a great choice. Considering that as well as two kids, the family also includes a cocker spaniel, our options were a little limited for a city stay but we got lucky with this hotel. The location is excellent, walking distance to the city centre and close to a number of decent cafes and restaurants (including the legendary Valvona and Crolla). Better still, the gardens opposite are ideal for a quick walk with the dog (even when the weather is inclement as, apparently, it sometimes is in Edinburgh!) and Calton Hill is right behind the hotel for a longer walk.

The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts were generous and delicious. The owners and staff were all very welcoming - sausages each morning ensured our dog will never forget the visit - and nor will we!

One last note about prices - for the location, the room rates are very good indeed and the special rates for children are an excellent bonus. Parking was also easy and convenient. All in all, hard to find anything to complain about here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#129 of 151 in Edinburgh
25 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#113 of 151 in Edinburgh
306 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#107 of 151 in Edinburgh
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hotel

Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing