We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for city but would never return”
Review of Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #129 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 7 August 2012

On reaching the 'hotel' we were pleasantly surprised to be able to park for free all weekend, this was probably the only benefit of our stay at this 'hotel'.

We had two rooms on arrival one room was not ready. The previous week I had phoned to let them know our arrival time and also the situation with parking, which was clarified in the phone call the chap also went on to say that the rooms would be ready as we were arriving after noon. Having booked through booking.com it was not obvious on our confirmation whether we had breakfast or not, the chap who took the call confirmed we did.

The room that was ready was on the top floor so we carried all our bags to the ready room which was up I think 3 steep staircases. If you struggle with steps, are elderly, have a heart/breathing condition or are in a wheelchair this place is not for you.

I feel the title hotel is misleading as well as the image on this site and also the image on booking.com. This image is of maybe 4 or 5 establishments on the same street with a narrow buiding belonging to the Halcyon Hotel. I would say this is a tall B&B rather than a hotel !

It was mentioned by the lady who checked us in to relax after our long drive and have a coffee in the lounge, this was a spacious room but the kettle did not work despite trying several different plugs, we tried to find someone to help but there was absolutely no one about (despite only seeing the lady minutes earlier) and we had no way of getting anyones attention as the lady had disappeared. We therefore decided to hit the city straight away rather than have a relaxing 10 mins after a 150 mile trip.

Our room smelt old, decor was tired, noisey shower with not much room. The kettle was hard to fill in the mini sink, I suggested a jug in the room on the feedback form. Curtains were terrible I would not have put them in a wendyhouse, they did nothing. No TV and some random old fashioned radio thing which did not work.

We were in Edinburgh for a concert so I admit we were lucky to have a place to rest our heads but it was really just that.

There was lots of noise outside our room as our room was on the corner of the staircase which everyone walked past, drunken folk shouting between floors and smokers beneath our window having their last fag in the early hours after they slammed taxi doors, we were still awake at 3am.

It also seems the royal terrace is a short cut for taxi's bombing through as it is cobbled the noise was terrible and again made the job of getting to sleep hard, our window looked out onto royal terrace.

We did manage to drop off to sleep but then were woken early by our neighbours shower, seemed that water trickled in pipes down the wall cavity.

It was quite obvious at breakfast who the loud mouths belonged to, with the group saying to the owner that one was strugglying to get out of bed, which the owner seemed to find it amusing, obviously not a thought for the rest of us paying guests who they had kept awake.

Breakfast was ok, asked for tomato sauce it never came, didn't bother asking again. They seemed to be rushing. lots of water on plate from poached eggs and very greasy. Coffee was good!

random sense of humor really from the owner, didn't ask how we slept so didn't say. No one checked us out so left keys on side, no one asked how our stay was at any point or how things were, we were glad to leave. I filled in a feedback form and have heard nothing since, maybe it's not been read yet?!

A lot of people are saying this is a budget hotel, I don't feel the price we paid was budget however either way it should still be enjoyable with the owners taking an interest in our experience, to make improvements for future guests, which will not include us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouiseFMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Owners are friendly and have a great dry sense of humor. This place is simple & clean and does not market itself in any other way so I dont know what other reviewers are expecting... For the price and proximity it is perfect for a budget travler. Thanks for warm reception and great garden views Halcyon!

Room Tip: Pretty quite neighborhood - we stayed on the 2nd floor with a garden view and were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

On entering the hotel there was an awful smell the whole place could do with a refurbishment. The kettle in lounge did not work, three flights of stairs to climb to our room no lift. In bedroom no TV and the radio did not work. The wash basin was that small you could not fill the kettle, shower cubicle was small, the furniture was shabby, ceiling lampshade could have done with a dusting. The rooms did not look a bit like the photos on their web site. Late night guests shouting between floors. At breakfast time we had a window table where we had to slide the table to one side to get in then slide it to the other side for my husband to get in. The orange fruit juice was already served on table no choice of other juices. The gentleman serving breakfast had a very strange sense of humour, breakfast quite greasy and a large portion of sliced mushrooms. To say it's a hotel there was no bar, it is more a B & B. I expected a better class of hotel for the tariff we paid. We were not introduced to the owners, the only good point was 10 -15mins walk into city.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Disappointed182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable stay at the Halcyon. It is approx 10 mins walk from Waverley train station and around £6 by taxi. The castle can be reached in approx 20 mins, but regular buses will take you to Princes Street.
The rooms whilst basic are clean and comfortable, with plenty of tea and coffee. 2 x complimentary showergel/shampoo will cut down on your packing if staying for 2 nights.
I stayed 3 nights and could quite happily have stayed longer. I was made to feel most welcome by the owners who ensured that breakfast (served 8 - 9) was by far my biggest meal of the day. The food was always hot and tasty.
I would recommend this guest house to friends and family.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjf3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Decor and furnishings were nice but a bit worn and tired. Lots of 'bits and pieces' need doing. Room was fine, quite a few hairs on bedding, and in bathroom but overall was clean, but could have done with a thorough dusting. No tv in room but there was a communal lounge that could be used. Owners were friendly, which was great. Breakfast was nice but just as a personal issue I would not have the cooked breakfast again as I'm not keen on a kilo of mushrooms, uncooked tomato and one tiny chipolata sausage. You are also allocated an orange juice as opposed to being able to help yourself as with most b&bs. Overall, its a well placed B&B with nice owners, but not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed last night in the Halcyon in Royal Terrace Edinburgh. We were going to see Dara O'Brian at the playhouse and we were literally three minutes walk from the theatre. The room was excellent, clean and with all mod cons. The staff are some of the friendliest we have ever stayed with. I highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness,friendliness and location. If you're going to Edinburgh you'll struggle to find a better choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewartc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Me and my Partner have just returned from a lovely stay in Edinburgh at The Halcyon Hotel. This is a lovely place to stay and ideally situated for Calton Hill and only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Edinburgh. Our Room was very nicely decorated and very clean and very quiet.No TV in room but there is so much to do why would you want to be watching TV? However if you can't do without there is a very nice lounge where you can watch TV. Rooms have coffee and tea making facilities and are very comfortable. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent, choice of cereals, porridge or fruit, toast and jam and coffee or tea and orange juice followed by a full breakfast which is freshly cooked to order and is delicious and very filling, my Partner a big eater struggled with this big breakfast. We would highly recommend this Hotel. In fact this is one of the lovliest hotels we have stayed in and will definately stay there again when we return to Edinburgh

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loli0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 151 in Edinburgh
16 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#125 of 151 in Edinburgh
233 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,229 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hotel

Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £74 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing