We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and cosy - friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ry, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy - friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Visited this small and cosy hotel with my daughter for 5 days during holidays in Edinburgh. We had a great holiday in this small cosy hotel. The couple running the hotel are very friendly and especially during breakfast there is a very familiar atmosphere. The hotel is not extravagant, but it has what you need for a place to sleep close to the city centre.
We had to get up very early to catch our flight on the day of departure, and the night before, the staff prepared a nice breakfast tray for us to bring to the room. Good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    78
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
28
65
48
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was an excellent B&B close to the heart of Edinburgh. Room comfortable, breakfasts just the best with everything well cooked, fresh fruits etc. Service was superb with helpful, lovely young ladies from Europe.
I left a silver ring behind in the bathroom and they even found it for me and sent on by registered post free of charge so we can't do enough to express our thanks for this.
Very much appreciated and highly recommended.

Room Tip: In peak season best to make sure your room has it's own en suite rather than using what was a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I'm struggling to be positive about this hotel. The location is good and the breakfast was good but that's where it stops. Getting in and out of the hotel is a struggle as you can easily scrape your knuckles as the lock is so close to the door frame. There are notices stuck to the walls in the hall (telling you to go back outside to ring the bell if you want attention) and bedroom which is odd. The "welcome" was strange and not in the least welcoming. The bedroom I stayed in was poorly furnished with cheap and well-worn linen and curtains and the bathroom floor was "tacky" which was unpleasant. There was a bad smell in the public areas and bedrooms and the kitchen opened directly onto the hall in the morning which is poor. Staying there was not a good experience and it had the feel of a place unloved and stuck in the 60's or 70's. The young girls at breakfast were nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 482EUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a very comfortable and quiet stay and the owners were helpful and accomodating. It is quite an old fashioned place (note the inter room intercom system) and I suspect that the back rooms are much better than the front due to the tyre noise on cobbled streets but we had a lovely rear room which was airy and quiet. Its in a great position, right at the bottom of Carlton Hill and away from the noisy streets of most of downtown Edinburgh. We really liked it and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Rooms were clean and tidy. Very cosy. The shower proved a little difficult at times. Breakfast was amazing. The owners Matthew and Patricia made us feel very welcome and were lovely. Central location not far of a walk to anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moley9580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Not sure how they got the ratings they have. We booked one double room and we got a room that slept 4 people and you could hardly moved. The ensuite toilet was a cupboard built round a toilet.
We packed up and left and trust that this establishment is properly represented as a back packers not a B&B.

Room Tip: 3 very,very long staircases means something on the bottom floor is marginally best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jampro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I ended up here after being double booked elsewhere. In contrast to the cosy place I had booked this was quite austere. Rooms very basic and quite a lot of traffic noise (windows not double glazed). It was cold the night I stayed and there were no sheets on the beds just duvets which is never particularly reassuring. No TV in the room. Ensuite bathroom was ok. I was luckily out in the evening so didn't have to spend a lot of time in the room. Breakfast was ok, grapefruit and toast but the cooked part was disappointing, a cold raw tomato microwaved mushrooms and soggy bacon. It's in a good location, close to station and Princes street and if you are on a budget it's ok but it wasn't cheap the night I stayed compared to what I had paid originally at somewhere which seemed a lot nicer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GS18027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hotel

Property: Halcyon Hotel
Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Halcyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing