We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst afternoon tea I've ever experienced”
Review of Links Restaurant

Links Restaurant
Ranked #1,229 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Worst afternoon tea I've ever experienced”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A friend and I had been looking forward to afternoon tea at the Links for a couple of weeks, and we finally managed to find a Sunday afternoon to fit in with our busy schedules. We started with prosecco which was nice, but then they brought out the pot of tea immediately, which meant that it had over-stewed by the time we'd finished our prosecco.

When the stand came out with a selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes, it was laughable. The assorted sandwiches consisted of cheap, thin, stale brown bread with grated cheddar, half of which had tomato...apparently this constitutes an assortment...The number of sandwiches was also embarrassing, three tiny fingers each, less than 2 slices of bread each.

The "scones" were AWFUL. We were given half a scone each, which seems a bit stingy considering how cheap they are to make. These too were stale, and very dense. We also weren't given any butter for them, which might have helped with their dryness.

Finally, the cakes. We were served a burnt orange cake, that actually wasn't too bad, and a very sticky brownie type thing. We noticed another table were given caramel shortbread and we were disappointed when our's didn't have the same. Also, they were served a whole scone each, although I did notice that they didn't eat their's, so they must have been as bad as ours.

I wouldn't recommend this afternoon tea to anyone looking for a pleasurable way to spend their afternoon. Total waste of money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best afternoon tea. Not recommended.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went along as a group of 4 on a very sunny Saturday afternoon for a Groupon Afternoon Tea. All 3 of the outdoor sections were very busy, with no tables available so we went inside and found a table by the window. Afternoon tea and sports bar don't particularly sit well together, but, due to the nice weather, there weren't too many people interested in the rugby on the tv's so it wasn't as noisy as it might otherwise have been. I don't know if they had expected the Groupon deal to be so successful, as there was only one young waitress servicing the tables inside and outside, and she was literally sprinting through the bar to keep up with everything. She didn't quite catch from our voucher that we were a group of 4, two of whom had been delayed trying to find parking. By the time the two Prosecco arrived, the remainder of our party had turned up, yet we had to point out that they were yet to order. Eventually, everything was served and looked quite nice, until we tried the scones. Totally inedible! Whoever had made them had been heavy handed with the bicarboante of soda. We pointed this out and were told that a new batch were just about ready and they would be brought to us once they were. When they arrived, there were only two, with fresh jam and cream; there were 4 of us in the party. When we pointed this out, another two were brought, minus the cream and jam, but with a strawberry! They were also nothing like the originals; bigger, softer, fresher and tasty, but nowhere near warm, so I doubt the "new batch" had been prepared on the the premises. Looked suspiciously like Greggs! Overall, not the best afternoon tea. Service was a chaotic and not attentive. A pleasant enough couple of hours but owing more to the company than the venue or the Afternoon Tea experience. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea was a delight”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We popped along here on Sunday with a super £10 Groupon deal. All the food was freshly prepared and the tea tasted wonderful. The restaurant was modern, clean and tidy with ample on street parking. With this kind of deal, we would return every week - just should have bought more vouchers! Go on, spoil yourselves!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m.obrien83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“NOT if you want to enjoy a game with a beer in your hand!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This bar sells itself as a sports bar. In fairness it has plenty of screens to watch although with the high stools at tables and low position of screens, some are impossible to see.
We choose this bar to meet friends for the Scot/Eng rugby match. We booked a table to eat at 1pm and watch the pre game.
The place was jumping(as we expected) however we had to ask at 1.40pm to place our order, we then had to chase the food up at 2.40pm. The food was good.
By now the place was mobbed, the bar was well under staffed and getting a drink was absolutely impossible.
We managed to get a drink for the start of the game and that was it until the end of game. One friend spent the whole second half at the bar with no result.
The bar staff were under pressure and who I think was the "bar Manager" was rude and not coping!!
They could have made a packet that day, but sadly were unprepared for such a big event.
Nobody is a winner here..
I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS BAR FOR A BIG MATCH.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ParentLine's Christmas night out”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Around 40 of us went to the Link for our Christmas party last week. This was our second year there following a good experience last year. We had the use of two rooms and gathered first for a much enjoyed glass of mulled wine. The dining area is a good size and we helped ourselves to a buffet meal. The food was hot and plentiful with two dishes to choose from. It was exceptionally good value and we all enjoyed our evening there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank hazel m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Links Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Links Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing