We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little neighbourhood restaurant”

Nagoya Original Sushi Restaurant
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Nagoya Original Sushi RestaurantLocated on London Road, we are stiring to become one of your favorite Japanese dining experiences in Edinburgh. We are committed to providing our guests with unique menu creations that are true to the Japanese culture, outstanding service & hospitality, and a comfortable, contemporary atmosphere, and resonable price...We trust that we will continue to be a dining experience that you will want to share with your friends and family over and over again.We do take-away & delivery service to Leith, Restalrig, Portobello, Milton, Newington, Ferry Road, Queen Street, North Bridge, etc...
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have only actually had takeaway from here but the food is really tasty and good value with 15% off at the moment. It's really good to have a local restaurant like this in Meadowbank, I was very sad when Old Penang closed before it but this is a good replacement.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissJREdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very lovely sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Love the food here, so fresh sashimi, soft roll and very nice desserts. A. Little far from city centre but easy for parking, there is no so much noises and you can talk with your friends or family very well. The waitress is very friendly too. They give a very redo able price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sushi Takeout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Had a takeaway from here sushi was amazing noodle and rice hot dishes were ok. They forgot the rice and when I called to ask where it was they first offered free rice on another day, but managed to get them to deliver it.

All in all and average experience but perhaps if we just had sushi it would have been a lot better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite place for sushi in all of Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Having lived in Edinburgh for 5 years and having tried the other handful of Japanese restaurants dotted around Edinburgh, I can happily say this the first place I go to for my sushi cravings, even if the location of the restaurant is not so central :)
The staff are lovely and the restaurant itself is very chilled out and peaceful - no need to shout over the music when having conversations with the girlfriend.
The food is great - both the sushi and the cooked dishes. Not a drain on the pockets either - everything is priced fairly. More often than not, we'll phone in our order and nip down the road to collect it which is great as there's 15% knocked off when you collect your order in person.
And green tea ice cream for dessert tops the whole evening off. Awesome :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yehuaxiao, Manager at Nagoya Original Sushi Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi, Jessica
Thanks for your review, it's my pleasure hearing from you, we will do our best to give our customers the best Japanese food in the UK.

Sincerely
Nagoya Sushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disappointed customer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

came here for a quick dinner the other night and was so disappointed. i love japanese food, especially sashimi but the fish was not fresh and it completely put me off the food the entire night. the food was very poor im afraid but the staff was very friendly indeed!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yehuaxiao, Manager at Nagoya Original Sushi Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Hi, there
I'm sorry for making you so disappointed that time, can you tell me when did you come to our restaurant for the dinner.

Thanks alot
Nagoya original sushi restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nagoya Original Sushi Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing