We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea”
Review of Turquoise Thistle

Turquoise Thistle
Ranked #1,168 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Relax in our vibrant lounge bar over a cocktail before dining in our Turquoise Thistle Restaurant. Savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Came here on an Itison voucher and had a lovely afternoon tea with a great range of croissants, cakes and tarts. Lovely atmosphere with good service. £19 for the tea was a good price but would question it's normal price of £45

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    52
    16
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant little restaurant!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Booked this restaurant at the last minute for an Xmas get together with some old work mates. Had been in the summer using a Groupon voucher and couldn't praise the food, service enough. The second time around was not a disappointment. Everyone enthused at the quality of the food and service. A few were from Glasgow and said they would definitely use this on their next visit to Edinburgh. Sitting on York Place. Brilliantly situated for Edinburgh centre, bars, shopping, cinema and 2 minutes from the Stand Comedy Club. A gem of a restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonsoonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas Day Lunch”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We ate Christmas Day lunch at the Turquoise Thistle this year. We had the choice of a 2 or 3 course lunch with at least 3 choices available for each course, we decided on the 3 course which was an absolute bargain at £19.99 pp (and on Christmas Day too!). All 3 courses were of very good quality, very tasty and very well presented. The drinks menu was extensive and well priced, around £18 for a bottle of wine. The service that we received from arrival to departure was extremely professional. We would defiantly recommend and would return in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaznRoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely meal experience.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dined at the Turquoise Thistle prior to going to the playhouse theatre, which is only a 10 minute slow walk away.

The service was very professional yet still friendly. Good knowledge of what was on offer.

Wine menu seemed extensive and had a nice rosè for us.

The menu may seem slightly restrictive in terms of variety but they seem to have gone for the notion of specialising in few as opposed to jack of all trades. What we did get from the kitchen was exceptionally tasty and the combinations were interesting and complimented the meal nicely. If you have a steak, which we did not, then you have to order chips seperately and this makes things more expensive.

Prices are Edinburgh City centre but there is a 3 course for £19.99 if you pick certain items from the menu which between my wife and I we did and as such saved a little money.

Overall, portion sizes left me feeling a little less full than I'd prefer but we would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Choochoothomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal location for Playhouse”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Found this on 5pm and chose it for a pre-theatre meal because of its proximity to the Playhouse. The décor is bright, contemporary and comfortable. The choice on the set menu was limited but the food (when it came) was excellent, well presented and good value. A touch I particularly liked was the water flavoured with real raspberries. It was let down by slow and sloppy service. It took nearly half an hour before the first course arrived, then the chef "misread" the order and only 4 out of the 5 main courses had been prepared - not good when you're watching the clock. No-one appeared to be in charge. Despite all this, would probably give it another try because of its location and quality of food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turquoise Thistle also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Turquoise Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing