We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location; helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is located in the inner suburbs of Edinburgh and only a brisk 20 minute walk along a main road, to the Royal Mile. When we arrived we were greeted by a very and helpful young man at the reception desk who efficiently checked us in and provided with a host of useful tourist information.
The young man assisted us with our bags to our room at the top of the first flight of stairs, for which we were greatful. Our room overlooked the car park at the front of the hotel. The room was very small with room for only a small amount of furniture other than the queen-sized bed. The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever sen in a hotel room. It reminded me very much of an ensuite style bathroom attached to a railway sleeper comparment. As we were busy during our time in Edinburgh the size of the room didn't really matter as the bed was comfortable and it was just a place to sleep.
A simple but adequate buffet style breakfast was served in the small but pleasant dining room in the basement. The young ladies providing service were pleasant and efficient. On the second morning of our stay, we had a very early departure to catch a plane at the airport and the receptionist kindly organised a packed breakfast to go and left it outside our room for us to collect as we left. We very much appreciated this kind gesture.
As mentioned previously, there is a car park at the front of the hotel. The car park accomodates 10 cars, 8 of which are double parked. Apparently cars keys are kept at the reception desk so that cars can be moved if necessary. Unwillingly to take the risk, the night before our early departure we were fortunate to find a car park in the street. Thus we avoided being trapped in and be unable to get our car out especially at an early hour of the morning, when it may be difficult to locate a staff member.
To summarise then, a tiny room, great staff, a very handy location and problematic car parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigHugh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your great review of our establishment.

The Salisbury Hotel is made up of two former Georgian Townhouses located in the quiet residential suburb of Newington. Our rooms offer a bright and spacious environment in which our guests can relax. All of our bedrooms have been recently decorated and offer a selection of mod cons and comfy beds. An excellent Continental Breakfast Buffet is inclusive of all room rates, and Cooked Breakfast items are also available for a small additional charge.

Our knowledgeable and friendly Front of House staff are always on hand to help our guests with whatever they may require. No request is too big or too small and we are always available to offer recommendations of sights to see, activities to do and places to eat and drink.

The Hotel is located a mere 20-minute walk from the historic Royal Mile and the City Centre. For those guests that would prefer to use public transport, a bus stop is located 100 metres from the Hotel and is frequented by no less than ten speedy services to the City Centre.

The Hotel is happy to offer our guests a free limited parking facility (a rarity in Edinburgh); we have ten spaces for 18 rooms, available on a first come first served basis. Double parking may be required.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the capital on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

For me it is a surprise that this is a 4* hotel, it is nothing even near that. The hotel needs a real "total makeover". The bathroom smelled (humidity) there was water everywhere, nowhere to put your toiletries, the toilet roll holder was not attached properly to the wall, (toilet paper on the floor after each visit) nor was the "shelf" for the toothbrush (sloping down at 15 degrees) The glass in the bathroom was dirty upon arrival. The furniture is old and "ratty", the telephone in my room did not work, nor was it fixed within the time frame of my stay, which was 3 days. Breakfast was included, but the eggs and a lot of other things were charged extra for. Because I have lots of food intolerance, and could not eat the food they served in the mornings, I got an omelet included, which was very nice.
The room maid insisted on cleaning the room while we were still in there, because she was going home!
In the middle of my stay I had to change room, which I knew about before arrival, the second room was bigger, but no more charming. The shelf in the bathroom was the same as in my first room, and this one came down when I put the hotel soap on it! I don't believe this was the first time, as the holes were twice the size of the screws.
Also I could hear every conversation in the neighbors room.
Normally I get on well with everyone but here I found it difficult to connect with the staff at all.
In other words "not recommended".

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quinnies1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your review.

While we are extremely sorry to learn that your experience at the Hotel was not up to your expectations we would like to respond and set the record straight for anyone reading this rather unfair and biased review.

1: The Salisbury Hotel is awarded its 4-Star Townhouse Hotel status by Visit Scotland and the Scottish Tourist Board. It is annually inspected by said organizations to ensure that the high standards and services advertised - which must be adhered to in order to achieve this status - are met and available.

2: All bar one of the guest’s complaints were left unreported to our extremely helpful and approachable Front of House team. Unfortunately the guest’s phone was out of order on the last day of their stay and for that we apologized and allowed her to take a phone call from reception. It did not affect the guest for three days as she claims.

3: As stated on all websites on which our rooms are sold, a Continental Breakfast Buffet is inclusive of all of our rates. Cooked Breakfast items are available at a small additional cost. We would advise any guest travelling to any Hotel to inform them in advance of any special dietary requirements they may have. These intolerances would have been taken in to consideration and alternative breakfast items made available if we had been informed.

4: The guest did have to change room in the middle of their stay due to the Hotel being very busy. However she was upgraded and notified well in advance of the situation prior to her arrival. If this was not to her liking she did have plenty of time to inform us or cancel her reservation.

5: The Hotel can not be held responsible for neighboring guests talking loudly. The building is Georgian and therefore has thick stone walls. Soundproofing is not an issue that has been raised before.

6: With regards to our Front of House staff they are very often described in reviews as extremely helpful, approachable and polite. There was really very little our staff could do about this guest’s attitude problem, regardless of how polite or helpful we were towards her.

Hotels will on occasion receive very unfair poor reviews but as can be clearly seen on our Trip Advisor stats, over 85% of our reviews are rated as Very Good and above; something we are very proud of.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh regardless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My daughter and I visited this hotel, not to stay because we live in Edinburgh, but to sample the restaurant/cafe. The food was of an excellent standard, and the waitress could not have been more polite and helpful. Outside it also had an adventure playground which would have kept my granddaughter amused for some time. Parking was available at the front too. A fabulous find which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jenny1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

Café Cassis is an independently run bistro located within the Salisbury Hotel. It is an excellent venue offering dishes with a Gallic twist made from fresh, locally sourced produce. An excellent venue for families the bistro boasts a kid’s play area in the garden with swings and slides to keep them entertained while the adults relax. Should you wish to read more reviews for Café Cassis, please take a look at their own Trip Advisor listing.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Beautiful hotel inside and out, very modern decor with Georgian character and features. The food was beautiful, much so we booked to eat in their restaurant too! Excellent customer service from all staff, they are very helpful and take good care of you! Free, secure parking available right outside the hotel. The hotel was a nice 10 minute walk to the centre, with shops, eateries and tourism information close by. We would definitely return and recommend to anyone...

Room Tip: Any, they're all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review of the Salisbury Hotel.

The Salisbury prides itself on offering our guests excellent customer service. Our Front of House team are always on hand to ensure our guests are assisted with whatever they require. From restaurant recommendations to tour bookings to taxi services, our Reception team are always happy to help.

The Hotel is located a mere 20-minute stroll from the City Centre and the historic Royal Mile; an area filled with sights, attractions and shopping venues. For those guests arriving at the Hotel by car, we do offer a secure, free, limited parking facility available on a first come first served basis.

Thank you very much for your superb review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The staff at the Salisbury are all very welcoming and helpful, and they ensure that your stay starts out well. I stayed in a single room - which was spacious enough for me. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom nicely redecorated (though too bad that the shower floor slants slightly away from the drain) and everything spotlessly clean. Moreover the breakfast was good as well. All in all a place I truly can recommend bothfor business and pleasure (though the royal mile is a fifteen minute walk away)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your excellent review of the Salisbury Hotel.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and have commented very favorably on our Staff and Services.

All of our rooms offer our guests a comfortable bed for a great night’s sleep and an en suite shower room in which to freshen up. Our Housekeeping staff ensure that all of our rooms are clean and tidy for when our guests check in and remain so for the duration of their stay. An excellent Continental Breakfast Buffet is inclusive of all our rates.

The Hotel is located a mere 20-minute walk from the City Centre, but for those guests that would prefer to use public transport, the bus stop next to the Hotel is frequented by no less than ten speedy services to the City Centre.

Thank you once again for your great review and we hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights on our trip to Scotland. It appeared to be a duplex that was converted into a hotel. We stayed in the room Pleasance, which is right on the main floor. The room was large and spacious and nicely decorated, high ceilings and large shuttered windows, comfortable bed (despite being 2 twins put together), good water pressure in shower. It has a partial view of garden but the garden didnt have much to see (looked like a typical back yard to me). The front desk (Adam) was very helpful with ideas and directions. Breakfast was continential, and was good for what it was (cold meat, cheeze, cereal, fruit, yogart, toast, etc.). The only negative was the hotel is about a 10 minute bus ride to the city, so it is outside of all the action, and a bit to far to walk (unless you want to walk 30 minutes each way plus walk to all the sites - a bit much after a long day). Bus service is good though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your great review of our establishment.

The Salisbury Hotel is made up of two former Georgian Townhouses located in the quiet residential suburb of Newington. Our rooms offer a bright and spacious environment in which our guests can relax. All of our bedrooms have been recently decorated and offer a selection of mod cons and comfy beds. An excellent Continental Breakfast Buffet is inclusive of all room rates, and Cooked Breakfast items are also available for a small additional charge.

Our knowledgeable and friendly Front of House staff are always on hand to help our guests with whatever they may require. No request is too big or too small and we are always available to offer recommendations of sights to see, activities to do and places to eat and drink.

The Hotel is located a mere 20-minute walk from the historic Royal Mile and the City Centre. For those guests that would prefer to use public transport, a bus stop is located 100 metres from the Hotel and is frequented by no less than ten speedy services to the City Centre.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the capital on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Lovly hotel... We had a excellent one night stay mid August for the Edinburgh tattoo left really late booking so wasn't sure what to expect. Few parking spaces available at hotel... non vacant when we arrived but a staff member offere to move his own car for us to have his space. Hotel is typical old style town house but i would say quite recently decorated (last 5 years maybe) room with en suite was very homely, comfortable, and most importantly clean. If I was to be at all picky our double bed was a two singles stuck together but this happens a lot in hotels and we were not offered a cooked breakfast just continental, but I am sure it would have not been a problem had we asked for it. Staff all very friendly and will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your excellent review of the Salisbury Hotel.

We are happy to be able to offer our guests a free limited parking service – a rarity in Edinburgh. We offer ten spaces for 18 rooms, available on a first come first served basis. Double Parking may be required but reception can move cars for guests if necessary.

All of our bedrooms have been recently decorated and offer a clean and comfortable environment in which to relax. Our King-Size beds are topped with an extra Silent Night memory foam topper to further increase their comfort and afford our guests an excellent night’s sleep.

All of our room rates are inclusive of an excellent Continental Breakfast Buffet. Cooked Breakfast items are available on the menu for a small additional charge.

Thank you once again for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#121 of 151 in Edinburgh
374 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing