We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't use the online booking system”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I cannot say anything at all about this hotel only its online booking system. Basically don't use it! I booked a room yesterday (Saturday 12 October 2013) using the online system. When I opened my e-mails today I found one from the hotel saying they were sorry I had cancelled my reservation. I sent an e-mail saying I had not cancelled and then telephoned the hotel, getting an answer on my second attempt. I was told that there had been only one room available and it had been snapped up just before I booked online and before the system had had time to update. They had tried to telephone me but I do not reply to "Withheld" numbers. As a result I am left without a room and with a bitter taste in my mouth

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
6  Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the fact that the last room we had available for your required dates was sold a mere two minutes before you placed your booking. Unfortunately as the reservations were made at almost exactly the same time our channel management system did not have sufficient notice to update availability. This type of error is a rarity and our online reservation system is an efficient and easy to use system for guests wishing to reserve a room via the internet.

However, we would like to add that the Hotel reception team phoned you within five minutes of your reservation being placed to apologise and inform you of the situation. We can not be held responsible for you finding out 24-hours later by e-mail because of your unwillingness to answer your own telephone. In future we would recommend taking your calls as it might be important.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
There are newer reviews for The Salisbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is on a quiet residential street but not convenient to Old Town and major tourist sites. Unless you like walking over a mile to reach center of town and the trip back at night is uphill might consider a different hotel. We ended up taking taxis which were 7£...not alot but factor into cost. Room was fine with updated bath. Breakfast was continental buffet; eggs and warm items available for additional charge. The in-hotel cafe restaurant was nice and very convenient for late day food or drinks. Wifi was supposedly available but did not reach to our room on lower level. Front desk staff was helpful and if need taxi to airport will arrange driver for set price that is lower than typical taxi rate. On a short trip I would suggest hotel near city center

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jray2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Me & my partner visit several hotels on a monthly basis in various parts of Scotland. We decided to go to Edinburgh, enjoy a nice meal, few drinks & most of all stay in a stunning, clean, comfortable & friendly hotel. Hotels are a big luxury to us and like to spend a little more than average on it. We found our perfect getaway hotel.... The Salisbury Hotel.

This hotel is stunning from minute you arrive at the door. Grand appearances and the stylish decor makes this a home to home experience.
once me & my partner had checked in we where escorted to our room by the friendly & chatty Front of House staff member.

The room in one word was 'GORGEOUS' to say the least. It was huge, clean, had everything imaginable to have within a hotel (iPod docking station & minifridge) these rooms could simply not have any more home comforts added to make the Salisbury Hotel better.

Parking is great also. It's free. Especially within Edinburgh this is a luxury itself. Regardless of whether it's double parking or not. This should not put anyone off as the staff cater for you by moving your car and notifying immediately.

Mr & Mrs Woods should be proud of this Hotel and Staff as it is a Hotel which caters and thinks of guests and only the guests matter. Unlike other hotels were they just want your money. Would recommend anyone to stay here and will be certainly returning very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanMcCrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just back from a short stay at The Salisbury Hotel. Good location with buses into the city centre just a short walk. The room we were allocated was a good size with comfortable bed and had been nicely decorated. However a new toilet roll holder in the bathroom would not go amiss. Also the waste bin in the bathroom needed a good clean and some paint work touched up. To be fair we did not mention those points at reception as we did not spend much time in the room. Only minor issues but disappointing for a 4 star. Breakfast was acceptable. Would stay again mainly due to the free parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janisScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Its cozy and feels at home ,rooms are quite close to each other a little noise there is knock on the door and that too only talks within 3 people i had that expeirnce, location is good the street is full of restaurants , well who want to have a loud conversation and be with friends then this not for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Friendly staff. We had some issues regarding room fittings and noise, the Front Office Manager, Adam, was very quick and efficient in rectifying the issues.

The reason we have given The Sailisbury Hotel, Edinburgh an average rating is because the interior of the hotel and the rooms could do with a bit of regular maintenance. Paint is peeling from the very ornate ceiling on one side of the interior. Water marks and cracks are evident on the ceiling of the other side. The fittings in the rooms could do with adjustment, especially toilet seats and toilet roll holders. The sash window in our room could not be opened because it was stuck due to excess paint.

Although we understand these are very old buildings, the interior could be decorated with sensitivity to the period. Cracks, peeling paint, chipped paint, stuck windows, water marks and loose fittings are indications of lack of maintenance. These do not add to the value of the property nor to the general ambience of the hotel.

Room Tip: Keep writing accurate reviews, the owners will eventually understand that "cheap is expensive...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKR38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at The Salisbury Hotel whilst attending a conference at the McIntyre Centre, and it was very convenient, a few minutes from the centre of Edinburgh and very close to the university. Small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are comfortable. Good wifi access. Good gym and the Commonwealth pool are just over the road. The restaurant is French bistro style and excellent. Fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your great review of the Salisbury Hotel.

The Hotel is in an excellent location for guests looking for quick and easy access to the City Centre, Edinburgh University, the Pollock Halls or the John McIntyre Conference Centre. Located in the quiet residential suburb of Newington, the Hotel offers a peaceful and quiet retreat in which to relax. At the end of the road is the Commonwealth Swimming pool, offering those guests who like to workout great facilities to do so.

The Salisbury is proud to house Café Cassis; an independently run French-style bistro. Serving an excellent menu created from locally sourced produce, the bistro’s knowledgeable and friendly staff will ensure you have a dining experience to remember.

Thank you once again for your review and recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#118 of 150 in Edinburgh
357 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
558 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Masson House
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
441 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £75 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing