We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable & friendly stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable & friendly stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Perfect for the purpose of our weekend break, to visit our student son (8 mins walk away). Hotel very clean, rooms spacious with modernised ensuite & warm - tea, coffee & milk (and evening marshmallows) provided. Kevan & his staff are very friendly & helpful. Location is about 25 mins walk to Princess Street, 5 minutes walk to both Pollock Halls (main student accommadation) & one of the entrances' to Holyrood Park (lovely walk!). Local buses to Princess Street are very frequent (to save your legs!!), and cheap - best value is to buy a £3.50 all day ticket.
We would recommend the Reverie Bar/Restaurant and Positano Italian restaurant if you like informal wining & dining - these two establishments are within 2/3 minutes walk from the Salisbury Hotel.
If our son remains staying in the old town, we will definitely stay in this hotel again....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your excellent review about your stay at our hotel. The positive feedback is much appreciated. Lets hope your son remains in the Old Town, so we can welcome you back to The Salisbury!

Kind regards
Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    304
    64
    28
    20
See reviews for
153
412
53
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, and would happily stay again. The staff are helpful and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. One niggle - we had to ask for a new loo roll! But not a major issue. We asked if a relative who lives close by could visit for breakfast and she was welcomed just as warmly as we were. There is plenty to do within walking distance. Lots of quirky bars food places and clothes shops and Arthur's seat to walk up - take your trainers! And cameras the view is amazing

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank golf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about your return stay to our hotel. We have now made sure that all housekeepers know to make sure that there is plenty of supplies in each room to make the guests stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Quite simply a beautiful hotel, we stayed for a weekend break and had the best time, nothing was to much trouble for Kevin and his team, the Polish girl on reception was very helpful and knowledgable of the city and surrounding areas, breakfast was very good and the pastries were still warm and simply delicious! when we return to Edinburgh we will certainly be checking back in at The Salisbury Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was very quiet and peaceful, no noise from reception or from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreaker1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for your excellent review of our hotel.

Kevan Potter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is in a good location, close enough to walk into the centre of Edinburgh in 25 minutes, or else hop on a bus, which runs very frequently. Being a little away from the old town, it is cheaper than similar city-centre hotels, but has everything you need for a pleasant stay. It is located in a very popular area (Marchmont/Newington) that has many excellent restaurants and take-aways nearby, as well as the Meadows, Salisbury Crags and Arthur's seat if you fancy a walk. The staff were especially friendly and helpful, wifi is free and seemed very fast and stable, and the free car-park is particularly useful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Nantwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Good evening

thank you very much for your kind words and excellent review of our hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Edinburgh!

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at this hotel. The staff could not have been nicer and anymore helpful. The rooms were of a great standard and spotlessly clean and with lovely decor. With only a short bus ride to the city centre. its a great location in a lovely area. We will surely be back in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Good afternoon Mr White

thank you very much for your positive feedback and excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Salisbury in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just come back from a (rugby) weekend in Edinburgh where we had a superb stay at The Salisbury Hotel.

From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen absolutely the right place to stay - who needs a large, impersonal hotel when The Salisbury (which has 18 bedrooms) provides everything one could want from guest accommodation. Kevin, the manager i believe, made sure we had everything we wanted and we were truly treated as guests rather than just another occupant of a room. The Salisbury is a lot closer to central Edinburgh than one might think and, in any event, there's easy access to public transport on Newington Road.

There were so many thoughtful touches in the room which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. You could tell that a lot of thought and experience had gone in to its design and fitting. Our room (a superior double at the back) was very quiet and peaceful and another Guest who we spoke with at Breakfast had said they stayed in one of the front rooms and confirmed that it too was very quiet.

The continental breakfast was also very good, fresh fruit all prepared every morning and freshly cooked, and still warm pastries! i believe there is also a cooked breakfast on offer at a very reasonable £3.50.

The bottom line is that when we return to Edinburgh then our first choice of accommodation will always be The Salisbury. Thank you to Kevin and his team for a lovely stay and a friendly face each morning!

Room Tip: All rooms from what we can gather are beautiful and individually decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guidedfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, positive feedback and most excellent review of The Salisbury Hotel, When you return we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Salisbury is a pleasant, relaxed hotel. Housed in a handsome period building it has been stylishly appointed. Located in a quiet road, yet within easy walk of all Edinburgh's attractions, the hotel was the ideal base for our city break. Even the (slightly awkward) parking is a bonus.
The staff were excellent. Florence was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and efficient (as was Kinga online beforehand).
The breakfast was superb. Everything was fresh, tasty and well presented . . . and the croissants were exquisite!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for the excellent review of our hotel. we are glad you had a great time, we look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Property: The Salisbury Hotel
Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing