We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #87 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

25 minute walk into all the places to see in Edinburgh. Compact rooms and have to pay extra for a cooked breakfast but that aside a good value for money option to some of the very expensive city centre hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Good Morning and thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We do have a small charge of £3.50 for a cooked breakfast, this is far cheaper than any of the city centre hotels offer, the reason we do this is so we can keep our prices for accommodation lower than those of our competitors, A full and substantial continental breakfast is included in all of our prices.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    311
    66
    30
    22
See reviews for
160
425
57
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st albans uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Salisbury Hotel. We were traveling with 3 young children and the room was a great size. there was a large sofa bed which converts to a queen so all the kids slept in there together and there was still plenty of room for the to play. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The bed was slightly uncomfortable but by the second night I was fine. The room did get very hot and we had to turn the heating off in the room and leave a window open through the day to get air into the room. Overall we had a great stay and would defiantly visit again. The restaurant downstairs was a bit pricey but the food was lovely and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simba06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review of The Salisbury, I am glad to hear the kids and yourselves really enjoyed your break in Edinburgh. It makes good reading to see that the children loved it and want to return, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Kevan Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, The taxi from Edinburgh airport cost £21 and took 20 mins to get there at 1.30 a.m. The room was not big,we had trouble keeping both big suitcases open and move around easily.It was warm,and comfortable.The breakfast was good with hot porridge available at no extra charge.The tv had plenty of channels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your overall positive review of The Salisbury, in terms of the comments in regards to room size, all of our bedrooms are accurately described on all our booking partners websites and it does state that the standard double which you booked is small and compact, had this been mentioned to us we would happily have offered an upgrade to a superior room which does have more floor space. We do hope we can welcome you back to The Salisbury in the future and trust you had a safe trip back to Cyprus.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed at Salisbury in March and we stayed in ground floor room with huge windows overlooking a lovely garden. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was great. Owner was lovely and showed us the massive family room - would definitely stay there next time, worth paying a bit extra for! Stayed at hotel as was going into hospital, loved the character of the old building and owner is working hard to preserve this! My partner & I often visit Edinburgh and will be making a booking here, just a short taxi ride to city. Highly recommend French restaurant below hotel, excellent quality and good lunch & pre-theatre menu.

Room Tip: Book a Family Room if u can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. we invest heavily in the maintenance and upkeep of the building in order for it to look as good as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Salisbury in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay.. Kevin and all the staff at the Salisbury Hotel are so friendly and helpful. Perfect location for exploring Edinburgh, we were recommended to eat in some lovely places who will also be getting a review on Trip Advisor. We will definitely stay in this hotel again !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolAndy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Good Morning and thank you for your very positive feedback of our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Salisbury in the future.

Kind regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here on a business trip to Edinburgh, having chosen the hotel on the basis of its proximity to where I would be working. Whilst perfectly comfortable, the rooms are a little tatty around the edges (chipped plasterwork, precariously-attached lampshades and a wardrobe hanging rail which collapsed on a regular basis) and my double would have been rather snug for two. However, staff were friendly and the breakfast was perfectly acceptable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John-frae-Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review The Salisbury Hotel. I am sorry to read that you had a number of issues with our accommodation. I wish you had taken the time to bring all these issues to the attention of the front of house team or myself. Had this been done we could have sorted out all of the issues that you have mentioned. We at The Salisbury pride ourself on the high standards of the decor in our rooms, which has mostly received very positive feedback from guests.

The premises consists of two Georgian properties and things do go wrong at times. We always invest heavily in our maintenance programme to keep the building in good condition.

Just this week past I have had our contractor in to quote for redecoration of a few of our rooms, as when something like this is brought to my attention I act upon it as quickly as possible.

I hope you had a productive visit to Edinburgh and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Fremantle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were so comfortable in our room we didn't want to leave. Kevin and the team offered excellent customer service and our room was clean with plenty of special touches. I would highly recommend The Salisbury Hotel to anyone :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreoGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that my team has given you such a good impression of the hotel. I am very proud of them for this. We strive to ensure that all guests receive the highest possible standard of customer service possible during their visits.

We hope you had a safe journey back to Australia and hopefully we will see you back in Edinburgh again.

Regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Salisbury Green Hotel
#119 of 149 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 149 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Masson House
#117 of 149 in Edinburgh
423 reviews
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#93 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Property: The Salisbury Hotel
Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing