We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a very good restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #83 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice hotel with a very good restaurant.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice atmosphere. Although small, a car park at the doorstep was very handy. Room looked a bit untidy due to wallpaper loose on ceiling. The WiFi, which was free of charge was troublesome. Only in hallway a good signal but not in our room. Best part was the restaurant. Very high standard and very friendly staff. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street will be quieter and have a view towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    311
    66
    30
    22
See reviews for
160
426
57
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I came across the Salisbury while looking for a hotel with (free!!) parking facilities that was close to the city centre. It's a very nice listed building set in a quiet street. The Royal Mile is a 25 minute walk away, and there are plenty of bus lines to and from North Bridge.
The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was very spacious, as was the ensuite bathroom, with a very comfortable large bed. We did not have a view from the room as it was in the basement, on the street side of the house, but that was not a problem once the curtains were in place. Everything was very clean and tidy.
Very good choice in the breakfast buffet, with cold meats, included in the room rate.hot options were available as extras.
Due to the building being listed there are no lifts, but staff may help with luggage.
I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francesc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invergarry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, good big room with excellent view out onto the garden and a private garden chalet for having coffee etc. couldn't have asked for more, clean, tidy and the attached restaurant was of the same high standard also with extremely helpful and friendly staff, excellent location for travel into the centre, on arrival the duty manager couldn't have been more helpful and answered any questions we had.
I would definitely book this hotel the next time I am in Edinburgh, I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: We had a upper floor room with and good view onto the garden which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here with my parents and inlaws for 2 nights over the weekend. The hotel was great. Staff were friendly and helpful - one of the best services I have received while travelling. The building is heritage listed which means there are restrictions on what they can do (no knocking down internal walls! This makes for a very unique hotel and they have done a great job with it. There are 2 separate stairwells because of this and no lift of course but staff are willing to help with bags if you need it.

The weekend we were there there was also a buck show staying there. The staff apologised profusely as they do not let hens / bucks shows stay there but the group booked individually so they did not know. He had them right next door to us but due to being an old solidly built building we didnt hear them at all - I think they were on their best behaviour for fear of getting kicked out!!

The only downsides I can think of is its a little far from the centre of town. We had to get a cab which is about 10 pounds - fine for 4 people but maybe not cost efficient for less? We also had relatives picking us up so it was an ideal location for us with parking out the front that was always available. the bathrooms are quite small (again due to heritage restrictions in not being able to knock down walls) but it has everything you need and is the perfect place for a 2-4 night trip to the city.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building - we had lovely views out from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmaAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel hidden away on a side street about a 20-25 min walk from the Royal Mile. It's perfect for travellers who want a good nights sleep and don't mind walking or taking the bus to local attractions.
The room itself was quite big for a single and very clean. I LOVED the Tunnocks tea cake left with the complimentary tea and coffee. It would be nice if these were re-filled daily as I used most of the tea on my first day but that is just a little suggestion as everything else was perfect.
The breakfast was very generous and I had the most delicious porridge. I didn't try the restaurant but the menu looks good. There are lots of tasty looking restaurants and cafés nearby so you won't go hungry.
This was a good deal for me and I would recommend the hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

On a weekend away for my partners birthday, Edinburgh as we've never been seemed nice enough. We booked for the zoo as well so were looking for a nice hotel for a few nights.
We weren't disappointed! Even though our sat nav had trouble finding it, we checked in and were shown to a cute basement room which I loved!
I liked how the rooms were not numbered and all had their own name, it added to the charm of the place I think. We had a spacious room with a very nice modern bathroom - although I did burn my arm on the heated towel rack! Woops! They do get very hot! (My own fault really, I clearly didn't read the warning signs!)
We asked at reception for recommendations as to where to eat and were pointed in the direction of too many choices! But were happy with where we did decide to eat anyway.
We brought a bottle of wine back in the evening that wasn't chilled, so asked for some ice and a wine cooler, the woman on reception offered to put the bottle in the freezer first and offered to bring it to our room with glasses, ice and a wine cooler as well! This was a nice touch as some hotels we've stayed in haven't supplied us with any of this!
The continental breakfast was surprising! There was a lot of choice and we both left full!
In all, a very nice stay, perfect customer service and worthy of its 4 stars! We can't wait to come back again this year!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Boi de Llobregat, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stay 3days and everything was perfect, staff friendly, they help us in everything. Location was very good.
Our room was quiet, bathroom with shower, it has everything we needed.
If we come back we would repeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 149 in Edinburgh
543 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#119 of 149 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Masson House
#117 of 149 in Edinburgh
423 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Property: The Salisbury Hotel
Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing