We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, Walking Distance to Everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allgirlz Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allgirlz Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
skitz1015
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy, Walking Distance to Everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I really liked that this hostel was all female. It felt safe and cozy. People gathered in the common area to watch TV, eat and talk. The hostel is at the bottom of a two-block-long hill from the main city center streets but as long as you don't mind walking, it's a good place to stay. Free basic breakfast and free wifi (although I did not get good wifi signal in the back bedroom where I stayed). The owner and staff members were super nice and helpful. I liked the feel of this hostel. It was more like a home than an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank skitz1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    21
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I am not a fan of hostels, too many people, no privacy, noise, etc etc. However, they serve their purpose for when one is skint!

I was pleasantly surprised with this hostel. No shouting idiots and the common room wasn't too noisy ever. Was pleased. The hostel is small and the host lovely. I chose the place on the basis it wasn't a party place (specified on their website) and I am pleased to report this was the case.

Decent wi-fi in the common room and the beds were comfortable enough. I heard they don't change the sheets after each guest (ho hum!!) however I found no bodily fluids or hair on my mattress :D

Would highly recommend for anyone who is skint but still wants a bit of peace and quiet. Would return again.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8 person dorm if you can afford to go in one of the 6 person or 2 person dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve3333, Owner at Allgirlz Hostel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for staying and for your positive review, we're glad you enjoyed our hostel. We are trying to do something a little different here in Edinburgh and it's great when people take some time to search for a place that meets their needs and it's a perfect match! Just to clarify, we DO change the sheets after each guest leaves - we only have 18 beds - of course we do! It is a little frustrating for us that something somebody posted online that was incorrect suddenly becomes gospel. Also, regarding your room tips we only have an 8, a 6 and a 4 bed dorm, no 2 person rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

great idea to have a female only hostel. there was no awkwardness of sharing bathrooms or dorms with guys. the hostel is small and cozy. location is 2 minutes from the main bus station. i loved the atmosphere and rachael was an amazing manager. she puts up with alot of inexperienced backpackpackers really well. alot of the girls who stay here have never stayed in a hostel before and rachael was really great at helping them out. top marks!! i wouldnt stay anywhere else in edinburgh now. its best to book well in advance as this hostel sells out about 2 weeks in advance.

Room Tip: i stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was really quite spacious for a hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great hostel in a nice quiet area in New Town. Rachel the host was amazing and beds were comfy. Great prices too! Breakfast included freshly baked bread! Definitely recommend for all females staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerys1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was in Edinburgh for working and @ Allgirls Hostel i felt at home. I relaxed and worked very hard all night long in the shared kitchen, where you can spend your free time drinking free tea and coffe (...and i need them!!), reading books and playing games. Wifi is free and it functions very good in the kitchen but less in the other rooms.
Everything is always clean, the kictchen and the two bathrooms too.
The athmosphere is very friendly, comfortable and relaxing.
Ooooh, free slippers at the entrance... so cute!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ciuffetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

AllGirlz is a very different experience. Because it's is set in a lower-level flat, it feels like you're staying in someone's home. The owner Rachel is very accommodating, and the hostel has a very casual, informal atmosphere. I was only there for a night, but I really enjoyed my stay. There's free breakfast in the mornings with fresh homemade bread and cereals. Rachel uses the kitchen herself so you know it's always clean and outfitted with whatever cooking equipment you'd need. The showers are hot, the bed was made and clean, and the area is residential so it's extremely quiet, even though it's only a short walk to the Royal Mile and literally 3 minutes from the main bus station in Edinburgh.
One note: There is a 4-foot-tall Tintin statue by the front door. I was only in the hostel for one night, but that thing must have scared me half a dozen times because it made me think someone was lurking behind me whenever I was entering and leaving the building. (Even so, great hostel.)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Allgirlz is really homey and a Fun place for girls hang out after a day exploring. It'clean, nice and warm Andover morning breakfast includes fresh baked bread.
I didn't like that there was no laundry facilities and hadt To pay Rachel £4 to do a load of laundry, which were returned wrinkled in a bag. But I would stills Iþ's an excellent hostel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaraBinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Argyle Backpackers
#41 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allgirlz Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allgirlz Hostel

Property: Allgirlz Hostel
Address: 30A Dublin Street, Edinburgh EH3 6NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel JUST FOR GIRLS. Free breakfast: cereals, fruit, home-baked bread; free tea & coffee all day; free security lockers for your valuables; free WIFI too. Make our wee hostel home for your Edinburgh visit and you'll feel more like you're staying with friends. Our hostel is unique and full of character as we've decorated it with artefacts from all over the world from our own extensive travels. Relax, chill out and enjoy travel conversations with fellow travellers and our super-friendly staff. Enjoy a great sleep in a quiet room - you won't find the word 'noisy' in any of our reviews. Enjoy a night in with the girls, watching movies from our extensive movie collection, or give us a tune on the guitar. Our hostel is small and friendly and perfect for meeting new friends. Brand new modern bathrooms with free girly shampoos etc, lots of mirrors, feel free to borrow our hairdriers/straighteners. A real home from home hostel, without the inconvenience of shared dorms and bathrooms. Please note that our reception hours are 8am-10am and 2pm to 8pm (after which you will receive a key to come & go as you like). Please don't try to book if you intend to arrive after 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Allgirlz Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allgirlz Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing