We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Considering its a Weatherspoons!”
Review of The White Lady

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Lady
Ranked #48 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Considering its a Weatherspoons!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were in Edinburgh and hadn't booked anything in advance. This was close to the zoo, so we took a chance, considering it is a Weatherspoons hotel and above a weatherspoons pub. The room was great - very quiet and everything you needed was there. Surprisingly good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elephant_Biscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    213
    43
    17
    10
See reviews for
165
291
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We visit Edinburgh a couple of times a year for a couple of nights away and we always stay at the same Hotel but this time round we couldn't get booked there so we were forced to look elsewhere. We usually like a boutique style of hotel but most essentially we want free parking which this provided. We booked up but i was apprehensive before going that the pub downstairs would be noisy and annoying but turned out to be really good. Our room was very adequate with boutique style decoration, we didn't have a view unfortunately but that didn't matter to us. We had breakfast as part of our deal and we had £6 each to spend in the restaurant downstairs, that is quite difficult to do if you are not a big eater, so thumbs up for that. My only criticism is that there could maybe be a bit more of a lighter selection for breakfast like, cereal, toast and beans or pastries. Well worth a try and only 10 mins away from the city centre on the bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a long weekend after booking last minute through LateRooms.com. We found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and really handy as it has both parking and is on a bus route into Edinburgh.
Breakfast was not included but as the hotel is also a Wetherspoons there was no problem there.
Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieMonster87uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I selected this hotel as I needed a room quickly and not to far for the airport

To enter this hotel requires the climbing of a number of steps, the rooms are on the first & second floor with no lift. This I would suggest rules out the hotel for a large number of potential guests.

I could not find any public areas only the attached Weatherspoons pub so could not relax anywhere. The carpet in the main area was very dirty and not a good sign of things to come

My room was a mix of styles with a main light from the 60s with 90s flat-pac furniture mixed with "Gothic horror" with gilded mirrors and lamps. There were no homely touches and this was reflected by the minimalist approach by the staff, for example one of the bulbs in the bedside lights had blown, I left the offending article on the side, this was neither removed or replaced. cleaning materials were also left in the bathroom

The bed was worn in that I could only sleep in the middle.

The hotel being on the main road to Edinburgh the traffic was constant with no rest bite.

The biggest complaint that I had was in the comment form the receptionist in that he almost laughed when he told me breakfast was not included as I had booked via an agent! £89.00 just for a bed

Room Tip: Ensure you are in a room at the back if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cirusview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here whilst in Edinburgh on business. Room was front facing, large, bed was huge, but room was dark because of the boutique style decor. Blue and purple walls and black flowered wall paper dulled the room, but felt the need to have the light on during the day.

No lift, so taking cases up and down stairs is a bind, but convenient for Weatherspoon pub downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSEASANDANDXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were going to the Edinburgh Fringe and were looking for a hotel nearby on an easy bus route into the centre, so this was ideally situated. We chose this over other hotels because they have parking. However, when we arrived, we found that the hotel is located in a shopping area. The car park is tiny and is used by hotel guests, diners using their restaurant and shoppers. We asked the receptionist for advice, but she spoke only broken English and told us to drive up and down the road and we should eventually find somewhere on the side of the road. Not acceptable! The room was nice. Looked like it needed a bit of a Spring clean, the walls were covered in marks, but the bed and bathroom were clean, which were the important things. The breakfast in their restaurant was awful. The food was cold, hard, overcooked, greasy, truly inedible. We ended up getting something on the way home from a motorway service station which wasn't cheap. We won't be using them again I'm afraid. One night was enough! They also upped the price for August because of people visiting The Edinburgh Fringe making it very overpriced for the time we stayed.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have stayed here a couple of nights a week over the last few months.
Good sized rooms with comfortable beds. Not far from the airport or the city centre & great value for money. The wetherspoons pub is downstairs & offers good value eating & drinks.

Room Tip: try to stay to the rear of the hotel, as the A8 creates some noise through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lady

Property: The White Lady
Address: 92-98 St. Johns Road | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lady 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Lady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lady Hotel Edinburgh
The White Lady Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing