We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommended -- Comfortable, Excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candlemaker Row

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
sitting room
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
The Building
Living Room
Candlemaker Row and Edinburgh Castle
Bedroom
Greyfriars kirkyard
Living Room
Greyfriars Kirkyard
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Stairs
Stairs
Entrance
The Building
Street
The Building
The Building
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TMac29494
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended -- Comfortable, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 22 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife & I spent 10 days at the flat, and it met every expectation. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped, and it is handy to have a washer/dryer available for a longer stay. Good pubs & restaurants are short walks away, and we liked having the University nearby, as well. Sometimes the student revelers are a bit noisy -- but that's middle age talking. All of the rooms are off of the entry foyer: the bedroom is to the left (front of the flat), the bathroom is to the right, and the foyer opens into the living room / kitchen area. Plenty of room and closet space for 2; the pullout sofa bed is comfortable enough -- we used that on our first night, so that we could watch some TV. Tip: the Edinburgh Library is not far away, if you want to use a PC to print boarding passes, or buy tickets to attractions online (20p per print job, membership and computer time is free). The Watts are nice people & I now know from experience why they have so many repeat guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and location
Liked least: Cannot fault anything really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJ711
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Self-catering Apartment”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely one bedroom apartment located in the old part of Edinburgh. It is within easy walking distance of the castle, the Royal Mile, the university, Greyfriars' Kirk (which it abuts), the National Museum of Scotland (a great place to learn about Scottish history) and and many other "must see" sites. It is within easy walking distance of a new Sainsbury's Market and a great bakery and coffee shop called Neal's Yard, so obtaining provisions is easy.

The building was constructed in the 1700. The unit itself is modern and very well equipped with new appliances and a wide range of glasses, cups, dishes and cooking equipment. It is very well maintained and absolutely charming. The Watts are great hosts and have gone to great lengths to make their visitors' stays enjoyable. They have a guest book with very good observations and recommendations as well as an extensive library. The rooms were good sized and fairly well lit. We have recommended this apartment to our friends and know that most who stay here will very much enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great location and the care and attention that has gone into the upkeep of the partment.
Liked least: The rugs could have used a more thorough vacuuming.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P. Québec, CANADA
Reviewed 16 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
François...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Candlemaker Row and hope you come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing