We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Friendly staff, with nothing too much trouble. Ensured thst we were able to access much needed laundry facilities, and ensured that car parking was close and of extended duration. Apartment eas HUGE and clean, with comfortable beds and great facilities. Recommended to others!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Water_lovers_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Apartment was well equipped, although the rooms were very narrow.
The situation was good, a fair walk into town (you gave to be quite fit) with a short cut from the Haymarket (lots of Bars & Cafe's and a district "hum" about it.)up 3 flights of steps to emerge almost at the Castle Gates. Locally, at the Quay, we had an excellent meal at Zizzi, about 3 mins away.
We parked underground (10.00 GBP per night but worth it) - an asset.
The Reception Staff were excellent and very helpful.

We had a problem with the Sat Nav in the vicinity - both arriving and leaving and I wondered if it had something to do with the Castle Rock.

Room Tip: Request NOT near Reception at the front. Taxis come and go and Smokers gather outside. Were it not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a couple of nights at the end of June'14.
I thought the room was really good and finished to a high standard. Great value for money and a fairly central location (10-15min walk into Princess St).

However.... Navigating to our apartment block was testing- especially with the block number missing on the front door!! It's a bit of a maze with several blocks in the area. I think it would be prudent for reception staff to issue a map of the layout on check in. Parking was expensive particularly being charged for a full day when checking in at 1830hrs!! Needless to say the use of the reception PC and printing was a further unessesary cost. (Literally needed 2mins to print 2x boarding passes)

Reception staff were friendly, although difficult to understand the mix of Eastern European and Scottish accents.

Would stay here again, but would probably park elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank leroy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed in a small Staycity apartment in Fountainbridge, Edinburgh for 8 nights last month. It was clean, contemporary and comfortable, had everything I needed, and was convenient for everything I wanted to do in the city. I parked in the underground car park, had breakfasts in the local cafe with the pre-paid vouchers, and could walk to the Castle in 15 minutes. I was there for the Film Festival in particular: the location was perfect for walking to the main venues - really close to Cineworld (5 mins), to the Odeon and Cameo (8 minutes) and Filmhouse (10 minutes). The staff were really friendly, and helped with all my questions. Wi-fi was easy to access, fast and reliable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went to Edingburgh for a one night stay. On arrival the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite.
We were told that we had been upgraded at no extra cost.
The apartment was spotless, well equipped and very comfortable.
We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Haydn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Where do I even start???? We arrived at 2pm to check in to the apartments, we called in advance to get early check in as we have a 7 week old baby... We had check on two occasions with the receptionist at staycity that this would be okay... "of course they said" yet when we arrived the apartment want ready as the had stated, may I also had this was no fault of ours but there's,We even had to pay to store our bags. so off we went after a flight and a transfer to explore with a 7 week old... On our return a hour later ( they said to come back after 40 mins) the apartment still wasn't ready! So we had to complain yet again.

When we finally got to the apartment ( with no offer to help with with our luggage)
It was SO small the doors do not stay open so you feel so shut in. The bed was pushed up against the patio door so you couldn't use the balcony ( if you can call it that)

The sofa bed is broke, the bin has no lid, the doors are so loud when they shut constantly waking up our baby.

The pictures on the website are nothing like it is when you arrive.

The receptionist are not helpful at all and not very friendly.

After making a complaint and speaking to the manager we got some of our money back and checked out the next day!

So please don't believe the so called amazing pictures!!

Room Tip: There is none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Priscilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A couple of nights spent for daughter's graduation - found apartments quickly, great location, convenient parking, spacious apartment which was clean, light & airy, modern decor, close to shops for food shopping - a surprise upgrade was very welcome. Would happily recommend -

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,631 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,743 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#113 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels West End

Address: 11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £53 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels West End 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2011 to a very impressive standard these self catering apartments provide each guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 99 one bedroom apartments (sleeps 3 or 4) and 36 two bedroom apartments (sleeps 5 or 6). Fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV/DVD players and lounge/dining area. Located in Edinburgh City Centre, 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staycity Aparthotels West End Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing