We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food and staff!”
Review of Strada - CLOSED

Strada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Workington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and staff!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Strada during our visit to Edinburgh. Didn't have a table booked but after a very short wait we were seated. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, they gave us time to decide what we wanted to eat and came over to us as soon as they seen we had decided. They gave us plenty of time between courses and the food was excellent, my only slight complaint was one of the mussels in my seafood pasta dish wasn't opened but there were plenty more to make up for it. Would definitely go back and would highly recommend to anyone who loves high quality Italian food at a reasonable price

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    118
    49
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, friendly staff & amazing tiramisu”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. Our server, Elaine, was very sweet and efficient. Good Starters to try: Ravioli fritti, Pesto pomodero, Funghi alforno. Main course must try: Spinach cheese ravioli, Risotto pollo pomodero. Pizza was just average.

Do not miss the Tiramisu. Not sure about the drinks. We just ordered mojito which wasn't as good as the food.

We visited again next evening. Super friendly staff. The Manager, Colin also acknowledged our second visit in 2 days and really took care of us.

Helpful?
Thank TeenaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“I'd go back, but would probably a different dish.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

After a long day exploring Edinburgh, I headed to Strada for some dinner. I was shown to a table quickly by a friendly waiter and was given a menu. After taking time to look over the menu, I decided to opt for a main course and desert.

For main course I chose a Margherita Pizza. It came not long after ordering and was well sized in terms of portion size, but I felt the topping could have a little more richness from the tomatoes and flavour from the cheese. The crust unfortunately tasted a little burnt. The Chocolate Fondant and Ice Cream was delicious.

On a more positive note, the service was very good, with all the waiting staff serving me with a smile and not leaving me waiting long between courses. The location is great, and there was a fantastic atmosphere with the festival going on, so I would revisit but I would try something different.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My first trip to Edinburgh and on the Saturday evening we ate at strada in castle street. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was great. The lamb shank and sea bass were both sublime and the chocolate fondant with ice cream was delicious. Lovely setting, sitting under the canopy in the rain looking up at the castle. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh and flavoursome”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The food here is top quality. We had the pescatora and it was the nicest seafood we've had on our trip here to the UK.
Service was great too, the staff were friendly and very attentive.
Overall a very nice dinning experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strada also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing