We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy but cosy”

Wetherspoon Pub at The White Lady
Ranked #849 of 2,448 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Busy but cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very big busy public house, we stayed in its hotel over the weekend and ate and drank in the bar, although always busy we always managed to get a table, the staff were all very nice and pleasant and we were very satisfied with the quality of the food, drinks, and service, I would also like to mention how courteous the two doormen were opening the doors when entering or leaving with a smile and a good evening or a thank you a very nice touch

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    148
    50
    39
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bargain prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

the food may be typically "pub grub" but for the prices it can,t be beaten. Served to your table,piping hot,tasty,not overelaborate, just good honest down to earth grub. Whats not to like in this capital city with most attractions within 15/20 minutes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money with great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great local pub in the Corstorphine area, within walking distance of Zoo, on main bus route into Edinburgh. Built round and decorated in suitable tasteful White Lady / Sycamore tale with plenty of interesting Edinburgh facts. Fab offers, depending on the time of day you visit different deals on the food, good mixture of young and old and suitable for wheelchair users too. Has a small car park to rear so can suit every taste - must try and the toilets are very nice too, well the ladies at least unsure about the others!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FifiFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Excellent value in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

As a native of Edinburgh we are more used to reviewing more far flung destinations and we often forget to comment on those services more local to us, which we maybe just take for granted.And so it is with the White Lady in Corstorphine, Edinburgh,the most recent addition to Wetherspoon's portfolio in our lovely capital city, all of the others being equally worthy of a visit by locals and tourists alike.

Excellent décor and with food and drink of a more than acceptable standard at a very reasonable cost. Like most large chains the menus tend to be much the same wherever you go but there's nothing wrong with that if what you are getting is good. The selection of dishes is not particularly huge but that probably delivers consistency of quality, which we have witnessed on our many visits. Themed days or "clubs" as they call them include curry, steak, chicken, fish and of course Sunday roasts where the already very reasonable cost of the meal includes a drink from a range of alcoholic or non alcoholic options, and the overall value and quality must rival anywhere in Europe. All in all Wetherspoon's outlets are well worth a visit.

Oh yes we did mention The White Lady being in an excellent location. Located in the West of Edinburgh and within walking distance of Edinburgh Zoo and also very convenient for Edinburgh Airport less then 15 minutes away by car, bus or taxi. The White lady also has several letting bedrooms so can be an excellent base for a short stay in Edinburgh; we don't have experience of the rooms themselves but we are sure reviews of these would be available from others.

One final point worth noting is that The White Lady is located on one of Edinburgh's main bus routes into the City Centre. Our publicly owned service "Lothian Buses" is just possibly the best in Europe for quality of vehicles, comfort and value for money, so visitors should use these rather than thinking about taking taxis. Have fun in Edinburgh, it really is a wonderful city, but then we are biased !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teguise98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good beer but food anaemic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great selection of real ales all at a good price, why drink anything else. But the food was anaemic, presentation was poor and not inspiring, interesting or inviting. Taste was good but you first taste with your eyes so come on improve the presentation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wetherspoon Pub at The White Lady also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Wetherspoon Pub at The White Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing