We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a "must do" tour!”
Review of Eat Walk Edinburgh

Eat Walk Edinburgh
Ranked #2 of 36 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eat walk Edinburgh offer two Food walking tours. One explores Edinburgh's Old & New towns and the other the lower half of the Royal Mile called the Canongate. On each of these tours you will visit unusual/hidden restaurants, bars and shops. There will be five food tastings and three drink tastings on the tour. The guide will talk about the history of the area as you walk between venues. The Old & new Town tour (1pm-4.30pm) which has five food stops with a Edinburgh Raspberry Gin, Scottish beer and a single cask malt whisky tasting ensuring you will not need to worry about dinner in the evening. The Canongate tour (10am-1pm) enjoys six stops including a Bloody Mary cocktail and breakfast canapes to get the tour off and running. By the end there will be no need for lunch. The Old & New town tour was recommended in BBC Good Food Magazine as a "Don't miss" thing to do in Edinburgh. Delicious magazine also has it down as a must do.
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Having never been to Edinburgh before, I purposely scheduled this tour early on in my trip hoping that it would help me become acclimated with the city and its history as well as some of its many eating establishments. The tour was everything I had hoped it would be. Not only did our guide, Alan, provide us with many useful facts about the history of Edinburgh as we travelled from one location to the next, but he exposed us to a number of diverse dining establishments where we were able to sample a number of lovely local dishes as well as enjoy the unique ambiance of each. The tour was both relaxing and informative, providing a sort of "insiders" look at Edinburgh. I would highly recommend this tour!!

Thank Janetpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.

As you suggest it is good to do such tours when you first arrive as they do give a good insight in how to get around the city and point out other places to visit.

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

813 - 817 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

A tour of some - certainly not all - of the interesting food and drink experiences on offer in Edinburgh.

To somebody from a very modern city Edinburgh gives an impression of being a vast open-air museum, with a great deal of its architectural history on display. The tour guide is knowledgeable about at least some of that history, some of the more notable buildings, the gardens and the structure of the "old" and "new" (commenced around 1765) parts of the City, and is happy to share that knowledge.

The venues were interesting and the tasting experiences - which were anything but "museum"-like were worthwhile, even for those unable to fully appreciate the Single Barrel whisky tasting. An interesting insight into some of what is on offer there, and a good basis for further exploration.

Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My partner and I were planning a week off in Edinburgh. We had visited the city back in 2005 but had seen or done very little. Six years later and we decided we had to go back and do the things we missed the first time.

The biggest decision was what sort of tour should we do? Having not done one last time, we were determine to make sure we get onto some sort of tour (be it bus, walking, ghost tour, etc). Having searched on the internet, I came across this tour that intrigued me - walking tour plus food sampling...sounds like a win-win situation to me!

We booked the tour not knowing what to expect. On the day of the tour, we had arranged to meet our tour-guide Alan at the Malmaison for the early afternoon (2pm). He met us outside anticipating who we were and introduced himself - he was polite and generally pleased to see us.

The tour is exactly what the name suggests. You Eat, do a bit of walking to the next food establishment and eat a bit more. One of my favourite aspects was the general casual walk through the city (started off in Old Town, making our way to New Town). This was made relaxing by being supplied earpieces, with Alan talking through a mic clipped onto his jacket - the idea you don't need to be huddled in a small group to hear him.

The dining part of the tour was extremely well planned. Alan had picked some of the most fabulous places and the interaction you get with the owners and chefs made it a really special experience - all the food we ate was fantastic and if Alan finishes every tour with 'that' Eton Mess, then the price of admission is worth it just for that.

I could go into more detail about the places we visited, but I feel that would just ruin the experience, the fact that you don't know what you're getting makes this tour just that more interesting.

Tour of Edinburgh + Food = the perfect tour. Off to make a cheese platter as writing this has made me hungry.

Thank HonstaMonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Hi

Thank you for this review,our first and still my favourite heading
" Not just your average tour...but a whole lot yummier."

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Thank minyoungc134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank kerstin758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Walk Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Eat Walk Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing