We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to learn about the city and have delicious food and drink at the same time!”
Review of Eat Walk Edinburgh

Eat Walk Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.13*
and up
Canongate Brunch tour
Ranked #5 of 38 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eat walk Edinburgh offer two Food walking tours. One explores Edinburgh's Old & New towns and the other the lower half of the Royal Mile called the Canongate. On each of these tours you will visit unusual/hidden restaurants, bars and shops. There will be five food tastings and three drink tastings on the tour. The guide will talk about the history of the area as you walk between venues. The Old & new Town tour (1pm-4.30pm) which has five food stops with a Edinburgh Raspberry Gin, Scottish beer and a single cask malt whisky tasting ensuring you will not need to worry about dinner in the evening. The Canongate tour (10am-1pm) enjoys six stops including a Bloody Mary cocktail and breakfast canapes to get the tour off and running. By the end there will be no need for lunch. The Old & New town tour was recommended in BBC Good Food Magazine as a "Don't miss" thing to do in Edinburgh. Delicious magazine also has it down as a must do.
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A group of seven of us went on the tour during a friend's hen weekend and had a great time learning about the city and having delicious food and drink along the way. Alan was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about Edinburgh and its history. Various dietary requirements were well catered for – the vegetarian haggis was delicious! We took our time at each of the venues and Alan didn’t rush us at all. The headsets were brilliant and meant we could all hear the commentary at all times – stopping and taking photos etc wasn’t a problem. The tour was excellent value for money and we were all very satisfied and full – (of food and local knowledge!) – by the end of the afternoon. Highly recommend taking this tour!

2  Thank Bluebird1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Hi

Thanks for the lovely review.

As you say when we are given prior knowledge we can accommodate any dietary requirements to ensure everyone enjoys their time on the tour.

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 53 reviews
"haggis"
in 144 reviews
"malt whisky society"
in 22 reviews
"the hotel du vin"
in 17 reviews
"town tour"
in 22 reviews
"ear pieces"
in 12 reviews
"food stops"
in 12 reviews
"ghillie dhu"
in 10 reviews
"guide alan"
in 15 reviews
"scottish food"
in 20 reviews
"black pudding"
in 10 reviews
"great tour"
in 61 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 29 reviews
"cranachan"
in 15 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"great introduction"
in 15 reviews
"local history"
in 14 reviews
Filter

808 - 812 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Did this tour as part of a hen do. It was excellent and a great way to actually see some of the many sights with someone who really knows the place. Rich in history and interesting facts, the tour really does take you on a journey. The guide, Alan, was passionate and entertaining and we got to try some great food and drink.
I was impressed with the organisation, even down to the headsets so that we could go round at our own pace without struggling to hear the history, we walked past so many groups listening to someone shout at them and this tour was much more fluid and entertaining that that.
It was also excellent value for money.

Would really recommend it!

1  Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Hi

Thanks for you review it is greatly appreciated.

I'm glad you found it good value for money as some may think it rather expensice before deciding to book it. But it does combine a guided walking tour of th city with what amounts to a good meal and drinks.


Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I was in Edinburgh last month with a group of girlfriends - and although each of us wanted to spend time getting to know the city, we had a very limited amount of time to do this. So, thank goodness for Alan and his Eat, Walk Edinburgh afternoon tour; a tour that taught us not only about the incredible history to be found here, but also gave us a real idea of the thriving community, food and drink on-hand.

The tour itself takes around four hours (done at your own pace) and stops at a variety of hotels, bars, members' clubs and restaurants so you can sample the local food and drink en route and don't go hungry. We were even given the chance to try some locally sourced, home-made haggis and whiskey - something that was rather special to experience in Edinburgh itself.

Alan's knowledge is incredible - in fact, he shared some great stories with us - many of which I'm sure wouldn't be found in the history books. We learnt a lot, ate well and enjoyed experiencing the blue skies and welcoming nature of this great city.

Families, couples, solo travelers and friends all would benefit from this wonderful tour.

1  Thank Siv_and_Keddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Hi

Thanks for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed the tour.

As you say in the review the tour can take anything form 3-4 hours to complete as we try not to rush the group if they are having a good time.

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Went along on this tour as part of a hen do and it was absolutely fantastic - a good mix of great food and drink with sights of the city and a nice stroll. Really liked the fact that we wore ear pieces so that we could hear all that Alan had to say around the history. The various stops made this a relaxing day. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the city. Great value for money too!

1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Hi

Thanks for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.

The headsets are especially useful in large groups as it saves you having to crowd around the guide and lets you walk at your own pace or stop to take photos while still hearing what the guide has to say.

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We decided to take this tour as we were looking for something totally different to do and hoped we would find some new favourite places to eat and drink in Edinburgh. Our guide, Alan, was friendly and knowledgeable and provided an interesting commentary in between stops. I loved the places we visited to eat and drink and will definitely revisit when next in Edinburgh. The group size was 8, which was just right and it was nice to meet new people. The cost was 49.00 per person but you are out for over three hours and the food was lovely. My only comment would be that as vegetarians I felt less thought went into our meals at some of the venues and sharing a cheese board and charcuterie was a little awkward for us as we didnt want to take too much cheese. Small point which would be my only suggested improvement. Would definitely recommend.

1  Thank AshnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thanks for the review and will pass on your comments about vegetarain selection to the venues we visit. It is a good point you raise about the shared platter of meats and cheese and will look into having a seperate cheese selection for vegetarians.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Walk Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Eat Walk Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;