We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Eat Walk Edinburgh

Eat Walk Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.04*
and up
Canongate Brunch tour (Lower half of the Royal...
Ranked #8 of 41 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eat walk Edinburgh offer two Food walking tours. One explores Edinburgh's Old & New towns and the other the lower half of the Royal Mile called the Canongate. On each of these tours you will visit unusual/hidden restaurants, bars and shops. There will be five food tastings and three drink tastings on the tour. The guide will talk about the history of the area as you walk between venues. The Old & new Town tour (1pm-4.30pm) which has five food stops with a Edinburgh Raspberry Gin, Scottish beer and a single cask malt whisky tasting ensuring you will not need to worry about dinner in the evening. The Canongate tour (10am-1pm) enjoys six stops including a Bloody Mary cocktail and breakfast canapes to get the tour off and running. By the end there will be no need for lunch. The Old & New town tour was recommended in BBC Good Food Magazine as a "Don't miss" thing to do in Edinburgh. Delicious magazine also has it down as a must do.
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We really enjoyed the tour and would thoroughly recommend it
The restaurants and bars visited were all great as was the food and drinker we sampled. The tour was very informative and we came away we a good knowledge and understanding of Edinburgh.
A fab experience!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank wends63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

We're very grateful that you have taken the time to review our tour.

It's great to hear that you learned something new about Edinburgh and that you enjoyed sampling the food and drink at the various venues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 47 reviews
"haggis"
in 145 reviews
"whiskey society"
in 23 reviews
"town tour"
in 24 reviews
"the hotel du vin"
in 17 reviews
"food stops"
in 13 reviews
"ear pieces"
in 11 reviews
"ghillie dhu"
in 10 reviews
"scottish food"
in 21 reviews
"guide alan"
in 13 reviews
"black pudding"
in 10 reviews
"great tour"
in 59 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 29 reviews
"cranachan"
in 15 reviews
"great introduction"
in 16 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"small group"
in 23 reviews
Filter

218 - 222 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2016

Loved the History , walking around the city and sampling foods and tasting whiskey. Really a most enjoyable tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thanks so much for reviewing our tour

Glad you had fun with the tastings. Eat Walk Enjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We had a wonderful evening from the time we met our guide Julia until we headed back to our accommodation! Great way to learn of the history of Edinburgh while also sampling the traditional foods and drinks!!! Julia had a excellent way of weaving the histories into our walks and stops! So glad that we took this tour!!!!

Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our tour

Julie loves to share her knowledge of the history of Scotland and Edinburgh, we'll be sure to let her know how much you enjoyed your tour.

It's nice to hear you enjoyed the food and drink and that the history was woven through the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Not the sort of thing we would normally do, but friends from USA wanted to do it.

We were met on time by Julie the tour guide, who explained what we would be doing and issued with earpieces and a receiver so Julie could talk as she walked. This was great as it allowed the freedom to stop and look at a view or take photographs but still hear the commentary.

Julie was knowledgeable and gave an interesting tour, all the stops served good food and drink.

The walk is 2 1/2 miles long but easy going, with breaks. Some steps and stairs are climbed.

This style of history walk is great because it is broken up by food and drink so concentration and interest is maintained.

Thank trevorb8646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thanks for doing a review of our tour

It's great that you were "persuaded" to participate in our tour and it sounds like you enjoyed it. The personal earpieces do allow you to continue to hear what guide has to say without having to stand around her. Julie has a wealth of knowledge about Edinburgh, Scotland and the local restaurants and loves talking to people about it.

As you say the tour is around 2 1/2 miles but the distance between stops means it is achievable by most people (and some tasty food and drink helps too).

So glad you came along and enjoyed yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A must do when you visit Edinburgh for the first time. And I guess it is nice to do every time you visit Edinburgh, they have different adresses to go.And you get food or a drink what is special for that kind of bar or reataurant You get to know the streets in old Edinburgh with their history and also the places where to go out and eat. I just thought later, is it possible to give the people who do the tour,
a list of the product's and recipe's. In my case, I would love to know what they added to the salmon, aty our first adress, and wich cheese was presented. They tell you what and how, It would be nice if you get at each adress you visit on a tour a list of the recipe's they use and what you get. to drink and eat.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank willemv94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thanks for doing a review of our tour

We have a variety of places that we visit on our tours, it depends which are available on the day.

We do encourage the venues to talk to people about the food they are tasting. It's a good suggestion and we'll discuss it with the restaurants to try to give our guests that little bit extra information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Walk Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Eat Walk Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing