We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & history”
Review of Eat Walk Edinburgh

Eat Walk Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.04*
and up
Canongate Brunch tour (Lower half of the Royal...
Ranked #8 of 41 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eat walk Edinburgh offer two Food walking tours. One explores Edinburgh's Old & New towns and the other the lower half of the Royal Mile called the Canongate. On each of these tours you will visit unusual/hidden restaurants, bars and shops. There will be five food tastings and three drink tastings on the tour. The guide will talk about the history of the area as you walk between venues. The Old & new Town tour (1pm-4.30pm) which has five food stops with a Edinburgh Raspberry Gin, Scottish beer and a single cask malt whisky tasting ensuring you will not need to worry about dinner in the evening. The Canongate tour (10am-1pm) enjoys six stops including a Bloody Mary cocktail and breakfast canapes to get the tour off and running. By the end there will be no need for lunch. The Old & New town tour was recommended in BBC Good Food Magazine as a "Don't miss" thing to do in Edinburgh. Delicious magazine also has it down as a must do.
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Our group only ended up being our family of 6. Alan was easy to find & took us on a great guided tour. He was also accommodating to a pregnant lady & some dietary restrictions that we told him in advance. You learn some history of Edinburgh & also get to taste the local fare. We definitely recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank VeronicaHeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thank you for reviewing our tour

We try to accommodate people as much as we can and the venues are always very helpful in providing suitable alternatives for dietary needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 47 reviews
"haggis"
in 145 reviews
"whiskey society"
in 23 reviews
"town tour"
in 24 reviews
"the hotel du vin"
in 17 reviews
"food stops"
in 13 reviews
"ear pieces"
in 11 reviews
"ghillie dhu"
in 10 reviews
"scottish food"
in 21 reviews
"guide alan"
in 13 reviews
"black pudding"
in 10 reviews
"great tour"
in 59 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 29 reviews
"cranachan"
in 15 reviews
"great introduction"
in 16 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"small group"
in 23 reviews
Filter

200 - 204 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2017

Certainly done plenty of that here in the city on my last visit, do be prepared though, some fairly hilly places in the city, so be ready! Piles of eateries and boozers, choice is endless, enjoy!

Thank Theycallitmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for doing a review of the tour

Good to hear you enjoyed the venues and hope you visit them on your next trip to Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Brilliant walk and guide tour! interesting anecdotes about Edinburgh which makes me want to come back!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 16abbeysteadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thanks for reviewing our tour

Glad you enjoyed the stories and history of our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I cannot recommend this tour enough! I have been on it twice on two separate trips to the city and learned and tasted something new each time. You will find not only great food and drink at each stop, but lots of very quirky history that you won't hear anywhere else. Guide and company owner Alan is amazing and clearly loves what he does and brings the history of the city to life. On both of my tours the fellow tourists were fun as well. Everyone tends to warm up and share their experiences after a few Edinburgh Gins and single cask malts whiskies. I highly recommend this tour--one of my best memories of my time in Edinburgh!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thanks very much for doing a review of our tour

It's great to hear that you have done more than one of our tours and that you learned something new on each occasion. It's good to meet new people and have some food and drink along the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Had a good time walking in Old Town and New Town Edinburgh with the guide and fellow Eat Walk participants.
Our guide was full of knowledge of historical times in Edinburgh and also more recent times.
Me and my wife were very pleased with the Eat Walk and we will do this again in another city. This is a good way to get to know history of the city.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Björn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thanks for doing a review of our tour

Our guides try to find interesting historical and current facts about Edinburgh, good to hear that you enjoyed it so much you'll do it in another city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Walk Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Eat Walk Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing