We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and delicious”
Review of Eat Walk Edinburgh

Eat Walk Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.04*
and up
Canongate Brunch tour (Lower half of the Royal...
Ranked #8 of 41 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eat walk Edinburgh offer two Food walking tours. One explores Edinburgh's Old & New towns and the other the lower half of the Royal Mile called the Canongate. On each of these tours you will visit unusual/hidden restaurants, bars and shops. There will be five food tastings and three drink tastings on the tour. The guide will talk about the history of the area as you walk between venues. The Old & new Town tour (1pm-4.30pm) which has five food stops with a Edinburgh Raspberry Gin, Scottish beer and a single cask malt whisky tasting ensuring you will not need to worry about dinner in the evening. The Canongate tour (10am-1pm) enjoys six stops including a Bloody Mary cocktail and breakfast canapes to get the tour off and running. By the end there will be no need for lunch. The Old & New town tour was recommended in BBC Good Food Magazine as a "Don't miss" thing to do in Edinburgh. Delicious magazine also has it down as a must do.
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We enjoyed our tour - we never would have found these tasty spots. Our host was quirky and fun. If you are visiting Edinburgh, try this tour early on to get a perspective on the neighborhoods, then go back and re-visit some of the restaurants!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank michaeludelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our tour

Glad you enjoyed the tour and that we helped you to find some hidden gems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 47 reviews
"haggis"
in 145 reviews
"whiskey society"
in 23 reviews
"town tour"
in 24 reviews
"the hotel du vin"
in 17 reviews
"food stops"
in 13 reviews
"ear pieces"
in 11 reviews
"ghillie dhu"
in 10 reviews
"scottish food"
in 21 reviews
"guide alan"
in 13 reviews
"black pudding"
in 10 reviews
"great tour"
in 59 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 29 reviews
"cranachan"
in 15 reviews
"great introduction"
in 16 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"small group"
in 23 reviews
Filter

197 - 201 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2017

The food was consisently of a high quality and each place we visited was welcoming. The guide was excellent, clearly very knowledgeable as to both food and Edinburgh, friendly and informative without being pushy. Walking was leisurely.

Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thanks for your review

Glad to hear that the pacing of the tour suited you, we try to be aware of the need of our guests. We try to provide good quality venues with interesting food selections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I had never heard of the Eat&Walk before, and I found it by pure randomness. I am really glad I did. The host took us through a wonderful experience in the culinary world of Edinburgh, perfectly put together with a starter, snack, dinner, cheese and dessert. All dishes were served at different locations, with a wide range of interesting history facts and tales presented by our guide through our headsets during the walk in between places. If you like food, if you like drinks, if you like people, if you like history... This is an absolute must during your visit! Thank you very much.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mortenbrodahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our tour

It's great to hear that you really enjoyed the tour and that the format of taster plates at different locations along with some history made the most of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Our group only ended up being our family of 6. Alan was easy to find & took us on a great guided tour. He was also accommodating to a pregnant lady & some dietary restrictions that we told him in advance. You learn some history of Edinburgh & also get to taste the local fare. We definitely recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank VeronicaHeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thank you for reviewing our tour

We try to accommodate people as much as we can and the venues are always very helpful in providing suitable alternatives for dietary needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Certainly done plenty of that here in the city on my last visit, do be prepared though, some fairly hilly places in the city, so be ready! Piles of eateries and boozers, choice is endless, enjoy!

Thank Theycallitmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for doing a review of the tour

Good to hear you enjoyed the venues and hope you visit them on your next trip to Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Walk Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Eat Walk Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing