We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and informative”
Review of Eat Walk Edinburgh

Eat Walk Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.55*
and up
Canongate Brunch tour (Lower half of the Royal...
Ranked #8 of 41 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eat walk Edinburgh offer two Food walking tours. One explores Edinburgh's Old & New towns and the other the lower half of the Royal Mile called the Canongate. On each of these tours you will visit unusual/hidden restaurants, bars and shops. There will be five food tastings and three drink tastings on the tour. The guide will talk about the history of the area as you walk between venues. The Old & new Town tour (1pm-4.30pm) which has five food stops with a Edinburgh Raspberry Gin, Scottish beer and a single cask malt whisky tasting ensuring you will not need to worry about dinner in the evening. The Canongate tour (10am-1pm) enjoys six stops including a Bloody Mary cocktail and breakfast canapes to get the tour off and running. By the end there will be no need for lunch. The Old & New town tour was recommended in BBC Good Food Magazine as a "Don't miss" thing to do in Edinburgh. Delicious magazine also has it down as a must do.
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The tour was very fun and the guide had tons of knowledge of the city. He gave us recommendations and had lots of fun stories. Of course the food and drinks were also amazing. I would recommend this tour!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank michellem0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our tour

It's good to know you had fun on the tour, we try to make it interesting and fun. We recommend the restaurants we visit but also try to help you find places near where your staying. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 47 reviews
"haggis"
in 146 reviews
"whiskey society"
in 24 reviews
"town tour"
in 25 reviews
"the hotel du vin"
in 17 reviews
"food stops"
in 14 reviews
"ear pieces"
in 11 reviews
"ghillie dhu"
in 10 reviews
"scottish food"
in 21 reviews
"guide alan"
in 13 reviews
"black pudding"
in 10 reviews
"great tour"
in 60 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 29 reviews
"cranachan"
in 15 reviews
"great introduction"
in 18 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"enjoyable afternoon"
in 9 reviews
Filter

151 - 155 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

My 13 year old daughter and I recently had the pleasure of taking a walking tour with Ian in Edinburgh. Very quickly I realized we were in for a treat...tasting local specialties while listening to fascinating stories about the colorful personalities of Edinburgh, such as the two body snatchers who murdered and then profited from it. Each venue was unique and inviting. Our afternoon gave us a taste of Edinburgh that added so much to our visit, with sites as wide-ranging as the coffee shop where Harry Potter was created to the statue in memory of Greyfriar's Bobby. We both enjoyed it immensely and found Ian to be a knowledgeable and charming host. I highly recommend Eat Walk Edinburgh!

1  Thank Heather012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for reviewing our tour

We try to pass on some historial information about some of the venues we visit along with some stories about the places we pass. The intention is to tell you a little bit about Edinburgh and it's history while enjoying some of our scottish produce. We'll be sure to let Ian know how much you enjoyed his company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

I can't say enough good things about this tour. We really enjoy food walking tours and have done several of them. This was one of the best -- Alan was knowledgeable, personable, and the tour was just the right combination of great food, culture, history, and walking.

Thank dmr1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for taking time to review our tour

It's great that you enjoyed our tour. We try to provide a package of experiences to suit everyone with a little history, some fun stories and some great food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I did this tour in March with my partner and parents during a weekend away in Edinburgh, but I'm only just getting around to writing the review!

To start with the tour that I wanted to go on was full (it was a Saturday afternoon), so Alan arranged to put on a 2nd afternoon tour for us, which was wonderful.

Our guide, Julie, was really knowledgeable, interesting and funny and completely set the right tone. We used headphones to hear her when we were in the street, which was really useful as Edinburgh is so busy on a Saturday and I'm a bit hard of hearing. It meant I didn't miss anything. Julie pointed out lots of historical stuff as we were walking around and told us a number of interesting (& some grisly) stories, which we loved.

We tried lots of famous Scottish food and drink such as smoked salmon, haggis, ox cheek, whisky, cranachan, gin cocktails, etc. All were delicious and really quality fayre, such as the whisky was tasted at the Edinburgh Malt Whisky Society - a beautiful building and private member's club, which we would never have gone to otherwise.

All the buildings that we visited were fascinating, from the Hotel du Vin that used to be the city asylum, to the Whisky Society Georgian villa in Newtown to the pub that had been converted from a church.

I can't recommend this tour enough. All my family had a fab time and it really made our weekend away in Edinburgh very special.

Thank Amo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our tour

We try to accommodate timings for people (depending on guide availablity). The headphones do help when the city is busy as you don't need to stand around your guide to hear all the history and stories. The whisky stop is always popular as the building is beautiful and the whisky is extra special. We'll be sure to let Julie know how much you enjoyed her company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

I really enjoyed this walking tour which includes several stops to taste local food and drinks. Our tour guide was Iain Kennedy, who is a humble but very knowledgeable and approachable person. Personally, I especially liked the Scotch Malt Whisky Society stop. This tour is well worth going, particularly for those who want a better sense of Edinburgh's food, people and history.

Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review our tour

We try to balance good food, history and tasty drinks. The Scotch Malt Whisky stop is very popular and you get the chance to taste haggis whilst sampling some special whisky. We'll be sure to let Iain know how much you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Walk Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Eat Walk Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing