We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely to be recommended. We'll stay here again”
Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Recently refurbished the decor was fresh and tasteful. The bedroom was clean and the beds were fabulously comfortable. We had a twin room, which was actually 2 double beds. Bliss! The room overlooked the back of the hotel and there was no noise from the lively bar downstairs. We had a meal in the main restaurant, wlthough you can also eat in the bar. The menu wasn't extensive - but the food was superb. We couldn't fault it.

The service was excellent. The staff couldn't have been friendly or more helpful and for me that's what makes or mars a hotel stay

The hotel is fairly central for access to the City Centre (15 minute walk ) but located in a quiet residential area. Altogether a relaxing experience

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheFunkyGibb0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

(First of all, apologies for putting this review in the hotel section but the place doesn't seem to have a restaurant entry)
We ate here yesterday as an Itison deal and I didn't read the booking properly and thought I was going to the Bruntsfield Hotel restaurant. When I realised my mistake and found it was where there was a seedy hotel when we lived nearby (about 30 years ago), I worried that it might be a bit of a disaster. However, the hotel and restaurant are stylish but friendly and the young woman who served us was excellent. I had mussels to start with (large with a delicious sauce) and didn't need to ask for a dish for the shells or for a fnger bowl. I had a vegetarian main but a sneaky look at the next table would suggest that the steak is appealing. I'm guessing that hotels and restaurants sign up for Itison / Groupon / Livingsocial etc in the hope that consumers will get a taster of their wares and will return. That certainly worked with us and there is no question that we will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Just returned back from The Links Bruntsfield, what can I say, the best hotel ever. The staff are extremely friendly and make your stay very welcome. They were very helpful explaining the areas and the best places to visit.

The rooms are very large and to a very high standard, has are all the areas in the hotel. Bed and Breakfast very reasonably priced. Breakfast was outstanding, juices, cereals, croissants, fruit, full Scottish breakfast, tea/coffe, toast- Superb!! Also dined in the Restaurant, fillet steak was to die for and recommend you eat in the hotel on your trip.

Hotel is approx 15 minutes walk from the main city centre shops/bars, but a lovely stroll there and back. Parking is free at the weekend, just on the road outside the hotel.

Thanks again for a memorable stay, see you next year :)

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a Deluxe room- almost same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190919Drew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in late May 2011. The hotel room was big and beautifully furnished with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The staff are genuinely friendly, helpful and informative and cannot be faulted. Breakfast was excellent and the full Scottish keeps you full til way past lunch. The restaurant menu is relatively small but absolutely delicious. The decor and furnishings throughout the entire hotel are of a really high standard and it is clear that a lot of money has been spent to make a great impression. The hotel is a £7 taxi ride from Murrayfield stadium or Princes St and buses are also easily available. When we go back to Edinburgh we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Email/phone direct & see what they can do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank val-pa-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I would thoroughly reccommend this hotel our room was lovely breakfast was great and the staff went out of their way to make our stay special
Big thumbs up

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed just 2 weeks after the hotel reopened after a total refurbishment. Can't fault the hotel in any way - decor was modern and stylish, the room clean with all new furnishings and a bright modern bathroom. Has a great nights sleep - bed was comfy and even though room was above the lively bar, there was no noise disturbance. The staff were very friendly and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLD2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I have just returned from a weekend Stay in The Links Hotel Edinburgh. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It’s in an excellent location, 10 mins walk from the Royal Mine & Princess Street. The hotel is all newly decorated - rooms are all really lovely & it is super clean.
The making of the hotel however is the staff. It is run by a husband and wife duo who were just lovely - they couldn’t do enough to help us for the duration of the stay and they and all the staff were genuinely lovely people. If you want to meet people who belong in hospitality then this is the hotel for you. Food was great & atmosphere at night-time was nice & lively.
To summarise - simply excellent !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,099 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Address: 4 Alvanley Terrace | Whitehouse Loan, Edinburgh EH9 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood , Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £114 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Links Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing