We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lesson to be learned: you get what you pay for...”
Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2010

A number of delegates from a conference I was attending stayed at the Links, mainly because it was one of the few hotels in the area with vacancies. Now I know why...
The hotel is located approximately a 15 minute walk away from the city centre, so it would be reasonable to expect that a good night's sleep could be obtained. Wrong. The hotel bar is open to all hours to the general public. Whilst this is handy for residents who fancy a late-night tipple, the reality is that extras from the Edinburgh equivalent of 'Shameless' are likely to disrupt your early hours. Not a place to stay for a relaxing getaway or family trip, unless your home town is Gaza. Or Glasgow.
The room itself was poorly maintained with threadbare, dubiously stained carpet and light fixtures/fittings which were faulty. Our room was also positioned next to the kitchen meaning that there was a heavy stench of deep-fried food and overweight, sweaty kitchen staff smoking in close proximity to our door. I'm unsure as to which was more repugnant.
The staff were friendly enough when we reported the lack of light in our room but unfortunately were ineffective at resolving this issue (and others), despite reassurances that they would. Looking at other reviews, I can see that other customers noted and reported similar problems with their rooms. They were equally unhelpful with resolving an issue of lost property following our stay. With numerous phone calls not returned by the hotel, a simple issue became somewhat of a saga, the upshot being that the cleaner failed to clean the room properly, leaving the item to be taken by the next guest. Apparently. Read in to that what you will...
Apart from that, it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trikkywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Links Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed in August for the festival, good location, lots of buses go past nearby and it is an easy 20 minute stroll into the city. The 2pm check in is a bit of a pain but they will take care of luggage.

The breakfast was very acceptable and other food offered through the day was excellent value and good quality.

If you can ignore the stained carpet in the hallways and stairs then the rooms are fine, plenty of room and cleaned daily, it is a relatevely cheap hotel though.

I can imagine that at different times of the year it could be noisy, it would appear to be in student territory, however this was not a problem for us.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful and we would have no hesitation booking a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Staff friendly, reception not manned all day, but sign says ask at bar for manager if no reply to bell. Our room was on third floor overlooking back of houses and gardens. No lift, so a bit of a hike with suitcases.The room was clean and bright and quiet, even though it was near the stairs. Tea and coffee in room. Breakfast adequate. The only gripe was the shower, which was weak, but otherwise I would say good value, especially during the festival. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

stayed at this hotel/bar during tattoo week .read the reviews before 50/50.what suits one person will offend another depends on what your after.we had the front of the hotel which was a nice view no noise from bar below (stayed mon-wed)clean bedroom plenty of toileties shampoo shower gel plus tea coffee etc.hair dryer ,4single beds in our room which was comfy.bar staff was friendly ,breakfast was acceptable cereals toast fruit& full cooked breakfast which was nice only mishap was if you asked for scrambled egg you got fried.location was about 15 mins from castle .would go again if i got front of hotel at the back was brick wall view.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARROWBYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Arrived in pouring rain in December. Freezing cold day but not allowed to 'book in' under any circumstances until 2.00 pm (it was about 1.00 pm then)
GRumpy receptionist took our bag though!
The room hadn't been stayed in for some time as lights, lamps and t.v. not working until a pleasant student arrived to fix everything.
Food really nice. Stair carpet near restaurant absolutely minging!
Wouldn't be in big hurry to stay again.
Gillian Muldoon

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

When we arrived for a weekend stay, no one was around to greet us. We had to wait quite a while for attention, and were told that the hotel had new owners and the reception was not functioning properly yet. The first room we were put in, after unpacking we found thedoor did not lock, so we were offered another room which was huge but dark and dingy.so we asked for another room which was OK but very dark, 3 out of 5 lights did not work., which we reported but nothing was done. Rooms were very basic but clean. Breakfast for the first 2 mornings was OK but burnt offerings on the last day. Friends had to ask for a plug for the sink in their room. Carpets badly worn and stained all over building, lights not working everywhere, bar area very dark and tables not cleaned very often. Hotel clearly caters for students. Only thing going for it is the location which is a short bus/taxi ride from City centre. Not suitable for disabled as there is no lift. Would not recommend to over 30's.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowen230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

This Hotel is ideally situated for the city and the staff are very friendly

It is very popular for students and in the evening is lively!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank HerefordWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
558 reviews
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#37 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Address: 4 Alvanley Terrace | Whitehouse Loan, Edinburgh EH9 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood , Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £113 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Links Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing