We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break - all you would hope for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for one night, using loyalty points as a short break in an executive room. From when we arrived to when we left we were treated extremely well by the friendly staff, offering us information and guidance on how best to get to the city centre and organising a taxi very promptly when requested. The room was excellent, very clean and airy, and the hotel was a great base to explore the city from. My wife struggled to find a comfortable pillow, but is extremely difficult to please in this respect, but this was the only slight niggle - everything else - even the weather made for a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: We chose an executive room and it was a good decision, I've stayed here on business and been in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 2,302 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Fantastic stay for our wedding weekend - staff were great, friendly and good at their jobs - top marks to whoever recruits them. Food was fantastic and a reasonable price, facilities were great and easy to get into the city from the location. Great bedroom with views of the castle. What more can I say!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are truly delighted to read that you have had such a wonderful stay and that our staff have looked afer you.
I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto our teams.

Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Delighted with Hotel - def value for money, upgraded on arrival to 'King Bedroom'. Worth mentioning that using the Holiday Inn's own web site came up with a cheaper quote than a number of other well known travel sites. Reception desk staff V pleasant esp the young lady from Utah. Only down side was the charge for Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the Hotel have brilliant alarm clocks......mainly the birds & monkeys in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J5ELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is great to read that you found your stay to be Great Value for Money and that you also benifited from an upgrade at Check In.
I will pass your feedback onto the team member on reception that you have mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back .

Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My Husband, Myself and our 11 month old travelled to this Holiday Inn between the 15th-17th January 2014 and we were so happy! 2 Miles and easy access to the city, a bus stop right outside! excellent amenities and the friendliest hotel staff I have encountered in a long time. It was mainly used by business people when we were visiting, but it was midweek. The Hotel has a huge car park, very decent size rooms, lovely smart bathrooms and my husband liked that he could see the car from our room.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHastwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is great to read that you have had a lovely stay and that our staff have done a fantastic job of looking after you.
We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with a good breakfast buffet. large gym, pool and sauna facilities on offer as well although I didn't use them. The bus links to the centre of town are regular as clockwork and only takes ten minutes at most. Great app for download will tell you what lothian buses you need to get for any destination. I've been before and would recommend it again happily.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed your breakfast.
As you point out we are very fortunate to have such a great bus service directly out the front of the hotel into the City Centre.
We hope that you return to stay with us for future stays.

Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is close to the city centre 3.3 miles or so. Stayed on a last minute deal. The rooms were ok apart from the A/C. Free parking, very welcoming staff. Also missed all the excitement of the fire alarms going off due to the inconsiderate smokers of our world... This is what probably caused the problems with the A/C. Used the bar and lounge area as the ladies wanted a beverage and they also have a costa coffee which I couldn't resist and our son loved the hot chocolate :-) . The hotel is right next door to the zoo ( they share the same access for the car park ). Didn't use the facilities that the hotel offers so unable to comment. The hotel was suitable for our requirements for the type of stay required.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are are pleased that we were suitably located for your visit to Edinburgh and hopefully next time you will be able to utilise the facilities within the hotel.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Holiday Inn @ Edinburgh.

We were met with a warm welcome. We called in to see if we could check in an hour early. It wasn't a problem. I had requested a room with a view and extra pillows - we were not disappointed, despite booking the hotel on a discounted booking website. The room was very clean. The main bedroom offered a comfortable bed, couple of seats, ironing board and iron with trouser press. Tea making facilities also provided. My partner forgot his shaving kit and toothbrush, complimentary toiletries are available on request from Reception.

Bed was comfortable with optional soft or firm pillows.

Three miles from the centre, we managed to walk into the town at a relaxed pace in about 40 minutes. There are bus stops outside the hotel. £3.00 will get you a return ticket into the town. It cost us £9.00 to get a taxi back from the town to the hotel.

Unfortunately, we didn't get chance to check out the leisure facilities.

The hotel location is ideal if you are visiting the zoo... it's right next door.

The little touches that matter make this hotel a highly recommended stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - beautiful views over Scottish hillside. Room 431
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that you were able to check in earlier than expected and your stay was enhanced by the facilities and staff attentiveness.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Edinburgh.

Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,318 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £53 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing