We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday inn edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #107 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel was excellent for visiting the zoo. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Meal on first night was a carvery but not very good . Meal on second evening finally arrived after one hour and a reminder to the waitress. Waiter didn't apologise but gave us two free coffees! Food quite expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
Whilst you found the Hotel convenient and out Team helpful and friendly we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your dinning experiences during your stay.
The level of service that you have experienced is not acceptable and I have passed on your feedback to our Food and Beverage Manager.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,229)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love Love Love this hotel
Great location
Great food (kids eat free)
Great Pool
Great Staff
Great Rooms
Great Breakfast
Got into the zoo for half price too with our Room Card :)

Love it so much we visit at least 3 times a year

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmacd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are absolutely delighted to read your review and the fact that you come and visit us 3 times a year.
I have shared your comments with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg,com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights as a couple at the end of March. Came to Scotland for the Edinburgh Zoo and so picked a hotel near. Wasn't aware just how near! Right next door to the Zoo it'self. Brilliant. On a long road with restaurants, shops and takeaways.
Rooms clean and have all basic amenities for a short stay. A choice of pillows if you're a fussy sleeper. TV had a good range of channels.
Didn't use hotel facilities so cannot comment on those.
Wasn't expecting 5 star accommodation, was just right for what we needed.
You get what you pay for :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank wooooo-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that the Hotel met your expectations and provided a comfortable base whilst visiting Edinburgh.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel room we had for two nights was adequate. The bathroom was very small, no room for two at the same time.
The location was very handy for the zoo next door and for main route for buses back and forth from the city centre.
The one shock was that it cost just under £60 for breakfast for two , for two mornings. VERY EXPENSIVE BREAKFAST. For this reason I would suggest do not eat breakfast there!!!

Room Tip: choose any facing the road, good view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are pleased to read that the hotel was suitably located for your needs and that the Hotel was adequate for your stay.
We must however apologise that you were not informed about the option to pre book your breakfast at reception at a reduced cost of £10.95 per adult. I would be happy to refund the difference for the miscommunication.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel is very central and located right next to the zoo. We spent one night in April and it happened to be spring break. The hotel was really really busy. The breakfast was like you'd expect from a Holiday Inn - no complaints. Our room was tiny, as was the bathroom. The room itself was clean but the bathroom wasn't as good. The bath was old, stained and had a musty smell. Our room was right in front of the Holiday in Logo on the front of the building so when the sun went down, the giant green spotlights went on - forcing us to completely close the curtains immediately. We were probably just unlucky but it certainly affected our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are disappointed to read your review with regards to your experience whilst staying with us.
We are in fact about to start a project of bathroom refurbishments however I appreciate that this does not change your experience.
We apologise that the room allocated to you did not provide the relaxing stay that we aim all our Guests to have.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for two days, we had a family room that was clean and comfortable.
The swimming pool was excellent.
Stafff friendly and efficient.
Upon arrival you were given a choice of a Carvery or Chinese.
Dinner in traders restaurant was run of the mill and did not have much of a choice but acceptable.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of what to eat.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor equal a better view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcote071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to use all the facilities within the hotel during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed at many hotels in the Holiday Inn group across the country, we stayed for a couple of nights and had a very pleasant time. The hotel is clean comfortable and has a good bar area which we used to good affect !!!! The food was of the standard that you would expect from this type of hotel both in an evening and breakfast. Overall a good stay and would recommend the hotel for being on the outskirts of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyboyNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and you utilised many of the facilities within the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £59 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing