We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff, basic comfy rooms, food not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #108 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, basic comfy rooms, food not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is literally next door to the zoo the perfect place for visiting it. On arrival the foyer was extremely busy with coach tours but we were dealt with relatively quickly. The receptionist even sent a wheel chair for our disabled friend to use on our visit to the zoo as she had heard the ones at the zoo were all booked out.

Throughout our stay all the staff; reception, restaurant, housekeeping, we're lovely and couldn't do enough for us. A real credit to H.I.

Rooms were basic but comfortable. Comfy beds with a choice of pillows, Tea and coffee facilities, plenty of towels and a nice bathroom. I think for four star the toiletries could have been nicer. The rooms also had extremely thin walls. We had no one in the room next door the first night, but the second night we could hear everything the man in the adjoining room was doing (coughing, watching tv, boiling the kettle, using the bathroom etc...) this didn't really bother us but it could bother some particularly if there was more than one person staying in the room next door.

Our friend is disabled so we chose to eat in the restaurants throughout our stay rather than go out. The breakfasts were very tasty with a nice choice. It gets very busy (Easter hols) and people from coach parties were stocking up on food presumably to keep them going for the rest of their tour of England by the looks of it - saw one person take away 12 croissants!!! but it all seemed to run smoothly.

In the evenings we used bother the Chinese and Carvery restaurant. The staff were lovely but the food was not. It was incredibly bland mass produced stuff that was just about edible. The restaurants have huge windows with an amazing view and I feel the restaurants could have been a lot nicer and created a better ambiance. The Chinese felt half hearted and the Carvery more canteen like.

We didn't use the pool as you had to book to use it due to it being school holidays.

All in all it was a comfy hotel that I would recommend for anyone going to the zoo, I would however suggest people eat out of an evening if possible. I would give four stars generally for the hotel as the staff were so nice and it was comfortable, but the quality of food in the restaurants has brought it down to three stars I'm afraid.



Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Yildirim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are pleased that overall you were well looked after during your stay and that our Team identified the extra help required.
We are disappointed with regards to your comments on dinner and we apologise that this has affected the enjoyment of your stay.
I have passed your comments on to the relevant people and we do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    900
    483
    139
    74
See reviews for
545
734
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for one night to visit Edinburgh Zoo which is literally next door. Excellent bus service with bus stops right outside - 10 minute journey to Princes Street. We had a family room - double bed and pull out sofa bed. Clean and modern room but not a lot of space to move around. We ate in the restaurant which was quite pricey and not a lot of choice but the kids ate free so couldn't grumble at the overall price, Breakfast was lovely and the kids loved the pancake machine. Didn't get to use the pool as you had to book due to the hotel being busy and we couldn't find a suitable slot! The only downside was a lot of the staff weren't English in the restaurant area and some staff seemed to have difficulty in understanding you - it did sometimes feel like we were abroad and not in Scotland. Kids weren't happy that there was no free Wi-Fi but they survived one night. Overall a good hotel for families and ideal for a visit to the zoo and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that your had a comfortable stay and you found us to be good value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel was excellent for visiting the zoo. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Meal on first night was a carvery but not very good . Meal on second evening finally arrived after one hour and a reminder to the waitress. Waiter didn't apologise but gave us two free coffees! Food quite expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
Whilst you found the Hotel convenient and out Team helpful and friendly we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your dinning experiences during your stay.
The level of service that you have experienced is not acceptable and I have passed on your feedback to our Food and Beverage Manager.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love Love Love this hotel
Great location
Great food (kids eat free)
Great Pool
Great Staff
Great Rooms
Great Breakfast
Got into the zoo for half price too with our Room Card :)

Love it so much we visit at least 3 times a year

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmacd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are absolutely delighted to read your review and the fact that you come and visit us 3 times a year.
I have shared your comments with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights as a couple at the end of March. Came to Scotland for the Edinburgh Zoo and so picked a hotel near. Wasn't aware just how near! Right next door to the Zoo it'self. Brilliant. On a long road with restaurants, shops and takeaways.
Rooms clean and have all basic amenities for a short stay. A choice of pillows if you're a fussy sleeper. TV had a good range of channels.
Didn't use hotel facilities so cannot comment on those.
Wasn't expecting 5 star accommodation, was just right for what we needed.
You get what you pay for :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank wooooo-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that the Hotel met your expectations and provided a comfortable base whilst visiting Edinburgh.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel room we had for two nights was adequate. The bathroom was very small, no room for two at the same time.
The location was very handy for the zoo next door and for main route for buses back and forth from the city centre.
The one shock was that it cost just under £60 for breakfast for two , for two mornings. VERY EXPENSIVE BREAKFAST. For this reason I would suggest do not eat breakfast there!!!

Room Tip: choose any facing the road, good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are pleased to read that the hotel was suitably located for your needs and that the Hotel was adequate for your stay.
We must however apologise that you were not informed about the option to pre book your breakfast at reception at a reduced cost of £10.95 per adult. I would be happy to refund the difference for the miscommunication.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel is very central and located right next to the zoo. We spent one night in April and it happened to be spring break. The hotel was really really busy. The breakfast was like you'd expect from a Holiday Inn - no complaints. Our room was tiny, as was the bathroom. The room itself was clean but the bathroom wasn't as good. The bath was old, stained and had a musty smell. Our room was right in front of the Holiday in Logo on the front of the building so when the sun went down, the giant green spotlights went on - forcing us to completely close the curtains immediately. We were probably just unlucky but it certainly affected our experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are disappointed to read your review with regards to your experience whilst staying with us.
We are in fact about to start a project of bathroom refurbishments however I appreciate that this does not change your experience.
We apologise that the room allocated to you did not provide the relaxing stay that we aim all our Guests to have.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing