We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,403)
Filter reviews
2,403 results
Traveller rating
572
1,004
569
171
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
1,004
569
171
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecool jadepentland hillsswimming poolexecutive roomleisure facilitiestrouser pressday ticketbus stop rightreception stafffamily roomsofa bedbuffet stylebus servicestayed here for one nighttea and coffeehaggis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,287 - 1,292 of 2,403 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Location is good (right next to the zoo if you're planning any sight-seeing). It's an older-style hotel (as far as HI's go). staff were friendly. Wifi is NOT available for free, however I was told it would be in June/July this year. After making my feelings known about that I was offered a complimentary 4 hour pass, making me wonder if this is standard procedure and HI's try and make you pay in the first case.
Breakfast in the morning was hot/cold buffet style to an average standard.
Rooms were spacious but bathroom tiny!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are pleased that the hotel was suitably located for your visit.
With regards to your comments I can confirm that we are in the process of updating many of our bedrooms and I can also confirm that WIFI will be complimentary from the 1st of July.
Our staff are trained to ensure all guest are satisfied and that any negative feelings are acted upon thus the offer of a complimentary WIFI voucher our aim is to ensure our Guest leave happy.
We do hope that if staying in Edinburgh in the future we would have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Breakfast was excellent. Room was standard hotel room. Bar seating was very uncomfortable, you wouldn't want to sit there all night. Ordered a glass of wine and they gave me the most expensive which was £2 dearer than the cheapest............for a glass!!

Good location for the zoo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scareype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
Your comment with regards to breakfast are fantastic and we are pleased that you enjoyed what certainly is a great choice.
With regards to the Bar service I will address this with our Food and Beverage Manager as our team should be offering a full range of wine and menus clearly stating our prices.
We apologise for any unnecessary upset caused.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent two nights here. room very clean and adequate. Looked out onto car park and hotel is next door to Edinburgh Zoo. Woken early with what sounded like exotic birds from the Zoo and ? dustbin lorries but otherwise very comfortable. Very good breakfasts although it took a wee while to search out the fresh fruit etc. It was the Easter school holidays so very busy with families. Would have liked to try out the pancakes from the special pancake maker but was always beaten in the queue by equally interested and more determined children!
Was unable to use swimming pool as there had been a 'vomit' incident and pool was closed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grimentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have commented on the excellent value for money.
We do apologise however that due to unforeseen circumstances we had to close the pool this decision is taken in line with Safe Pool Operating procedures.
We hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us again and that you have the chance to have fresh pancakes with your breakfast.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay here and would thoroughly recommend. Staff were all excellent and couldn't do enough to help. Room was clean and although not huge it was perfectly adequate for all the time we spent in it. We stayed on the DB&B rate which was well worth what we paid, food was plentiful, fresh and tasty! We will return here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Dinner, Bed and Breakfast stay and that our Team ensured your family were well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just back from 2 night stay at this hotel. Got a good deal with dinner included the first night, the standard of food was good and also impressed with the breakfast. Staff all friendly. Room fine although bathroom on the small side. Only issue we had was our room 410 was directly across from the housekeeping room and the constant banging of the door due to staff coming and going early in the morning was really annoying!! Would return though as really good location and hopefully free wifi soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aberdeen040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your Dinner, Bed and Breakfast stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.
A very valid point you have raised and we apologise for the unnecessary noise I have have fed this back to our Housekeeping department to avoid any further repercussion.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews