We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #107 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very nice rooms, quite spacious, plenty of sitting area, very clean, new and well designed. Only drawbacks are lack of fridge in room (and safe although I never use them) and expensive (and slow) wifi. Dining room is great and the breakfast was very good. Very convenient (free) parking and great access to the zoo and public transport.

Room Tip: I was on the West side with no view but the other side must have great views to the West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted that your stay was of a great standard and your room was well decorated .
WIFI will shortly be changing and from the 1st of July it will be complimentary we do also have safe facilities available for guest to use during their stay and our reception team would be delighted to arrange this.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    919
    500
    143
    76
See reviews for
559
751
83
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked this on a Superbreak deal that included a zoo visit, breakfast every day and a meal one night. The zoo visit was well worth it, and we used the meal as a £18 credit towards the chinese restuarant, which was very nice.

This hotel is conveniently situated, a short cab ride from the airport and a reliable bus to the town centre. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and the ladies enjoyed the spa.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StodgeParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is fantastic to read that you found your stay to be excellent value for money and that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities within the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for one night as a quick getaway without the kids, room was ok but the bathroom was small. Got a good deal as it was a last minute deal but would have been a bit miffed to have paid full price. The room was the first hotel room I have ever stayed in that had the bed pushed against the wall which meant only 1 bedside table.

Location was fine for us however if someone booked it thinking they were in Edinburgh City Centre then its a few miles away.

Swimming pool was fine (very small) as was the Sauna.

Breakfast filled a hole and was ok , glad we didn't pay £15 for it.

Overall , good enough for a quick night away for the 2 of us but won't go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddwarf1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
All feedback is gratefully received and we are disappointed that your stay lacked a bit of WOW.
The room that you stayed in was in fact one of our smaller doubles and we apologise if this was not as comfortable as you would have liked.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights with my family in two rooms very disappointed no safe in rooms wifi crazy expensive and far to easy for children to access without parents knowing food expensive our check out bill wrong no apology for same double check your bill cafe staff and restaurant staff very friendly and best part of hotel no sign of management team access if u on foot crazy and poorly signed we arrived by bus from airport which is great service but then had three flights of stairs to pull our bags and poorly signed expensive stay for a holiday express

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are very disappointed with the various areas you have highlighted.
Safes are available in some of our bedrooms however I can appreciate that there was not one in your room we do however provide safe facilities at reception.
Please accept our apologise with regards to the bill not being correct on check out and we are sorry if this caused any delay to your departure.
We do have a phone at our back entrance direct to Reception and our Team are more that happy to assist with any luggage during your stay.
Thank you for your lovely comments with regards to our Food and Beverage staff and I will ensure that these are passed on.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, with the family. Enjoyed it. Initially, had a problem with the room's AC (room 475), but was given an upgrade, with the help of a wonderful staff Agnes at reception. She along with Kamila did everything possible to help out. Appreciate that ladies. Also, Said and Sony from the bar were great with their services.
Nice hotel, quiet and the kids loved the rabbits hopping around the lawns! lol
Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Except the AC gets sorted, Room 475 could be a bit humid, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is lovely to read that the initial issue you had was resolved to your satisfaction and that you have taken the time to personally recognised members of our Team.
I will ensure that these staff members are recognised for their hard work and we look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Would use again for sure , our family had an excellent stay . Great value too , only thing was the noisy guests on our floor (,4th ) at 1 in the morning not good when you have a family room with a 5 year old and 20 month old woke up and raring to go :(

Pool was great and all towels were provided even got some floats for the children to play with .

An indoor children's play area would be great in this hotel as used by lots of family's for the location , right next door to the zoo .

Jenny on reception was brilliant and nothing was a bother gave us info of what's great to do with the kids , even went out her way to print out directions of the location of our next stop .

Only thing was our lack of sleep being woke at 1am from some very inconsiderate guests , not the hotels fault .

Thank you all

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and you made good use of the Pool facilities.
We apologise that you did encounter some disturbance from other guest and we do try to allocate guests in advance to avoid any noise issues.
We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just back this afternoon from staying at this hotel for an overnight. Glad I chose this hotel as the staff are very welcoming, great location being next to the zoo if your going to be visiting there. Paid for breakfast when we got there and it's alot cheaper than it says on website. Went swimming, and used the sauna nice heated pool and jacuzzi was nice too. Defo would come again with ma fiance :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and you used the Pre booked breakfast option when you checked in to get the reduced rate.
We are pleased you enjoyed all the facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,132 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing