We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be rushing back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #107 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Suffolk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Won't be rushing back.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Expected better from this well known chain for a one night business stop.
On arrival, I was told I had been 'upgraded' - though I hadn't asked to be - but the room was pretty average really and the bathroom very small. If this was the upgraded one, I'm glad I didn't see the one I was meant to be in.

Wifi was chargeable (really?? These days?) expensive and slow, when I even managed to get in.

Room service food was really average, and expensive for what it was, plus the cheek of a £3 tray charge.

Felt rather insulted by the sign in the bathroom telling me that I would be charged if the bedroom carpet got flooded! If there is a problem with the bathroom, maybe they should fix that rather than shift the cost to the guests. Or politely rephrase the sign.

Parking is very tight...especially trying to get out past tour buses and taxis badly parked at the back entrance.

Not a great experience for a busy business traveller...but as they seemed to be full of tourist tours, then maybe I wasn't their target market.

Definitely not rushing back.


Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ClanCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are disappointed that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that our product was not of the standard that you were expecting.
We are in fact actioning many of the areas highlighted in your review.
We are currently in the process of enhancing many of our Executive Rooms to a higher standard, and WIFI will be complimentary from the 1st of July.
The sign in the bathroom is not to cause offence to anybody simply a reminder to close the shower curtain to avoid excess water leaking out and we apologise if it did not come across in this manner.
I will ensure your feedback is shared with the Management Team and again we are sorry if your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have liked to have offered.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    899
    483
    138
    74
See reviews for
545
732
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Friday 25th. Had a great time in the Asian restaurant food was very nice & enjoyable. Sarah from conference surprised us with some lovely cake!!

Scott(?) the night receptionist was great chat & friendly. Asset to the company !

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank calum m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are most delighted to read your five star review and that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal in Sampans.
I will ensure the staff members you have highlighted are recognised for their great service.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We were happy with the service, it was clean enough and the proximity to the zoo is a big plus. The car park is a little fiddly but we had few problems. It was as much as we could expect for the price. We would use it again in the same circumstances.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is lovely to read that you would return to stay with us again and your stay was comfortable and value for money.
We look forward to to being of assistance in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very nice rooms, quite spacious, plenty of sitting area, very clean, new and well designed. Only drawbacks are lack of fridge in room (and safe although I never use them) and expensive (and slow) wifi. Dining room is great and the breakfast was very good. Very convenient (free) parking and great access to the zoo and public transport.

Room Tip: I was on the West side with no view but the other side must have great views to the West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted that your stay was of a great standard and your room was well decorated .
WIFI will shortly be changing and from the 1st of July it will be complimentary we do also have safe facilities available for guest to use during their stay and our reception team would be delighted to arrange this.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked this on a Superbreak deal that included a zoo visit, breakfast every day and a meal one night. The zoo visit was well worth it, and we used the meal as a £18 credit towards the chinese restuarant, which was very nice.

This hotel is conveniently situated, a short cab ride from the airport and a reliable bus to the town centre. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and the ladies enjoyed the spa.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StodgeParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is fantastic to read that you found your stay to be excellent value for money and that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities within the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for one night as a quick getaway without the kids, room was ok but the bathroom was small. Got a good deal as it was a last minute deal but would have been a bit miffed to have paid full price. The room was the first hotel room I have ever stayed in that had the bed pushed against the wall which meant only 1 bedside table.

Location was fine for us however if someone booked it thinking they were in Edinburgh City Centre then its a few miles away.

Swimming pool was fine (very small) as was the Sauna.

Breakfast filled a hole and was ok , glad we didn't pay £15 for it.

Overall , good enough for a quick night away for the 2 of us but won't go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddwarf1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
All feedback is gratefully received and we are disappointed that your stay lacked a bit of WOW.
The room that you stayed in was in fact one of our smaller doubles and we apologise if this was not as comfortable as you would have liked.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights with my family in two rooms very disappointed no safe in rooms wifi crazy expensive and far to easy for children to access without parents knowing food expensive our check out bill wrong no apology for same double check your bill cafe staff and restaurant staff very friendly and best part of hotel no sign of management team access if u on foot crazy and poorly signed we arrived by bus from airport which is great service but then had three flights of stairs to pull our bags and poorly signed expensive stay for a holiday express

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are very disappointed with the various areas you have highlighted.
Safes are available in some of our bedrooms however I can appreciate that there was not one in your room we do however provide safe facilities at reception.
Please accept our apologise with regards to the bill not being correct on check out and we are sorry if this caused any delay to your departure.
We do have a phone at our back entrance direct to Reception and our Team are more that happy to assist with any luggage during your stay.
Thank you for your lovely comments with regards to our Food and Beverage staff and I will ensure that these are passed on.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,069 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing