We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressing - would not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #107 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Depressing - would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked here last minute for Hogmanay as there was no availability left elsewhere.

- Poor location: far from the town centre with nothing in the surrounding neighbourhood (apart from the zoo).

- Dated and shabby interior. Thin walls and we received noise complaints for playing music. Not a very relaxing or accommodating atmosphere.

- Room service took an inordinately long time.

- I left an item in the room and they posted it after requesting that I pay £3 for the postage and delivery which I thought was very miserly considering I had spent over £100 on room service and over £500 on two double rooms for my friends and I.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ft6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are most disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay during Hogmanay.
Since your stay we have refurbished many of our rooms and also made changes within our public areas.
With regards to noise levels we can only apologise, many of our guests that stay are here to attend the Street Party which can lead to noise going on further into the night than normal.
I cannot comment on why your room service order took so long however we would have addressed this at the time had you informed us of the situation.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss any of the areas further.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    900
    483
    139
    74
See reviews for
545
734
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The big thing about this hotel are the staff who can not do enough for you and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast buffet is extensive and sets you up for the day. Many buses go from just outside the hotel and drop you off in Princess Street. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bromcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted with your comments with regards to the fantastic service you received from our Team during your stay.
I will ensure that your lovely comments are passed on.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This one is fairly good standard for a Holiday Inn, but I have to say that I do feel that Holiday Inn do still try and penny pinch from their business customers which is a real let down.
Good reception service on my arrival with friendly welcome. However, I was told I would be charged for wifi until I pointed out the offer on the Holiday Inn Web Site for free wifi for card holders and then my request was quickly conceded.
I had my evening meal in the grill restaurant (there were 3 different dinning areas to choose from) and I enjoyed the food. When the bill arrived and they tried to charge me 10% service charge (usual cover charging trick from Holiday Inn) which I queried and they soon took the item off my tab.
My room was comfy and a good night sleep was had.
Room facilities OK and as one would expect, except I did notice that they no longer provide biscuits with in room Tea & Coffee making facilities. these little touches can make a difference.
Cleanliness was OK; not great but OK. I always tend to feel a little grubby at Holiday Inn's and for some reason they don't seem to have the best standards of housekeeping.
Overall most adequate - OK for a nights stop over on business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
Your feedback is very much appreciated however our aim is certainly not to make people pay any more than they have to.
We apologise that your IHG Membership was not picked up straight away on Check In to entitle you to complimentary WIFI. The Service Charge in the Food and Beverage areas is optional and can be taken off as and when requested.
We are surprised with regards to your comments on the cleanliness of the Hotel as this is an areas where we normally score very highly on.
We are disappointed that overall you did not enjoy your stay.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very friendly and professional staff, which is what makes the place really. Some of the rooms are a little tired but are currently being spruced up a bit. Beds are very comfortable. Most seem to have a small fridge and a room safe. There's a proper gym and a small swimming pool, and a nice bar area with Starbucks coffee available. The bar food is fine for in-hotel dining but a touch pricey, and there are two restaurant areas. The location is served by the 100 express airport bus into the centre or to the airport, and it's only £1.50 each way from the hotel. The zoo is next door. Not sure about who the hotel is catering for: there are usually coach parties each day, and also regular business people. I suppose it's midway between a premier inn and a proper business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are very pleased that our Team were professional and friendly throughout your stay and that you found many of the facilities within the hotel added to your enjoyment.
We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
214 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Arriving at 930pm the service from the front desk team was exemplary - Agnes was really helpful. Hotel has been superficially renovated but it is a tired property. Choice of food at 10pm is limited though service was attentive. Breakfast is uninspiring but that is to be expected in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you fro taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is fantastic to read that you had a fabulous welcome from our Front Desk and I will ensure that the Team Member mentioned is recognised for her efforts.
We are disappointed to read that you found our Breakfast uninspiring, we are happy to accommodate individual tastes if there is something you would have preferred.
We do hope that if visiting Edinburgh in the future you would choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here overnight on dinner bed & breakfast basis, we normally stay in 4 star places and found the hotel to be first class in all respects. We'll done to all the staff and team! My only problem was other guests, taking food and not eating it and treating the hotel without respect but hey it takes all sorts to make up the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room if you like sleeping with the windows open to reduce traffic/bus noise from drop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korky1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that your stay was "First Class" and we hope to welcome you back for many more stays with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went on a Bank Holiday weekend. Very basic hotel and dated. It would be a nice place to stay after a busy day at work but nothing much else happening there.

The room we stayed on the third floor was small and we were not quite sure if the bed was a double bed as it was small and slightly bigger than a single bed! Didn't have a good sleep and ended with backache!
No minibar nor a safety box to put your valuables, which was a little off putting whenever we had to go out, leaving our things in the room.
The room however, was clean thanks to Sergio who did a good job!

The breakfast was for a surcharge per person and again nothing fantastic especially for the price and not much of a variety. Coffee was horrible!
We decided to pay less for breakfast the next day and had better coffee at the Starbucks.

Dinner at Sampans was okay but being a South East Asian myself, the food lacked the authentic flavours that it boasts on the price - the Prawn Pad Thai and Malaysian Fried Rice could do with better ingredients like Tiger Prawns and not shrimps instead, the Dumplings tasted as if they came from the frozen section in the Asian supermarket and it was accompanied by Thai Sweet Chilli Sauce out of a bottle and I could eve tell you the brand! Couldn't be bothered for deserts after the disappointing meals!
Maybe the Hotels' Restaurant could charge less if the flavours are being compromised?
I would give it 1 star for food 2 stars for service, because the waiting staffs - Ayesha and Rahul wore a friendly smile and was polite.

The Edinburgh Zoo is the hotels neighbour! There are bus stops at the foot of the Hotel for easy access to the High Streets.

Will not stay again. Everything was too expensive for the size and quality! I assume the prices are high due to the Zoo next door and not the services and hospitality of the Hotel!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and did not feel that you received value for money.
We aim for every guest that stays with us to receive great service and hospitality and we appreciate you taking the time to mention the members of our team that did achieve this during your stay.
We are proactive with ensuring our products are of a satisfactory level and we apologise that you did not enjoy your breakfast and evening meal in Sampans I will ensure your constructive feedback is passed on to our Management Team.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing