We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all but rooms need updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #106 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,266 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
“Not bad at all but rooms need updating”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Another Holiday Inn going through its rebranding in that the external and internal signage has been changed - but the rooms remain a bit dated yet still very clean. Perfect location next door to the Zoo (though no discounts available for the zoo). Breakfast good though staff not that attentive. Check-in very friendly and efficient. Free parking. Pool had a booking system in place due to busy school holidays but did not use as not that organised!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    910
    490
    140
    76
See reviews for
551
745
82
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Decided to visit Edinburgh Zoo and looked for a hotel near. Holiday Inn is next door to the Zoo. Receptionist was very helpful, we had booked 2 rooms and they where very large rooms. Lovely pool and sauna not to busy. Visited the Cafe bar for tea expensive but nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh. It is about 15 minutes on the bus to the city centre(£3.00 return ticket) but a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Bus stop right outside for airport & city centre. Made a good base for exploring. Clean comfortable accomodation. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Booked this hotel for its proximity to the zoo.
Check in was fast and efficent. Big and busy holiday inn.
Room very very clean, everything in working order. Playstation for the kids at a pound a day Tea and coffee making facilities..Firm and soft pillows. One small phial of shampoo and bath foam in bathroom. soft towels.
Enjoyed the carvery at the evening although at £19.95 for three courses was too expensive for families with older children, hence the dining room was nearly empty. The service was faultless and probably the best i have ever had in any establishment, credit to the polish gent who was head waiter that night.
There are plenty of other eaterys near bye and takeaways too.
Breakfast was good with all the usual vast array of hot and cold dishes avaiable.
Pool, jacuzzi and steam room good, changing facilities not for those seeking privacy as only one tiny changing room with a curtain around! showers and hairdryers available and lockers one pound returnable deposit. Free use of towels.
Big screen tv in bar and free wii for children. Drinks extortionate prices, £7.35 for a large wine!
Great location to just walk across the road to the zoo. Frequent buses available outside hotel into city centre.
Internet £3 for 15mins and £7 for 45mins so didnt use that, wi-fi in bedroom but didnt even ask the charge for that!
Can be expensive if you start with exras but we enjoyed our stay here and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majorcamembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,018 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed here during a visit to Edinburgh between Christmas and New Year during one of the United Kingdom's coldest winters in recent times! The first thing we noticed was the steep, icy driveway up to the hotel... although this was pretty well-kept, so that was a good thing on the hotel's part.
There is free parking outside the hotel, which is a particular draw if you're driving. Also, being located in Corstorphine, it's not quite in the very centre, so driving there is relatively simple. There are regular (and reasonably priced) bus services running outside the hotel to the city centre (and also to the airport) and it is not worthwhile driving from the hotel to the centre as a result.
Our room was not ready when we arrived (although we arrived after the check-in time) and the staff were quite unhelpful in dealing with our arrival - especially with our luggage. The room was fine, overlooking a green space with a view to Edinburgh Castle (a real plus)! Both the room and the bathroom were clean and airy.
The breakfast in the restaurant (for which we opted, at a supplement) was not the best. Those expecting a nice Scottish Breakfast may be a little disappointed, as it was more like a school cookhouse breakfast, unfortunately.
Notwithstanding any qualms, it was a fine place to stay when visiting one of the nicest cities here in the United Kingdom and I wouldn't hesitate to suggest it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my husband. Location was good- buses running evry 5 minutes to City Centre and right next to Edinburgh Zoo. Hotel reception, restaurants and spa were lovely. Food was good in restaurant and staff very attentive. we paid extra for an executive room- in my opinion this was waste of money as room seemed average. Facilities and restaurants 4 * but room was only 3*. Mini bar was empty, bathrobes were well worn although clean, no slippers as advertised and lots of mould in bathroom- I showered in the pool showers! However, had I not paid for the executive room, I would not have been disappointed- would still recommend but book standard room!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraB2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

After reading reviews after we had booked I was a little worried but on arrival all worries disappeared. Staff were very friendly, room clean and very nice breakfast with quick and efficent service. Amazing shower!! Perfectly situated for the zoo and decided to use bus rather than car as they were so frequent. Will stay next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoeelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing