We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so Royal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Ranked #136 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I spent fortunately only 2nights in this hotel.
I found an old fashion hotel and not in good condition.
My room was at the ground floor and in front of my window there was continuous coming and going of the guests.
The carpet of the room was very dirty, one of the bed light didn't work as the toilet, it did not work properly.
Breakfast was fine but not a real buffet, poor assortment of food, and the staff...not friendly and not helpful...
In my opinion the priceof his hotel is too high for the quality!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stay a this pleasant hotel the night before picking up our grandchildren from Edinburgh Airport. It was a very mini break and very enjoyable. Although centrally placed for easy access to shops and attractions it is in a quiet position in leafy Edinburgh. The room was comfortable and the breakfast good. We also had dinner at the hotel which was very tasty, well priced and with good portions. Overall a good visit and would recommend the hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericlisa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Nice looking hotel. Our room 14 on the top floor was very small. The third bed was a mattress on the floor. The bathroom window had no seal and air was coming in. The room was mildly warmed during the day, but in the evening all heating was off and the room very cold. Every evening we had to ask the staff to switch on the heating. Only after one hour the room was starting to get warm. We asked the staff to keep the heating on in the evening, but they didn't do it. We had to ask every time. We stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor (4th, no lift) are small and not very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriaan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We were in room 12, the extractor fan in the bathroom was broken, so was the glass in the (beautiful) porthole window, not attended to when we reported it to reception. Only one pillow on the bed. Rather than spending so much money on massive flat screen TVs (they were everywhere!) maybe some general maintenance would be better. One teabag in a pot is a bit tight and the coffee is not good. Overall not value for money, rating would be "average" if reception had agreed to reduce the price due to the above problems. Friends staying at the same time reported similar issues.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are not suitable for anyone over 5ft tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fromester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

stayed one night for business. got a ground floor internal room. long and narrow with a skylight, but no window. mechanism to close blind on skylight broken, so woke up with the sun. There is no thermostat on the shower, so difficult to get temperature right. Breakfast v. limited. Cereal, a few yogurts and some tinned fruit. hotel decor is basic and tired. So Ok for one night, but not tecommended.

1  Thank IanSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Best hotel in Edinburgh,excellent. Friendly staff,great food and drink, as a son of Edinburgh,for me this is without doubt the best hotel iv stayed in ,I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and its staff,great value for money ,located in a lovely part of the city

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandbarbarahogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel is in a great spot. It is clean, has great parking- a real plus in Edinburgh. Close to Napier University, Tasty breakfast. Helpful manager. Rooms in the attic smallish and no lift and the walls are thin so if you are a light sleeper this may present a problem - but reasonable value for money. Go for a first floor room if you have the option.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#7 of 151 in Edinburgh
390 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,204 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ettrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £885 - £1,121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Ettrick Hotel offers 3 star accommodation in Edinburgh within the mature, leafy, Victorian suburbs to the south of Edinburgh city centre. The Hotel provides the perfect getaway from the bustle of Edinburgh whilst still being within walking distance of The Old Town. Whether you're a business traveller looking for corporate accommodation or a family enjoying a fun filled break or family occasion in Edinburgh, you'll receive a warm welcome at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. With free parking in our private car park and ease of access to the Edinburgh bypass any travelling is simple and relaxed. Superb public transport links also service the hotel, with two main bus services into the heart of the city stopping directly in front of the hotel. Guests can also enjoy free WiFi via fibre optic broadband throughout the hotel which is of great benefit to guests and especially for corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing