We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny single room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Ranked #129 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tiny single room”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

i have just spent 2 nights as part of a wedding party staying at this hotel ,i was the only single visitor and was booked into a tiny room (4) .on arrival i asked if there was any other room and was told no only a triple at £90 a night as i thought that the (£69 ) was really more than enough anyway for a single room declined this offer .then the brides father tried and they said i could be moved next day,this didnt happen so just put up with a room that is tiny ,mucky walls opposite bed ,a bed base that squeaks on every turn ,a very noisy toilet ,a bathroom window that could not be kept open,,a tiny wardrobe that you could not get into fully as it is jammed up to the bottom of the bed !the list goes on .It did put a dampner on my wedding stay

Room Tip: the bigger rooms The James for instance was massive and a double opposite room 2 was fine where othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmckay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear kmckay75,

Firstly I would like to note that you did not book as part of the wedding party; there was an allocation of rooms with a specific group rate reserved on our system. The person booking the allocation is told that when telling their guests of the hotel and the rates that each individual guest must call the hotel directly and request to have one of the rooms from the allocation. This in turn applies the discounted rate to you and your room.

You chose to book through a travel agent and therefore paid the full single room rate for that weekend; single rooms are smaller and have a single bed. Pictures of our single rooms are available to view on our site and agent sites. You would have seen the pictures of our rooms and selected the single rate and agreed the price you were going to pay prior to making the booking.

On some occasions we are able to give complimentary upgrades to guests and we did this with some members of the wedding party who had booked through the block allocation.
In order to move room you were asked to speak with reception in the morning, you did not do this and therefore could not be moved.

The only issue you raised regarding the room was a bulb not working in the lamp, this was rectified straight away by the manager.

The other problems you have mentioned here regarding the room were not raised with the hotel; therefore there was no opportunity to correct them. I would like to mention that the complaints you have made have not been found by any guest staying in your room before. I will, of course, look into the issues you have brought to our attention to ensure every effort is made to correct them.

Kind Regards
Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    107
    53
    39
    26
See reviews for
63
113
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lets start with the positives: I'ts location is great. If energetic, you can walk the 3km into the town centre or alternatively use the marvellous Lothian buses which stop regularly 150m away. This is why we picked it and because it has it's own car park which many Edinburgh establishments don't have.
On the face of it the hotel looks pretty good but it's the lack of attention to detail and customer wants that lets it down.
We felt that the 'Executive room' did not merit the title and was way too expensive for what it was.
My wife found her matress uncomfortable so we 'turned' it during the first night. This situation was made worst when we saw the stained mattress protector! We complained in the morning but had to make a second complaint in the evening on our return when nothing had been done. We got fresh linen but no satisfactory apology.
The following day we had to ask for the complimentary tea & coffee to be topped up.
These little things rather took the shine off an otherwise pleasant stay in Edinburgh.
Verdict: Poor value for money. Must try harder with the housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Englewood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We found this hotel while walking around the Granville Terrace area of Edinburgh. We noticed that this facility had a solarium area that looked like a restaurant and so we looked closer and low and behold it was the Royal Ettrick Hotel. We went into the bar/restaurant area and sat down for a break. I ordered a Bitter & Twisted Blonde Beer (tall) and sipped on it while I relaxed in the bar. My wife went off to find some reading material and came back with several vegetarian related magazines.
We had a look at the restaurant lunch menu and decided to stay for lunch, which was a great decision. I had an appetizer of haggis, meeps and tatties and this was my first try at haggis. It is not to be forgotten. I also had a brie dish that was out of this world. My wife had a wonderful entree as well and we even had a chat with the chef about the contents of haggis. All the staff were wonderful and we'd go back to the Royal Ettrick Hotel and restaurant if we are back in Edinburgh. It used to be a ship captain's estate and it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here 26-28th july for our anniversary. Lovely big room and clean. Bed really comfy with extra soft pillows. Met the owners Ann and Jim who were warm , friendly and helped us make the most of our stay with tips on buses and local knowledge. Breakfast was freshly made to order with a good range to suit everyone. Whatever we asked for was no trouble. Left the car at the hotel as the bus stop is practically on the doorstep. Will return again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhiannonadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is the place to stay if you are visiting Edinburgh.

The Staff are friendly, attentive and make you at ease.

Food is Great, and plenty of it, with a select menu.

The rooms are spacious, and well catered for, and the beds comfortable.

We would recommend this Hotel to anyone, and will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan Moncur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We paid £97 for 2 of us to stay a night at the Hotel Etterick, this was booked in January 13,
so it wasn't that they were given short notice.
On arrival booking in took quite a while for someone to appear at the reception desk.
We were allocated a tiny little box room on the second floor that only had a skylight window [which was closed and too high for us to reach it].
The temperature in the room was immense, and we were only supplied with a fan, which was of little or no use.
The room was tiny and cramped. The bathroom was little more that a broom cupboard size, fitted with a [noisy] saniflow toilet and sink that you constantly bumped into when trying to move around and a sliding door that had no internal handle and just by luck didn't shut properly.
There were no complimentry biscuits supplied with the tea & coffee.
I asked at reception to be moved but was told there were no rooms available.
The friendliness and helpfullness of the staff are their saving grace.
The breakfast was ok, but not what I would call a full scottish though! Although Haggis was offered on the menu we didn't get any or even offered an explanation as to it's absence. Overall I would not rush to recommend this hotel to anyone unless you are guaranteed a decent room with windows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_B186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown point, in
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel was clean. Outside of that it was a disappointment. When we went to check in, we waited at the front desk for about 10 awkward minutes before anyone came to help us. The decor was depressing and outdated. It appeared they went to local garage sales and randomly picked out the furniture. The carpet in our rooms had visible stains. The breakfast was okay but nothing to rave about. Overall we were not impressed and probably would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdrasga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#119 of 149 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 149 in Edinburgh
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#127 of 149 in Edinburgh
70 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 149 in Edinburgh
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ettrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Property: Royal Ettrick Hotel
Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Ettrick Hotel offers 3 star accommodation in Edinburgh within the mature, leafy, Victorian suburbs to the south of Edinburgh city centre. The Hotel provides the perfect getaway from the bustle of Edinburgh whilst still being within walking distance of The Old Town. Whether you're a business traveller looking for corporate accommodation or a family enjoying a fun filled break or family occasion in Edinburgh, you'll receive a warm welcome at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. With free parking in our private car park and ease of access to the Edinburgh bypass any travelling is simple and relaxed. Superb public transport links also service the hotel, with two main bus services into the heart of the city stopping directly in front of the hotel. Guests can also enjoy free WiFi via fibre optic broadband throughout the hotel which is of great benefit to guests and especially for corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing